Research Guides: ENGL 5374: Methods of Bibliographic and Research Analysis

Textbooks for this Course

Introduction to Scholarship in Modern Languages and Literatures by David Nicholls
Call Number: Reserves Textbooks - Circulation Desk PB 29 .I58 2007
ISBN: 9780873525978
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
The third edition of the MLA's widely used Introduction to Scholarship in Modern Languages and Literatures features sixteen completely new essays by leading scholars. Designed to highlight relations among languages and forms of discourse, the volume is organized into three sections. "Understanding Language" provides a broad overview of the field of linguistics, with special attention to language acquisition and the social life of languages. "Forming Texts" offers tools for understanding how speakers and writers shape language; it examines scholarship in the distinct but interrelated fields of rhetoric, composition, and poetics. "Reading Literature and Culture" continues the work of the first two sections by introducing major areas of critical study. The nine essays in this section cover textual and historical scholarship; interpretation; comparative, cultural, and translation studies; and the interdisciplinary topics of gender, sexuality, race, and migrations (among others).
MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: LB 2369 .M52 2021
ISBN: 9781603293518
Publication Date: 2021-04-06
Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements--facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date--that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more.

MLA Resources

A collection of links to help you with MLA.

Purdue OWL MLA Style Guide
Purdue OWL guide to MLA style.
KnightCite
A citation maker where you enter the information.
MLA Style @ MLA
The main page for MLA Style on the MLA homepage.
Citing Government Information Sources Using MLA Style
MLA help for citing legal documents and other types of government reports.
Purdue OWL YouTube Tutorials
A website with video tutorials for citing, formating, and writing.
Purdue OWL Citation Style Comparison Chart
A chart that outlines the similarities and differences between APA, MLA, and CML.

MLA Games and Tests

A collection of games and tests online to help you assess your knowledge of citing and plagiarism.

APA and MLA Citation Game @ University of Washington
A game from the University of Washington TRIO Training.
Avoiding Plagiarism @ University of Arizona Libraries
This tutorial shows how accidental plagiarism can occur and how to avoid it.
Goblin Threat @ Lycoming College
An game from Lycoming College about avoiding plagiarism.
MLA Master Blaster @ Williams College
A citation game from the Williams College Libraries.
MLA Tutorial @ University of Southern Mississippi
An interactive tutorial with a pre-test and post-test from the University of Southern Mississippi Libraries.

Google Scholar

Methods of Bibliographic and Research Analysis

This guide will help you find resources to research in a variety of English and humanities disiplines.

Recommended Databases

Search in library databases to find scholarly journal articles on your research topic.

Keywords: The right search term is important. Think about the words an expert might use to describe the concepts you are looking for.

Peer Reviewed: Look for search options that let you limit your search to articles that have been reviewed by experts.

Recent: Try to choose articles written in the last ten years to insure that your aren't retrieving outdated research.

Hover over the "i" icon to find out more about each database.

Use the Google Scholar link on the left-hand of this page to see how many times an article has been cited. Google Scholar indexes both traditional library databases as well as Open Access scholarly content.

Academic Video Online Videos across many subject areas, to include plays, psychology experiments, historical news reels, silent films, musical performances, conference presentations, and documentaries.
Archival Films & Newsreels Collection - FMG This collection is a treasure trove of archival and historical films from multiple sources, including The Prelinger Archives – a collection of films relating to U.S. cultural and social history and the evolution of everyday life in America; The WPA Film Library – more than 2,800 clips and newsreels from the late 1800s onward; The United Newsreel collection – the series of newsreels produced by the U.S. Office of War Information during World War II; The Universal Newsreel collection – a series of seven- to 10-minute newsreels produced by Universal Studios that were released twice per week between 1929 and 1967; Recordings from the National Archives and Records Administration of historic speeches and events.
Asian Film Online Asian Film Online is a comprehensive repository of documentaries, feature films and shorts that provides a first-hand perspective into contemporary Asian issues through the voices of Asian filmmakers and content producers. These hard-to-find films are brought together for the first time in a streaming online platform.
Dissertations and Theses Global Web access to the Dissertation Abstracts database, the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The full-text of over 100,000 dissertations published from 1997 forward, as well as, citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward with 350-word abstracts written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.
Filmakers Library Online Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
JSTOR JSTOR is a shared digital library created in 1995 to help university and college libraries to free space on their shelves, save costs, and provide greater levels of access to more content than ever before.
MLA Directory of Periodicals
Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 3,500 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Coverage is international. The MLA Directory of Periodicals contains all information available on the journals and series on the bibliography's Master List of Periodicals.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 3,500 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Coverage is international. The MLA Directory of Periodicals contains all information available on the journals and series on the bibliography's Master List of Periodicals.
Oxford English Dictionary The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
ProQuest Central
Serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Sage Journals Search interface to locate over 40 years worth the Sage Publishing titles. Browse SAGE Articles by Topic or Browse SAGE Journals by Title. SAGE publishes more than 560 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
Sage Research Methods SAGE Research Methods supports beginning and advanced researchers in every step of a research project, from writing a research question, choosing a method, gathering and analyzing data, to writing up and publishing the findings. With information on the full range of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods for the social and behavioral sciences, as well as many methods commonly used in the hard sciences, the book, reference, and journal content in SAGE Research Methods—from SAGE’s renowned methods publishing program— and advanced features help researchers of all levels conduct their research.
Silent Film Online Silent Film Online brings together films which represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. Carefully curated with ASPs Video Advisory Board, the database covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s.
SpringerLINK Provides online, full-text access to Springer's journal and e-book titles, as well as titles from other publishers. Subjects include: life sciences, chemical sciences, environmental sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering and economics.
Taylor & Francis Online The specialist publications of Taylor & Francis, Routledge, Psychology Press and Informa Healthcare are now available in one dedicated journals database.
Wiley Online Library Dynamic online content service from John Wiley & Sons, Inc., delivering the full-text of over 300 leading scientific, technical, medical, and professional journals, plus major reference works and the full-text of select Wiley print books online.

Journals

Use Full Text Finder to find a journal in our library databases:

Go the the library homepage.
Click on Journal s.
Type in the name of the journal (not the title of the article).
Click "search" or hit "enter."
In the result list, click on "Full Text Access."
Click on the link with the best date ranges for your needs.
If the journal is not available in full text, request it through interlibrary loan.

To check if a journal is peer reviewed, use the submission guidelines on the journal's webpage.

Or click on the journal titles:

Reliable Websites for Literature

18thConnect
Eighteenth-Century Scholarship Online, this is a free collection of peer-reviewed digital-objects from across the internet.
Internet Archive
A free online archive of video, audio, text, and web documents. Includes the Wayback Machine, an archive of websites over time.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Digitized materials from collections at the Library of Congress.
Making of America
Primary sources from American social history.
NINES
Nineteenth-Century Scholarship Online, this is a free collection of peer-reviewed digital-objects from across the internet.

Reference Librarian

Margaret Dawson

Email Me

Contact:

Co-Head of Public Services and Outreach
Library Administrative Offices, Warrior Hall 205J

254-519-5740

Subjects: Accounting, Anthropology, Auditing, Banking, Biology, Business and Economics, Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, Communications/Journalism, Criminal Justice, Film Studies, Finance, Foreign Language Studies, Language and Literature, Linguistics, Sociology, Taxation

Live Research Help

Composition

A collection of links to help you with composing your writing.

Purdue OWL Writing
Writing help from OWL at Purdue.
Elements of Style by Strunk and White
The original version of this classic writing guide.
Texas A&M University Writing Lab in College Station
The writing lab at TAMU in College Station.
Central Texas University Writing Center
For writers of all ability levels and all stages of the writing process! Thanks for choosing the University Writing Center (UWC) for help with your overall writing process and various writing assignments/tasks!

Grammar

A collection of links to help you with grammar.

Purdue OWL Grammar
More than just citing help--Purdue OWL also provides a usage guide.
Grammar Girl
A collection of short explanations and tutorials about grammar and writing style.
Dr. Grammar
A resource from the University of Northern Illinois.

Open Source Academic Journals and Preprints

These search engines retrieve open source academic journals.

arXiv Math and science preprints.
BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 90 million documents from more than 4,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
Bentham Open Access 230 open access journals, primarily in engineering and the hard sciences, open to all.

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals

DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books Academic books available to all.
OAIster: Find the Pearls
A free catalog that contains digital resources from open archive collections
Represents multidisciplinary resources from more than 1,100 contributors worldwide. Records contain a digital object link allowing users access to the object in a single click. Subjects included: Digitized books and articles, Born-digital texts, Audio files, Images, Movies, Datasets, Theses, Technical reports, Research papers, Image collections.
OpenDOAR: Directory of Open Access Repositories
A vetted directory of open access repositories.
Registry of Open Access Repositories
A registry that lists all of the digital repositories online with open access content policies.