Concise Guide to APA Style
by
Concise Guide to APA Style, Seventh Edition is the official APA Style resource for students. Written for high school and undergraduate students, instructors, and writers learning APA Style, this easy-to-use pocket guide is adapted from the seventh edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. It provides complete guidance for new writers on effective, clear, and inclusive scholarly communication and the essentials of formatting papers and other course assignments. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. Full color throughout Content relevant to a range of majors and courses, including psychology, social work, criminal justice, communications, composition, education, business, engineering, and more New chapter focused on student papers Sample student title page, paper, and annotated bibliography Streamlined APA Style headings and in-text citations New chapter on writing style and grammar Chapters on punctuation, lists, italics, spelling, capitalization, abbreviations, numbers, and statistics Latest bias-free language guidelines More than 20 new sample tables and figures Comprehensive guidelines on citation to help writers credit their sources appropriately and avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism More than 100 new reference templates and examples, including traditional sources (e.g., journal articles, books, dissertations, and reports) plus many others (e.g., social media, webpages and websites, legal)
MLA Handbook
by
Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbookis published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements--facts common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date--that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more. With this focus on source evaluation as the cornerstone of citation, MLA style promotes the skills of information and digital literacy so crucial today. The many new and updated chapters make this edition the comprehensive, go-to resource for writers of research papers and anyone citing sources, from business writers, technical writers, and freelance writers and editors to student writers and the teachers and librarians working with them. Intended for a variety of classroom contexts--middle school, high school, and college courses in composition, communication, literature, language arts, film, media studies, digital humanities, and related fields--the ninth edition of the MLA Handbookoffers * New guidance on grammar, punctuation, capitalization, spelling, numbers, italics, and abbreviations * A new chapter on principles of inclusive language * Guidelines on setting up research papers in MLA format with updated advice on headings, lists, and title pages for group projects * Revised, easy-to-use, step-by-step instructions for creating a list of works cited in MLA format * A new appendix with hundreds of example works-cited-list entries by publication format, including websites, YouTubevideos, interviews, and more * Guidance on finding publication information in a variety of sources * Newly revised explanations of in-text citations, including advice on how to cite multiple authors of a single work * Detailed guidance on footnotes and endnotes * Instructions on quoting, paraphrasing, summarizing, and avoiding plagiarism * Annotated bibliography examples * Numbered sections keyed to a subject index for quick navigation * Advanced tips for professional writers and scholars
The McGraw-Hill Education Handbook of English Grammar and Usage
by
A practical and compact guide to writing for professionals Writing is an essential skill in today's workplace. From messaging platforms and social media to traditional forms of communication like memos and reports, we rely on words more than ever. Given how much reading we do on mobile devices, being able to write succinctly is critical to success. Writing on the Job is an incisive guide to clear and effective writing for professionals. Martha Coven begins with the basics, explaining how to develop a professional style, get started on a piece of writing, create a first draft, and edit it into a strong final product. She then offers practical advice on more than a dozen forms of writing, from emails and slide decks to proposals and cover letters. Along the way, Coven provides a wealth of concrete examples and simple templates that make the concepts easy to understand and apply. Based on Coven's popular writing classes and workshops at Princeton University as well as her decades of experience in the public and private sectors, Writing on the Job addresses the real challenges professionals face in today's digital age, and shares essential practices that can improve the performance of any organization.
Everyone Can Write
by
Employers consider communication one of the most critical skills for workers today. Writing for the Workplace: Business Communication for Professionals is an easy- to-follow guide that provides strategies for effective professional communication. Written to address the needs of both students entering the workforce and business professionals looking to improve their written communication, the book offers guides to compose typical workplace documents, from effective e-mails and convincing reports to winning presentations and engaging resumes. This concise book offers busy readers concrete strategies to improve their workplace writing.
Recent, relevant, and reliable databases, books, journals, and internet tools are important to academic research.
Books: Starting with a few good books about your topic will help you. Books contain bibliographies you can use to identify key scholarship. Find books through WarriorCat.
Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles: Journal articles are the primary method of sharing new research in education. Peer-review is the process of maintaing reliability by asking specialists to review articles before they are published.
Internet Resources: Reliable online tools can be very helpful, such as specialized searches like Google Scholar. Make sure you consider whether or not you can trust resources before you use them.
Our Technical Writing LibGuide will give you some more research clues.
How to Research With Online Library Tools
Need more help with using our library resources online? Check out our Research Online with Library Tools Tutorial
Check out what materials we have for your course in our E-Reserves
Tutorials on How to Cite
Avoiding Plagiarism using MLA 9th Edition
Avoiding Plagiarism Using APA 7th Edition
Evaluating Resources Tutorials
Arts & Humanities Database provides online access to 400 contemporary specialist arts titles combined with journals from related fields including ethnic studies, womens studies, sociology, cultural studies, and more. Arts & Humanities Database titles include scholarly peer-reviewed journals, selected trade, and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies.
Gale Primary Sources is an integrated research environment that allows users to search across all of their Gale primary source collections. Gale Primary Sources takes users beyond a simple search and retrieve workflow, allowing them to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools. Through intuitive subject-indexing users will discover new material even in the most familiar of content sets.
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
JSTOR is a digital library with a vast collection of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It's heavily focused on providing access to archival materials. Journals are available in more than 75 disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences and mathematics.
The Oxford English Dictionary provides a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.
Search through all of our ProQuest resources at one time.
Create a free account to manage your citations. RefWorks is a web-based reference management software to help users organize citations and build bibliography and reference pages.
In our databases, try a search like this:
(persuasive OR argumentative OR argumentation) AND essay AND writing
You can always include the specific name of a country to narrow the results. (Example: add AND America to the search above.)
Want examples? Stop by the library, use our virtual chat, or schedule an appointment with a librarian for personalized research help.
A collection of links to help you with composing your writing.
A collection of links to help you with MLA.
A collection of links to help you with APA.