Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Core Elementary Education Journals
The following journals are core resources for Elementary Education:
Art Education, the official journal of the National Art Education Association, covers a diverse range of topics dealing with subjects of professional interest to art educators.
Child Development has published articles, essays, reviews, and tutorials on various topics in the field of child development since 1930.
Early Childhood Education Journal
The journal serves the needs of early childhood practitioners, including classroom teachers, child care providers, and teacher educators.
The Elementary School Journal
ESJ publishes peer-reviewed articles that pertain to both education theory and research and their implications for teaching practice.
Articles published in Exceptional Children must have implications for research, practice, or policy in special or gifted education.
Journal for Research in Mathematics Education
JRME "is devoted to the interests of teachers of mathematics and mathematics education at all levels—preschool through adult".
Journal of Research in Childhood Education
The Journal of Research in Childhood Education, the quarterly research journal of the Association for Childhood Education International (ACEI), focuses on children’s learning and development from birth through age 13, the childhood years.
Teaching Music magazine offers music educators a forum for the exchange of practical ideas that will help them become more effective teachers.
Finding Journals with Full Text Finder
Use Full Text Finder to find a journal in our library databases:
- Go the the library homepage.
- Click on Journal Title Search under "Library Information".
- Type in the name of the journal (not the title of the article).
- Click "search" or hit "enter."
- In the result list, click on "Full Text Access."
- Click on the link with the best date ranges for your needs.
- If the journal is not available in full text, request it through interlibrary loan.
To check if a journal is peer reviewed, use Ulrich's or the submission guidelines on the journal's webpage.
Library Homepage Library Databases Library Search
Click on the arrows at the bottom of the window to move forward and back through the slides. For full screen, click on the box in the lower left hand side of the viewer.
More Core Journals
Journal of Science Teacher Education
The journal features pragmatic articles that offer immediate ways to improve conditions in classroom teaching and learning, professional development, and teacher recruitment and retention at all grade levels.
The Journal of Special Education
The Journal of Special Education (SED) provides research articles and scholarly reviews on special education for individuals with mild to severe disabilities.
Issues discuss both theory and classroom practice, highlight current research, and review children's and young adolescent literature, as well as classroom and professional materials of interest to language arts educators.
The Reading Teacher
"It covers practical teaching ideas, research, and professional development for teachers of children under age 12."
Science and Children
It covers the topics and teaching techniques that K–5 teachers care about most. It also provides unmatched exposure, both in terms of circulation numbers and avid readership.
The Social Studies
The Social Studies is a peer-reviewed journal that publishes articles of interest to educators at all levels.
Teaching Children Mathematics
The focus of the journal is on intuitive, exploratory investigations that use informal reasoning to help students develop a strong conceptual basis that leads to greater mathematical abstraction.
, Educational Leadership
, Elementary Education
, Language and Literature
, Psychology and Counseling
, Secondary Education
, Texas History
, United States History