Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Articles in Online Databases
Search in library databases to find scholarly journal articles. These are often subject specific.
Keywords: The right search term is important. Think about the words an expert might use to describe the concepts for which you are looking.
Peer Reviewed: Look for search options that let you limit your search to articles that have been reviewed by experts.
Recent: Try to choose articles written in the last ten years to ensure that you aren't retrieving outdated research.
Off Campus? Students login with MyCT (everything before @my.tamuct.edu). Faculty and staff use the same username and password as your email, not including "@tamuct.edu."
Library Homepage Library Databases Library Search
Recommended Databases for Criminal Justice
Academic Search Complete Indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Criminal Justice Database A comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. The database bridges theory with practice by providing information geared to those interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security as well as scholars and other researchers who study the causes, trends, and societal impacts of crime.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text Information on virtually any criminal justice topic, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, criminal law, and family law. This database contains entries from newspapers, periodicals, and academic journals and offers full-text coverage for about 50 of the journals most frequently accessed by criminal justice researchers. It also includes citations and abstracts for another 140 relevant US and international journals.
JSTOR JSTOR is a shared digital library created in 1995 to help university and college libraries to free space on their shelves, save costs, and provide greater levels of access to more content than ever before.
National Criminal Justice Reference NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide. The database, with holdings from the early 1970s to the present, contains more than 170,000 publications, reports, articles, and audiovisual products from the United States and around the world. These resources include statistics, research findings, program descriptions, congressional hearing transcripts, and training materials.
ProQuest Central Serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Sage Journals Search interface to locate over 40 years worth the Sage Publishing titles. Browse SAGE Articles by Topic or Browse SAGE Journals by Title. SAGE publishes more than 560 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
ScienceDirect Full-text or abstracts coverage of more than 1,000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Includes a wide spectrum of disciplines including Chemistry, Materials science, Engineering & technology, Environmental science, Economics, Business & management, Neuroscience, Pharmacology & toxicology, Physics, Mathematics & computer science, Earth sciences, Social sciences, Biochemistry, Microbiology & immunology, Biological sciences, and Clinical medicine.
Social Science Database This database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.
SocINDEX with Full Text Full text for 242 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 547 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers. Covers all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.
Web of Science Access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. Indexes included are: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Wiley Online Library Dynamic online content service from John Wiley & Sons, Inc., delivering the full-text of over 300 leading scientific, technical, medical, and professional journals, plus major reference works and the full-text of select Wiley print books online.
, Business and Economics
, Chemistry and Chemical Engineering
, Criminal Justice
, Film Studies
, Foreign Language Studies
, Language and Literature