Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Source Academic Journals and Preprints
These search engines retrieve open source academic journals.
arXiv This link opens in a new window Math and science preprints.
BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine This link opens in a new window BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 90 million documents from more than 4,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
Bentham Open Access This link opens in a new window 230 open access journals, primarily in engineering and the hard sciences, open to all.
Find Books @ Google Books
Finding Reliable Websites
When deciding if a webpage is reliable, you should ask yourself the following questions.
||Only cite authors who have some credentials that qualify them to talk about the subject.
||Identify the type of research you need--most online forums, blogs, or presentations are not peer reviewed.
||Use research from websites that regularly maintained to insure that the information isn't outdated.
||Material should be available on academic websites--pay attention to the quality of the website. Avoid .coms and .nets.
||Know why you need the information, and also why the information was published. Avoid biased websites.
Webpages should cite their information so you know how the information was gathered.
Library Homepage Library Databases Library Search
Reliable Websites for Literature
Eighteenth-Century Scholarship Online, this is a free collection of peer-reviewed digital-objects from across the internet.
A free online archive of video, audio, text, and web documents. Includes the Wayback Machine, an archive of websites over time.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Digitized materials from collections at the Library of Congress.
Making of America
Primary sources from American social history.
Nineteenth-Century Scholarship Online, this is a free collection of peer-reviewed digital-objects from across the internet.
, Business and Economics
, Chemistry and Chemical Engineering
, Criminal Justice
, Film Studies
, Foreign Language Studies
, Language and Literature