Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Source Academic Journals and Preprints
These search engines retrieve open source academic journals.
arXiv Math and science preprints.
BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 90 million documents from more than 4,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
Bentham Open Access 230 open access journals, primarily in engineering and the hard sciences, open to all.
Finding Reliable Websites
When deciding if a webpage is reliable, you should ask yourself the following questions.
||Only cite authors who have some credentials that qualify them to talk about the subject.
||Identify the type of research you need--most online forums, blogs, or presentations are not peer reviewed.
||Use research from websites that regularly maintained to insure that the information isn't outdated.
||Material should be available on academic websites--pay attention to the quality of the website. Avoid .coms and .nets.
||Know why you need the information, and also why the information was published. Avoid biased websites.
Webpages should cite their information so you know how the information was gathered.
Library Homepage Library Databases Library Search
Reliable Websites for Mathematics
Encyclopedia of Mathematics
The Encyclopedia of Mathematics wiki is an open access resource designed specifically for the mathematics community. The original articles are from the online Encyclopaedia of Mathematics, published by Kluwer Academic Publishers in 2002.
Favorite Mathematical Constants
The goal of the Mathematics Archives is to provide organized Internet access to a wide variety of mathematical resources.
PlanetMath is a virtual community which aims to help make mathematical knowledge more accessible. PlanetMath's content is created collaboratively: the main feature is the mathematics encyclopedia with entries written and reviewed by members.
Created and maintained by Eric Weisstein, MathWorld is a comprehensive and interactive mathematics encyclopedia intended for students, educators, math enthusiasts, and researchers. 12,529 entries to date, with continuous updates, in the free service provided by Wolfram Research, makers of Mathematica, with additional support from the National Science Foundation.
Providing the mathematical and scientific community with the world's largest collection of formulas and graphics about mathematical functions.
Mathematics Education Web Sites
Ask Dr. Math (The Math Forum)
Ask Dr. Math is a question and answer service for math students and their teachers. A searchable archive is available by level and topic, as well as summaries of Frequently Asked Questions
National Center for Education Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
MathVids.com, created by SchoolVids LLC, aggregates and organizes video lessons, lectures, and tutorials for middle to high school and university students, teachers, or anyone wishing to learn, relearn, or find help and additional teachings on mathematics. The coverage is broad and impressive from arithmetic, fractions, pre-algebra, geometry, and trigonometry to calculus, differential equations, linear algebra, statistics, and discrete mathematics.
Mathematics Software Web Sites
Guide to Available Mathematical Software
A cross-index and virtual repository of mathematical and statistical software components of use in computational science and engineering
MathWorks is the leading developer of mathematical computing software for engineers and scientists. Founded in 1984, MathWorks employs 2800 people in 15 countries, with headquarters in Natick, Massachusetts, U.S.A.
Electronic Journal of Combinatorics
The Electronic Journal of Combinatorics (E-JC) is a fully-refereed electronic journal with very high standards, publishing papers of substantial content and interest in all branches of discrete mathematics, including combinatorics, graph theory, and discrete algorithms. The journal is completely free for both authors and readers.
Links to various WWW resources on mathematics which are organized by topics.
American National Standards Institute (ANSI)
The Institute oversees the creation, promulgation and use of thousands of norms and guidelines that directly impact businesses in nearly every sector: from acoustical devices to construction equipment, from dairy and livestock production to energy distribution
National Science Foundation (NSF)
The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950. With an annual budget of about $7.0 billion (FY 2012), we are the funding source for approximately 20 percent of all federally supported basic research conducted by America’s colleges and universities. In many fields such as mathematics, computer science and the social sciences, NSF is the major source of federal backing.
National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
The National Technical Information Service serves as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today. For more than 60 years NTIS has assured businesses, universities, and the public timely access to approximately 3 million publications covering over 350 subject areas.
Science.gov searches over 55 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. Science.gov is governed by the interagency Science.gov Alliance
Subjects: Art and Architecture
, Copyright Law and Fair Use
, Language and Literature
, Liberal Studies
, Library Science
, Mathematics and Statistical Methods
, Religious Studies