Skip to main content

Central Texas Historical Archive: Home

Central Texas Historical Archive

The Central Texas Historical Archive houses a variety of collections of both regional and national interest. Our current collections focus on Post-War military, diplomatic, and political history. The collections are managed by the College of Arts and Sciences and the History Program at A&M-Central Texas. 

Our Future Home

Coming Fall 2018!

Foundations of Our Future

First Steps Towards Our New Building.

Starting the Second Story!

Starting New Scaffolding for the Second Floor

Second Story Coming Along Well

Third Story

More Progress!

The Colodny Collection

The Colodny Collection is comprised of research on the Watergate scandal collected by Len Colodny for his book with Robert GettlinSilent Coup: The Removal of a President, published in 1991. The book is based on interviews with participants in the Watergate scandal, newly declassified documents, and other sources.  It garnered much media attention and enjoyed a run on the bestseller lists. The material was involved in the lawsuit, Dean v. St. Martin’s Press.  Most of the nearly 500,000 pages of textual material were produced for the court case.   

The Donald Lee Brower Collection

The photograph collection of Donald Lee Brower, a retired Army aviation mechanic and Vietnam veteran, chronicles his service during the Vietnam war from his enlistment in New Jersey and Basic Training at For Dix through the entirety of his 19 month service in Vietnam. His primary service location was at Camp Holloway, Pleiku while assigned to the 119th Aviation Company/ 52nd Aviation Battalion. There he witnessed and documented numerous operations, one of which included the largest loss of aviation equipment in a single attack during the Vietnam War.

The General Shoemaker U.S Army War College Papers

The General Shoemaker U.S Army War College Papers is a photographic copy of the Shoemaker papers housed at the U.S Army War College Library in Carlisle, Pennsylvania. The original Shoemaker papers are housed at the U.S. Army War College Library. The documents are from General Shoemaker's tenure as the Commander of U.S. FORSCOM.  

The Federal Documents Research Collection

The Federal Documents Research Collection houses a portion of the government records that Dr. Luke A. Nichter has obtained through more than one thousand Freedom of Information Act requests. These requests were made beginning in 2008 to a series of federal government agencies, including the Central Intelligence, the Federal Bureau of Investigation, the Departments of Defense and State, and numerous others. The purpose of obtaining these records was to support Nichter’s research on a variety of subjects, mostly related to the Cold War era, as well as the desire to open these historically important records – estimated to be in the millions of pages, in all – to researchers and the public.

Contact Information

The Central Texas Historical Archives is available

by appointment only.
 
For further information, or to schedule an appointment, please email:

history.archive@tamuct.edu