Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Source Academic Journals and Preprints
These search engines retrieve open source academic journals.
arXiv This link opens in a new window Math and science preprints.
BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine This link opens in a new window BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 90 million documents from more than 4,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
Bentham Open Access This link opens in a new window 230 open access journals, primarily in engineering and the hard sciences, open to all.
Finding Reliable Websites
When deciding if a webpage is reliable, you should ask yourself the following questions.
||Only cite authors who have some credentials that qualify them to talk about the subject.
||Identify the type of research you need--most online forums, blogs, or presentations are not peer reviewed.
||Use research from websites that regularly maintained to insure that the information isn't outdated.
||Material should be available on academic websites--pay attention to the quality of the website. Avoid .coms and .nets.
||Know why you need the information, and also why the information was published. Avoid biased websites.
Webpages should cite their information so you know how the information was gathered.
Library Homepage Library Databases Library Search
Reliable Websites for Economics
American Enterprise Institute
The American Enterprise Institute is a community of scholars and supporters committed to expanding liberty, increasing individual opportunity and strengthening free enterprise.
American Institute for Economic Research
The American Institute for Economic Research provides factual, unbiased research and critical analysis based on the principles of positive economics. We educate individuals on how to protect their interests, and help policymakers make informed decisions for a better America.
The Brookings Institution traces its beginnings to 1916, when a group of leading reformers founded the Institute for Government Research (IGR), the first private organization devoted to analyzing public policy issues at the national level.
Business Reference and Services Section-RUSA BRASS
From ALA's Reference and User Services Association, selected free and fee-based resources highly relevant to information professionals providing business reference services. The guides are created and maintained by the members of the BRASS Education Committee.
Center for Social and Economic Research
CASE is an independent non-profit economic and public policy research institution founded on the idea that evidence-based policy making is vital to the economic welfare of societies.
Center on Budget and Policy Priorities
The Center on Budget and Policy Priorities is one of the nation’s premier policy organizations working at the federal and state levels on fiscal policy and public programs that affect low- and moderate-income families and individuals.
Economic Policy Institute
The Economic Policy Institute (EPI), a non-profit, non-partisan think tank, was created in 1986 to broaden discussions about economic policy to include the needs of low- and middle-income workers. EPI believes every working person deserves a good job with fair pay, affordable health care, and retirement security.
Institute of Economic Affairs
We undertake research and produce high-quality publications, including policy papers and consultation responses, addressing some of the major policy challenges of our time. Our research is designed to reach a wide audience of policymakers and opinion formers who teach about or comment on economic matters.
National Bureau of Economic Research
The National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. The NBER is committed to undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research in a scientific manner, and without policy recommendations, among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community.
To help improve policy and decisionmaking through research and analysis.
The Urban Institute gathers data, conducts research, evaluates programs, offers technical assistance overseas, and educates Americans on social and economic issues, foster sound public policy and effective government.
U. S. Economic Data
U.S. Census Data
Data from the U.S. Census Bureau.
Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
Source of US economic statistics including national income and product accounts, gross domestic product and related measures of national, regional, industry and international accounts.
Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
Data and analysis on employment, unemployment, spending, time use, productivity, benefits, pay and workplace injuries.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
Provides historical U.S. economic and financial data, including daily U.S. interest rates, monetary and business indicators, exchange rates, balance of payments and regional economic data.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Comprehensive collection of statistics in tabular format which includes basic statistics for a wide range of economic indicators.
Survey of Current Business
Provides data on U.S. business on the regional, national, and international levels. Among statistical series covered are personal income, inventories and sales, national income and product accounts and foreign direct investments in the U.S.
International Economic Data
Links with annotations to individual countries and international business topics, such as trade information and economic trends. The most comprehensive of international business portals. From the Center for International Business Education and Research at Michigan State University.
Offers selective free access to IMF data including the World Economic Outlook Database (WEO).
Limited access to data on OCD countries and select non-member countries on topics ranging from agriculture, development, finance, labor, prices, industry, social welfare and the public sector.
Consolidated database of all United Nations data including the Commodity Trade Statistics, FAO, ILO, National Accounts and many more.
World Bank Data
Comprehensive comparative economic and social data on all countries.
Consumer Price Index (CPI)
The Consumer Price Indexes (CPI) program produces monthly data on changes in the prices paid by urban consumers for a representative basket of goods and services.
Producer Price Indexes (PPI)
The Producer Price Index (PPI) program measures the average change over time in the selling prices received by domestic producers for their output. The prices included in the PPI are from the first commercial transaction for many products and some services
CIA World Factbook
Provides wide-ranging and hard-to-locate information about the background, geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for countries from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
World Development Indicators
Provides over 500 indicators of economic development in terms of peopel, the environment, the economy and the world markets. Data spans 40 years and covers 208 countries.
, Business and Economics
, Chemistry and Chemical Engineering
, Criminal Justice
, Film Studies
, Foreign Language Studies
, Language and Literature