Research Guides: History: Journals

Core History Journals

American Historical Review
The American Historical Review (AHR) is the official publication of the American Historical Association (AHA). The AHA was founded in 1884 and chartered by Congress in 1889 to serve the interests of the entire discipline of history. Aligning with the AHA's mission, the AHR has been the journal of record for the historical profession in the United States since 1895—the only journal that brings together scholarship from every major field of historical study.
Journal of American History
Published four times a year by the Organization of American Historians, the JAH is the leading scholarly publication and the journal of record in American history. In addition to our print issues, the JAH creates a wide range of online projects, including our biannual Teaching the JAH and special projects such as “Through the Eye of Katrina,” “American Faces,” and “Oil in American History.“
Journal of the West
Journal of the West is an illustrated quarterly devoted to the history and culture of the American West.
Journal of World History
Devoted to historical analysis from a global point of view, the Journal of World History features a range of comparative and cross-cultural scholarship and encourages research on forces that work their influences across cultures and civilizations. Themes examined include large-scale population movements and economic fluctuations; cross-cultural transfers of technology; the spread of infectious diseases; long-distance trade; and the spread of religious faiths,

Finding Journals with Full Text Finder

Use Full Text Finder to find a journal in our library databases:

Go the the library homepage.
Click on Journals on the homepage.
Type in the name of the journal (not the title of the article).
Click "search" or hit "enter."
In the result list, click on "Full Text Access."
Click on the link with the best date ranges for your needs.
If the journal is not available in full text, request it through interlibrary loan.

To check if a journal is peer reviewed, use Ulrich's or the submission guidelines on the journal's webpage.

Library Homepage Library Databases Library Search

Click on the arrows at the bottom of the window to move forward and back through the slides. For full screen, click on the box in the lower left hand side of the viewer.

More Core Journals

Reviews in American History
Reviews in American History helps scholars and students of American history stay up to date in their discipline. Each issue presents in-depth reviews of more than twenty of the newest books in American history. Retrospective essays examining landmark works by major historians are also regularly featured. The journal covers all areas of American history including cultural history, intellectual history, political history and philosophy, religion, social history, gender, sexuality, popular culture, law, military history, and economics

Reference Librarian

Victoria Eastes

Email Me

Contact:

Heritage Hall, 211A
Texas A&M University - Central Texas
1001 Leadership Place
Killeen, TX 76549

(254) 519-5499

Subjects: Copyright Law and Fair Use, History, United States History, World History

History: Journals

Core History Journals

Finding Journals with Full Text Finder

More Core Journals

Reference Librarian

Live Research Help