Search in library databases to find scholarly journal articles. These are often subject specific.
Keywords: The right search term is important. Think about the words an expert might use to describe the concepts for which you are looking.
Peer Reviewed: Look for search options that let you limit your search to articles that have been reviewed by experts.
Recent: Try to choose articles written in the last ten years to ensure that you aren't retrieving outdated research.
Off Campus? Some of these resources are password protected, to ensure that only TAMUCT students, faculty, and staff can access them, in compliance with license agreements. Access to the databases is authenticated through your single sign on--the same way you log into email, Canvas, Warrior Web, etc. You will use your full email and password when prompted. Faculty and staff use the same username and password as your email, not including "@tamuct.edu"
{copy this box--don't map it!}
The following databases are useful for researching Music:
Arts & Humanities Database provides online access to 400 contemporary specialist arts titles combined with journals from related fields including ethnic studies, womens studies, sociology, cultural studies, and more. Arts & Humanities Database titles include scholarly peer-reviewed journals, selected trade, and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies.
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts is a periodical database that places articles in the hands of serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. databases such as the Wilson Art Index and the Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale (RILM) index are available in full text. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
JSTOR is a digital library with a vast collection of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It's heavily focused on providing access to archival materials. Journals are available in more than 75 disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences and mathematics.
Music Online: Classical Performance in Video is the largest and most comprehensive video resource for the study of classical music. Users experience classical music through 3,500 titles, including 200 full operas and 75 dance titles, as well as masterclasses, documentaries, and interviews.
Music Online: Opera in Video contains five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.
Serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
