Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Source Academic Journals and Preprints
These search engines retrieve open source academic journals.
arXiv This link opens in a new window Math and science preprints.
BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine This link opens in a new window BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 90 million documents from more than 4,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
Bentham Open Access This link opens in a new window 230 open access journals, primarily in engineering and the hard sciences, open to all.
Finding Reliable Websites
When deciding if a webpage is reliable, you should ask yourself the following questions.
||Only cite authors who have some credentials that qualify them to talk about the subject.
||Identify the type of research you need--most online forums, blogs, or presentations are not peer reviewed.
||Use research from websites that regularly maintained to insure that the information isn't outdated.
||Material should be available on academic websites--pay attention to the quality of the website. Avoid .coms and .nets.
||Know why you need the information, and also why the information was published. Avoid biased websites.
Webpages should cite their information so you know how the information was gathered.
Library Homepage Library Databases Library Search
Reliable Websites for Marketing
This website provides an advertising timeline as well as ranking lists for the top ads, campaigns, and jingles of the 20th century.
Vintage Ad Browser
Contains over 123,000 examples of advertising from the 1850's to the present. Find examples via the search box or browse topics.
A digital collection of thousands of vintage television commercials from the 1950's to the 1980's.
ClickZStats: Trends & Statistics
Provides a collection of online facts and statistics which have been gathered from secondary sources. Includes brief articles on different marketing channels, demographics, and audience as well as CPM, CPA, and ROI calculators.
Provides the basic principles of marketing and advertising in clear, concise tutorials. It also provides numerous web resources for advertising, selling, promotion, research and more.
, Educational Leadership
, Elementary Education
, Language and Literature
, Psychology and Counseling
, Secondary Education
, Texas History
, United States History