Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Source Academic Journals and Preprints
These search engines retrieve open source academic journals.
arXiv This link opens in a new window Math and science preprints.
BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine This link opens in a new window BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 90 million documents from more than 4,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
Bentham Open Access This link opens in a new window 230 open access journals, primarily in engineering and the hard sciences, open to all.
Finding Journals with Full Text Finder
Use Full Text Finder to find a journal in our library databases:
- Go the the library homepage.
- Click on Journal Title Search under "Library Information".
- Type in the name of the journal (not the title of the article).
- Click "search" or hit "enter."
- In the result list, click on "Full Text Access."
- Click on the link with the best date ranges for your needs.
- If the journal is not available in full text, request it through interlibrary loan.
To check if a journal is peer reviewed, use Ulrich's or the submission guidelines on the journal's webpage.
Library Homepage Library Databases Library Search
Click on the arrows at the bottom of the window to move forward and back through the slides. For full screen, click on the box in the lower left hand side of the viewer.
, Business and Economics
, Chemistry and Chemical Engineering
, Criminal Justice
, Film Studies
, Foreign Language Studies
, Language and Literature