Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Source Academic Journals and Preprints
These search engines retrieve open source academic journals.
arXiv This link opens in a new window Math and science preprints.
BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine This link opens in a new window BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 90 million documents from more than 4,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
Bentham Open Access This link opens in a new window 230 open access journals, primarily in engineering and the hard sciences, open to all.
Finding Reliable Websites
When deciding if a webpage is reliable, you should ask yourself the following questions.
||Only cite authors who have some credentials that qualify them to talk about the subject.
||Identify the type of research you need--most online forums, blogs, or presentations are not peer reviewed.
||Use research from websites that regularly maintained to insure that the information isn't outdated.
||Material should be available on academic websites--pay attention to the quality of the website. Avoid .coms and .nets.
||Know why you need the information, and also why the information was published. Avoid biased websites.
Webpages should cite their information so you know how the information was gathered.
Library Homepage Library Databases Library Search
Reliable Websites for Military Studies
Library of Congress: Digital Collections
The Library of Congress provides a great source for primary source material for American military history. Items that can be found here include an electronic version of The Stars and Stripes, The American Soldiers' Newspaper of World War I; extensive maps from both sides of the Civil war; and Ansel Adams photographs of Japanese-American interment camps
Military History Online
This broad-based site offers a range of extended range of member articles on military history. It also offers a Civil War Genealogy Database and community forums
This site explores both major and minor wars around the globe from 1800 to 1999. Includes review essays, timelines, and chronologies of armed conflict. Major sections include WWII, Weapons of War, and Articles of War. Obtrusive ads on home page.
Strategic Studies Institute United States Army War College
The Strategic Studies institute contains information on current military issues divided into Regional Issues and Strategic Issues. Regional Issues are presented as articles organized by global region. For example, the Middle East and North Africa section contains articles discussing the regional effects of the Iraq War and Hamas, while the Asia Pacific section contains articles on the escalating tension in Korea.
War Scholar Timeline
This timeline is presented in order to give the user the ability to see what major conflicts were going on across the globe in any given year or time period. With the thousands of conflicts that man has been engaged in over the past 5,000+ years of recorded history, the author been able to include the major ones and many of the minor ones.
Web Sources for Military History
Jensen is a scholar with many books and articles; he was professor of history for over 35 years at several schools, including the University of Illinois, Harvard, Michigan, West Point, and Moscow State University. His recent books (coauthored) include The Civil War on the Web (2nd edition 2003), Trans-Pacific Relations : America, Europe, and Asia in the Twentieth Century (2003), World War II on the Web (2002) and Americans at War: Society, Culture, and the Homefront (2005). Write him at firstname.lastname@example.org