Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Articles in Online Databases
Search in library databases to find scholarly journal articles. These are often subject specific.
Keywords: The right search term is important. Think about the words an expert might use to describe the concepts for which you are looking.
Peer Reviewed: Look for search options that let you limit your search to articles that have been reviewed by experts.
Recent: Try to choose articles written in the last ten years to ensure that you aren't retrieving outdated research.
Off Campus? Students login with MyCT (everything before @my.tamuct.edu). Faculty and staff use the same username and password as your email, not including "@tamuct.edu."
Library Homepage Library Databases Library Search
Recommended Databases for Children's and Young Adult Literature
The following databases are useful for researching Elementary Education:
Academic Search Complete Indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Education Database Education Database gives users access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education. Many titles are indexed in the ERIC database. Coverage: 1988 current.
Education Resources Information Center (ERIC through EBSCO) Provides full-text for more than 500 journals indexed in ERIC and more than 2,200 digests from RIE, along with references for additional information, citations, and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education related journals.
Education Source A collection of full text education journals. It is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals, as well as full text for more than 750 journals. This database also includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.
JSTOR JSTOR is a shared digital library created in 1995 to help university and college libraries to free space on their shelves, save costs, and provide greater levels of access to more content than ever before.
LearningExpress LearningExpress Library helps students and adult learners improve the skills required for academic and career success. There are practice sets and tutorials to develop skills in math, reading, writing, and basic sciences. You must register for a free account with LearningExpress Library.
MAS Complete •Full text for more than 550 popular high school magazines
•More than 430 full-text reference books
•More than 120,000 biographies
•More than 73,000 primary source documents
•An image collection of more than 1.6 million photos, maps, flags and color PDFs
Periodicals contained in MAS Complete cover a wide range of subject areas that are of interest to high-school students including art, history, sports, music, film, travel, science, the Internet, fashion, religion, nature, hobbies, current events, fiction and much more
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. The MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. All MMY entries contain descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited review(s) written by leading content area experts.
Primary Search Designed specifically for elementary school libraries and public library children's rooms, contains full text for nearly 70 popular, elementary school magazines. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 magazines. Many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text backfiles go as far back as 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as 1985.
ProQuest Central Serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
PsycARTICLES From the American Psychological Association (APA), with full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains approximately 180,000 articles from over 100 journals.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection A comprehensive database with more than 470 full-text titles. This database covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Psychology Database Offers complete information from nearly 300 psychology and related publications from the U.S., Canada, and the United Kingdom.
PsycINFO Covers more than 1,700 leading psychological, psychiatric, and related publications. This database combines abstracts and indexing with links to full-text and full-image journals. The database covers a wide range of topics, including psychology, psychiatry, and related information from the fields of education, business, medicine, nursing, law, and social work.
PsycTESTS Professionally indexed, the PsycTESTS database is an extensive collection of items associated with psychological measures, scales, surveys, and other instruments essential to the research needs of professionals, students, and educators across the behavioral and social sciences.
Teacher Reference Center It provides indexing and abstracts of more than 270 of the most popular teacher & administrator journals & magazines to assist professional educators. Journals cover topics such as: assessment, best practices, curriculum development, teacher education, instructional media, and current pedagogical research.
TeachingBooks.net Identify books by subject, reading level, and book title for K-12 readers.
Web of Science Access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. Indexes included are: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
, Educational Leadership
, Elementary Education
, Language and Literature
, Secondary Education
, Texas History
, United States History