This resource is an educational resource that provides exhibits, collections, resources for teachers, images, audios, videos, and events related to celebrating and honoring American women’s role in history. It is created by the Library of Congress. It provides cultural institutions’ websites dedicated to chronicling women’s history: National Endowment for the Humanities, National Archives, National Park Service, Smithsonian Education, and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum.
This nonprofit organization is responsible for lobbying Congress to advocate and designate for Women’s History Month to be celebrated in March every year. Today, it continues to advocate, educate, and train parents, organizations (local and national), educators, and anyone who is interested in learning more about women’s history (understanding women’s achievements and contributions to American history).
Even though the building construction for this museum is currently underway, this resource features news, events, exhibitions, and collections that honors and treasures women’s contributions, history, and accomplishments that influence and represent America and its diversity.
This resource provides a list of sources with specified topics that chronicle women’s history from ancient history to modern history, around the world.
ALIC provides a list of websites that pertain to women’s history. It provides the following contents: Bibliographies, African-American Women, Biographies, Politics and Women, Women’s Suffrage, Women in the Military, and Other Resources.
The History of Department of Austin Community College lists educational websites for general topics and specialized topics relating to women’s history.
“As we celebrate Women’s History Month 2022, we reflect upon advances women have made over the last decade. Women have increased their earnings, education and fields of occupation, and continue to have longer average life spans than men. Below are some Census Bureau stats highlighting these and other changes over the years. We appreciate the public’s cooperation in helping us measure America’s people, places and economy.”
“Stories from history hold unique value, they deserve to be preserved for future generations. However, where are all the Women in these stories?”
“The talk is about demonstrating that there is still a necessity to promote feminism in history today and the benefits that this provides for women in terms of fighting stereotypes. I talk about two women, Ching Shih and Queen Melisende as a way of demonstrating this. It is also more generally about a need for greater diversity in academic fields and the impacts on society when it is missing.”