Primary Sources: U.S. Government / Law & Legislation

ProQuest Congressional is the only site anywhere that offers a comprehensive collection of congressional documents from 1789 to the present. This primary source collection offers students an unparalleled opportunity to understand the present by comparing todays events and opinions with trends and patterns throughout our nations history. A key resource contained within the database are earlier federal legislative histories.

Search or browse the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes. It includes all the Reports, Documents and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, and constitutes a rich collection of primary source material on all aspects of American history.

With more than 74,000 maps, this database provides a foundational resource for American history, society and politics. Features include: search and browse capabilities designed for maps; ability to search specifically by dates related to the maps rather than the dates assigned to Serial Set publications; indexing of subject and geographic locations specific to the maps; citation records providing map title, Serial Set publication, map date, issuing body, cartographer or author, coordinates, scale, content notes and geographic location and subject indexing; linking of related maps within a publication or multi-page maps to enable easy navigation; a process based on physical review of original publications to ensure that a high-resolution image and citation record is created for every map; citation records that can be emailed with a click; provision of suggested related search terms based on the acclaimed Readex Congressional Thesaurus.

Access to federal and state case law, the United States Code Annotated (USCA), the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), the Federal Register, state statutes and administrative codes, American Jurisprudence 2d (law encyclopedia), American Law Reports (ALR) 2nd-5th and federal series, and more than 900 law journals and reviews. It also includes guides to various areas of law, the text of the U.S. Constitution and state constitutions, and information for pre-law students.