Skip to main content

ENGL 5388 Cultural Studies: Cultural Studies

Textbooks for this Course

MLA Resources

A collection of links to help you with MLA. 

MLA Games and Tests

A collection of games and tests online to help you assess your knowledge of citing and plagiarism. 

Cultural Studies

This guide will help you find key terms in cultural studies. Remember, defining important terms is vital when you do cultural studies research. 

Reference books, databases, subject-specific journals and internet sources will provide you with more in-depth definitions than standard dictionaries. The first journal article or book ever written about a concept is likely to contain a definitive description of it. Dictionaries and other reference works specific to cultural studies will explain terms as they relate to the field you are studying. Be thoughtful when you define terms, and remember, your understanding of a concept is only as good as your definition for it!

Here are some books available electronically that could be useful for defining terms in this subject area:

Introduction to Cultural Studies: http://site.ebrary.com/lib/tamuct/docDetail.action?docID=10415620

 

The Sage Dictionary of Cultural Studies: http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/sageukcult#!?tab=overview

 

Here are some print books found in the library:

Cultural theory and popular culture : an introduction / John Storey. CB 19 S743 2012 Main Stacks

Cultural studies : the basics / Jeff Lewis.  HM 623 L49 2008 Main Stacks

Recommended Databases for Cultural Studies

Search in library databases to find scholarly journal articles on the terms you are trying to define.

Keywords: The right search term is important. Think about the words an expert might use to describe the concepts you are looking for.

Peer Reviewed: Look for search options that let you limit your search to articles that have been reviewed by experts.

Recent: Try to choose articles written in the last ten years to insure that your aren't retrieving outdated research.

Off Campus? Students login with MyCT. Faculty and staff use the same username and password as your email, not including "@tamuct.edu"

Journals

Use Full Text Finder to find a journal in our library databases: 

  1. Go the the library homepage.
  2. Click on Journal Title Search under "Library Information".
  3. Type in the name of the journal (not the title of the article).
  4. Click "search" or hit "enter."
  5. In the result list, click on "Full Text Access." 
  6. Click on the link with the best date ranges for your needs. 
  7. If the journal is not available in full text, request it through interlibrary loan. 

To check if a journal is peer reviewed, use Ulrich's or the submission guidelines on the journal's webpage. 

Or click on the journal titles:

Internet Resources

Reliable internet sources can also provide you with information.

Subject Guide

Margaret  Dawson's picture
Margaret Dawson
Contact:
Outreach & Instruction Librarian
Library Administrative Offices, Warrior Hall 205J
254-519-5740

Live Research Help

Composition

A collection of links to help you with composing your writing. 

Grammar

A collection of links to help you with grammar.