Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Source Academic Journals and Preprints
These search engines retrieve open source academic journals.
arXiv This link opens in a new window Math and science preprints.
BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine This link opens in a new window BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 90 million documents from more than 4,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
Bentham Open Access This link opens in a new window 230 open access journals, primarily in engineering and the hard sciences, open to all.
Finding Reliable Websites
When deciding if a webpage is reliable, you should ask yourself the following questions.
||Only cite authors who have some credentials that qualify them to talk about the subject.
||Identify the type of research you need--most online forums, blogs, or presentations are not peer reviewed.
||Use research from websites that regularly maintained to insure that the information isn't outdated.
||Material should be available on academic websites--pay attention to the quality of the website. Avoid .coms and .nets.
||Know why you need the information, and also why the information was published. Avoid biased websites.
Webpages should cite their information so you know how the information was gathered.
Library Homepage Library Databases Library Search
Reliable Websites for Finance
Board of Governors, Federal Reserve System
Provides general information, press releases, testimony and speeches, monetary policy, research and data, related to the Central Bank of the United States.
Center for Financial Institutions
New York University School of Law's Center for Financial Institutions is responsible for this metasite. Coverage includes Central bank statutes; basic banking laws; political constitutions; unpublished working papers and related materials; conference papers from the Center; published works; and annual reports.
Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC)
Official documents from the FDIC including current CRA information, laws and regulations applicable to financial institutions, consumer news, and a statistical database on banks and the banking industry.
Forbes is a leading source for reliable business news and financial information.
The place where entrepreneurs and business owners can find useful information, advice, insights, resources and inspiration for running and growing their businesses.
National Information Center
The NIC provides comprehensive information on banks and other institutions for which the Federal Reserve has supervisory, regulatory or research interests.
The latest breaking financial news on the US and world economy.
Reports on business regulations and ease of doing business in different countries worldwide. This website in maintained by the International Finance Corporation (IFC).
From the US Census Bureau which includes major demographics, labor force, migration, vital statistics.
International Monetary Fund
The IMF's website offers the texts of all their complementary publications, as well as news releases, country publications, fund reates, standards and codes.
Aggregates statistics from many web sources.
The World Bank
The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. Allows access to the organizations publications, news and speeches, development economics, global bond information, world development and operations and policies.
Aggredated search for all UN databases, includes a country search
Designed for business students by Michigan State University. Aggregates country information from all over the web.
The Library of Congress Country Guides
These guides contain the best history and culture of various countries.
Policy Papers and Publications
, Business and Economics
, Chemistry and Chemical Engineering
, Criminal Justice
, Film Studies
, Foreign Language Studies
, Language and Literature