Recent, relevant, and reliable databases, books, journals, and internet tools are important to academic research.
Books: Starting with a few good books about your topic will help you. Books contain bibliographies you can use to identify key scholarship. Find books through WarriorCat.
Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles: Journal articles are the primary method of sharing new research in education. Peer-review is the process of maintaining reliability by asking specialists to review articles before they are published.
Internet Resources: Reliable online tools can be very helpful, such as specialized searches like Google Scholar. Make sure you consider whether or not you can trust resources before you use them.
Our Elementary Education, Secondary Education, or Children's and Young Adult Literature LibGuides will give you some more research clues.
The following databases are useful for researching Children's Literature:
Education Database gives users access to top educational publications, most in full text. Coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education as well as special education, home schooling, and adult education.
Education Resources Information Center provides full text articles to many educational journals and digests.
Education Source is a collection of full text education journals covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
JSTOR is a shared digital library for universities and colleges.
Serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
