<
EBSCO Connect EBSCO Privacy Policy
Search in library databases to find scholarly journal articles. These are often subject specific.
Keywords: The right search term is important. Think about the words an expert might use to describe the concepts for which you are looking.
Peer Reviewed: Look for search options that let you limit your search to articles that have been reviewed by experts.
Recent: Try to choose articles written in the last ten years to ensure that you aren't retrieving outdated research.
Off Campus? Some of these resources are password protected, to ensure that only TAMUCT students, faculty, and staff can access them, in compliance with license agreements. Access to the databases is authenticated through your single sign on--the same way you log into email, Canvas, Warrior Web, etc. You will use your full email and password when prompted. Faculty and staff use the same username and password as your email, not including "@tamuct.edu"
The following databases are useful for researching literature:
Covers the full history of culture of the United States and Canada. Offers both English-language coverage balanced by international perspectives, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Gale In Context: College offers interdisciplinary content that reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation. Learners can access news content including full-text newspapers and periodicals like The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, Smithsonian, and more. Empower learning with hundreds of thousands of images, videos, and audio selections that include archival film clips, broadcast video, BBC News, New York Times video, and NPR.
JSTOR is a digital library with a vast collection of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It's heavily focused on providing access to archival materials. Journals are available in more than 75 disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences and mathematics.
Gale Literature is an integrated (cross-search)research experience that brings together Gale’s premier literary databases. The cross-search allows researchers of all levels to find a starting point, search across a wide array of materials and points in time, and discover new ways to analyze information. Currently, users can cross-search these collections with Gale Literature:
Gale Literature Criticism – one of the largest, most extensive compilations of literary commentary available
Gale Literature Resource Center – up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world
LitFinder – a wealth of literary works, including over 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000 poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays
Subcollections of eBook titles – including Scribner Writers and Twayne's Authors
Dictionary of Literary Biography – signed scholarly essays that provide essential context to understand the careers and writings of more than 12,000 authors from all time periods and all parts of the world
Something About the Author – engaging biographies of classic, contemporary, and emerging authors and illustrators of children's and young adult literature
Contemporary Authors – current biographical and bibliographical data on more than 120,000 modern authors
Gale Literature: LitFinder provides access to a wealth of literary works and secondary-source materials covering world literature and authors throughout history, including full-text poems and poetry citations, short stories, inaugural presidential speeches, and plays. LitFinder also contains biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary. Researchers can quickly search for a particular author or identify authors linked by qualities such as gender, nationality, century, and genre using person search. Works search functions similarly, giving users the ability to browse works by thousands of subjects, themes, genres, and literary movements.
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 3,500 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.
Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 3,500 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.
The Oxford English Dictionary provides a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.
Search through all of our ProQuest resources at one time.
View a biography of an author's life and works. Design your own search, using words or phrases, or customize a search by genre, gender, ethnicity/nationality, time period, and language. And view topics with a highly selective, curriculum-related list of writers to use as research starting points.
View full text discussions of an author's works and a chronology of the author's life, design your own search, using words or phrases, or customize a search by genre, gender, nationality, and time period, and view topics with a highly selective, curriculum-related list of writers to use as research starting points.
Twentieth-Century American Poetry includes 50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets.
Twentieth-Century English Poetry contains more than 600 volumes of poetry by over 283 poets.
