Research Guides: Criminal Justice: Websites

Open Source Academic Journals and Preprints

These search engines retrieve open source academic journals.

arXiv Math and science preprints.
BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 90 million documents from more than 4,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
Bentham Open Access 230 open access journals, primarily in engineering and the hard sciences, open to all.

DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books Academic books available to all.
OAIster: Find the Pearls
A free catalog that contains digital resources from open archive collections
Represents multidisciplinary resources from more than 1,100 contributors worldwide. Records contain a digital object link allowing users access to the object in a single click. Subjects included: Digitized books and articles, Born-digital texts, Audio files, Images, Movies, Datasets, Theses, Technical reports, Research papers, Image collections.
OpenDOAR: Directory of Open Access Repositories
A vetted directory of open access repositories.
Registry of Open Access Repositories
A registry that lists all of the digital repositories online with open access content policies.

When deciding if a webpage is reliable, you should ask yourself the following questions.

Question	Reasoning
Who?	Only cite authors who have some credentials that qualify them to talk about the subject.
What?	Identify the type of research you need--most online forums, blogs, or presentations are not peer reviewed.
When?	Use research from websites that regularly maintained to insure that the information isn't outdated.
Where?	Material should be available on academic websites--pay attention to the quality of the website. Avoid .coms and .nets.
Why?	Know why you need the information, and also why the information was published. Avoid biased websites.
How?	Webpages should cite their information so you know how the information was gathered.

American Society of Criminology
The American Society of Criminology is an international organization whose members pursue scholarly, scientific, and professional knowledge concerning the measurement, etiology, consequences, prevention, control, and treatment of crime and delinquency.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
The Bureau of Justice Statistics, through its Federal Justice Statistics Resource Center (FJSRC), compiles comprehensive information describing suspects and defendants processed in the federal criminal justice system. The Federal Criminal Case Processing Statistics (FCCPS) tool is an interface that can be used to analyze federal case processing data.
Center on Juvenile and Criminal Justice
The Center on Juvenile and Criminal Justice (CJCJ) is a nonprofit nonpartisan organization whose mission is to reduce society’s reliance on incarceration as a solution to social problems.
In pursuit of this mission, CJCJ provides direct services, technical assistance, and policy analysis that work in unison to promote a balanced and humane criminal justice system designed to reduce incarceration and enhance long-term public safety.
Federal Bureau of Prisons
The Federal Bureau of Prisons protects society by confining offenders in the controlled environments of prisons and community-based facilities that are safe, humane, cost-efficient, and appropriately secure, and that provide work and other self-improvement opportunities to assist offenders in becoming law-abiding citizens.

National Criminal Justice Reference
Established in 1972, the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.

National Institute of Corrections
We provide training, technical assistance, information services, and policy/program development assistance to federal, state, and local corrections agencies.
Office of Justice Programs
The Office of Justice Programs (OJP) provides innovative leadership to federal, state, local, and tribal justice systems, by disseminating state-of-the art knowledge and practices across America, and providing grants for the implementation of these crime fighting strategies.

Email Me

Contact:

Co-Head of Public Services and Outreach
Library Administrative Offices, Warrior Hall 205J

254-519-5740

Subjects: Accounting, Anthropology, Auditing, Banking, Biology, Business and Economics, Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, Communications/Journalism, Criminal Justice, Film Studies, Finance, Foreign Language Studies, Language and Literature, Linguistics, Sociology, Taxation