Research Guides: ANTH 4389: Field School

Helpful documents

Composition

A collection of links to help you with composing your writing.

Purdue OWL Writing
Writing help from OWL at Purdue.
Elements of Style by Strunk and White
The original version of this classic writing guide.
Texas A&M University Writing Lab in College Station
The writing lab at TAMU in College Station.
Central Texas University Writing Center
For writers of all ability levels and all stages of the writing process! Thanks for choosing the University Writing Center (UWC) for help with your overall writing process and various writing assignments/tasks!

Google Scholar

Field School

This guide will help you explore resources that will be helpful in your field school experience.

Also see the Local History page for help: https://tamuct.libguides.com/localhistory

Readings for the course are on both electronic and print reserve.

E-Reserves: https://tamuct.libguides.com/er.php?b=c

Print reserve:

Bell county cemeteries by Polly Peaks-Elmore

Kovel's New Dictionary of Marks by Ralph and Terry Kovel

Story of Bell County Texas by Bell County Historical Commission

Texas Land Survey Maps for Bell County by Gregory Boyd

Texas Log Buildings by Terry G. Jordan

Unforgettable Decade: Killeen, Texas and trade area, 1930-1939: a pivotal era

Internet Resources

Reliable internet sources can also provide you with information.

American Anthropological Association
Founded in 1902, the American Anthropological Association is the world’s largest scholarly and professional organization of anthropologists. The Association is dedicated to advancing human understanding and applying this understanding to the world’s most pressing problems.
Ancestory.com Texas
The data collections are included free to Texans via Ancestry.com
Anthropology Resources on the internet
Compiled by the American Anthropological Association
Bell County Texas
Bell County Texas Genealogy and History
The Historical Marker Database
Maxdale Cemetery Historical Marker
National Archives
The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
Population Index
Updated annually, this web site covers all fields of interest to demographers. Contains selective indexing with abstracts from journals, books, working papers, doctoral dissertations and other sources.
Portal to Texas History
A gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from or about Texas.
Texas Archaeological Society
Promoting the study, preservation, and awareness of Texas archeology since 1929!

Recommended Databases

Search in library databases to find scholarly journal articles on the terms you are trying to define.

Keywords: The right search term is important. Think about the words an expert might use to describe the concepts you are looking for.

Peer Reviewed: Look for search options that let you limit your search to articles that have been reviewed by experts.

Recent: Try to choose articles written in the last ten years to insure that your aren't retrieving outdated research.

Off Campus? Some of these resources are password protected, to ensure that only TAMUCT students, faculty, and staff can access them, in compliance with license agreements. Access to the databases is authenticated through your single sign on--the same way you log into email, Canvas, Warrior Web, etc. You will use your full email and password when prompted. Faculty and staff use the same username and password as your email, not including "@tamuct.edu"

JSTOR
JSTOR is a shared digital library created in 1995 to help university and college libraries to free space on their shelves, save costs, and provide greater levels of access to more content than ever before.
ProQuest Central
Serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Sage Journals Search interface to locate over 40 years worth the Sage Publishing titles. Browse SAGE Articles by Topic or Browse SAGE Journals by Title. SAGE publishes more than 560 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
ScienceDirect Full-text or abstracts coverage of more than 1,000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Includes a wide spectrum of disciplines including Chemistry, Materials science, Engineering & technology, Environmental science, Economics, Business & management, Neuroscience, Pharmacology & toxicology, Physics, Mathematics & computer science, Earth sciences, Social sciences, Biochemistry, Microbiology & immunology, Biological sciences, and Clinical medicine.
Social Science Database This database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.
SpringerLINK Provides online, full-text access to Springer's journal and e-book titles, as well as titles from other publishers. Subjects include: life sciences, chemical sciences, environmental sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering and economics.
Web of Science Access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. Indexes included are: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Wiley Online Library Dynamic online content service from John Wiley & Sons, Inc., delivering the full-text of over 300 leading scientific, technical, medical, and professional journals, plus major reference works and the full-text of select Wiley print books online.

Journals

Use Full Text Finder to find a journal in our library databases:

Go the the library homepage.
Click on Journals.
Type in the name of the journal (not the title of the article).
Click "search" or hit "enter."
In the result list, click on "Full Text Access."
Click on the link with the best date ranges for your needs.
If the journal is not available in full text, request it through interlibrary loan.

Or click on the journal titles:

Reference Librarian

Margaret Dawson

Email Me

Contact:

Co-Head of Public Services and Outreach
Library Administrative Offices, Warrior Hall 205J

254-519-5740

Subjects: Accounting, Anthropology, Auditing, Banking, Biology, Business and Economics, Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, Communications/Journalism, Criminal Justice, Film Studies, Finance, Foreign Language Studies, Language and Literature, Linguistics, Sociology, Taxation

Live Research Help

Grammar

A collection of links to help you with grammar.

Purdue OWL Grammar
More than just citing help--Purdue OWL also provides a usage guide.
Grammar Girl
A collection of short explanations and tutorials about grammar and writing style.
Dr. Grammar
A resource from the University of Northern Illinois.