Concise Guide to APA Style
by
Concise Guide to APA Style, Seventh Edition is the official APA Style resource for students. Written for high school and undergraduate students, instructors, and writers learning APA Style, this easy-to-use pocket guide is adapted from the seventh edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. It provides complete guidance for new writers on effective, clear, and inclusive scholarly communication and the essentials of formatting papers and other course assignments. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. Full color throughout Content relevant to a range of majors and courses, including psychology, social work, criminal justice, communications, composition, education, business, engineering, and more New chapter focused on student papers Sample student title page, paper, and annotated bibliography Streamlined APA Style headings and in-text citations New chapter on writing style and grammar Chapters on punctuation, lists, italics, spelling, capitalization, abbreviations, numbers, and statistics Latest bias-free language guidelines More than 20 new sample tables and figures Comprehensive guidelines on citation to help writers credit their sources appropriately and avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism More than 100 new reference templates and examples, including traditional sources (e.g., journal articles, books, dissertations, and reports) plus many others (e.g., social media, webpages and websites, legal)
Writing up Quantitative Research in the Social and Behavioral Sciences
by
The Teaching Writing series publishes user-friendly writing guides penned by authors with publishing records in their subject matter. Infused with multidisciplinary examples, humor, and a healthy dose of irreverence, Fallon helps emerging researchers successfully navigate the intellectual and emotional challenges of writing quantitative research reports. After reinforcing foundations in methodology, statistics, and writing in the first section of the book, emerging researchers work through a series of questions to construct their research report. The final section contains sample papers generated by undergraduates illustrating three major forms of quantitative research--primary data collection, secondary data analysis, and content analysis. Writing up Quantitative Research in the Social and Behavioral Sciences is appropriate for research methods classes in communication, criminology or criminal justice, economics, education, political science, psychological science, social work, and sociology. Individual students and novice researchers can also read the book as a supplement to any course or research experience that requires writing up quantitative data.
The Criminal Justice Student Writer's Manual
by
This comprehensive book is designed to accompany the primary text in any criminal justice class where writing is emphasized, or can be used as an excellent primary text for a criminal justice course in writing administrative and technical reports. The Criminal Justice Student Writer's Manual, 6e is designed to help students learn how to research and write in criminal justice, and improve their writing ability in general. While helping students with every aspect of the writing process-formatting, source citations, grammar, sentence structure, research, and utilizing available sources-it relieves instructors from the time consuming job of teaching these skills, and allows them to concentrate on the subject matter of the course they are teaching. This book is the most comprehensive book on the market that deals specifically with writing criminal justice papers. It gives specific directions for writing a variety of papers in criminal justice, from introductory to advanced, while also providing instructions on "how to write," and how to format the paper and cite sources following the American Sociological Association's and the American Psychological Association's guidelines. There is really no other book on the market that provides the comprehensive directions to writing papers in criminal justice that are found in The Criminal Justice Student Writer's Manual.
APA Style and Citations for Dummies
by
Write right in for scholarly success While world-renowned for the precision and clarity it lends to scholarly writing, keeping track of APA style's exacting standards can be demanding (at times even excruciating!) for initiates and seasoned writers alike. Created and governed by the American Psychological Association, it provides a universal style for formatting, citations, and footnotes in psychological research, behavioral and social science journals, and beyond. Getting up to speed is tough stuff, but once you've got it, your work will have that easy-to-follow scholarly authority that will get high marks from your professors and peers alike. Your friendly, frustration-free guide for this adventure in simplifying APA style is Joe Giampalmi, who has taught more than 100 APA-style composition courses to college students. He takes the pain of following APA style away by breaking it down to its essential elements and focusing on the important stuff students encounter most. You'll work through specific, real-life examples of using APA style for psychology, criminology, business, and nursing papers. In addition to demystifying the intricacies of formatting and citation, APA Style & Citations For Dummies has got you covered in all matters of grammar and punctuation--as well as guidance on how APA style can help you negotiate issues around the ethics of authorship and the importance of word choice in reducing bias. Develop conciseness and clarity Pay attention to flow, structure, and logic in your writing Know when, why, how, and what to cite Keep your writing ethically conscious and bias-free Writing in APA style is something that almost all students will need to do at some point: APA Style & Citations For Dummies is a must-have desk reference to know how to win the approval of your professors--and earn the marks you need for success!
Research Methods in Crime and Justice
by
In our databases, try a search like this:
(criminology OR forensic science OR crime trends) AND corrections policy AND crime prevention
You can always include the specific name of a country to narrow the results. (Example: add AND United States to the search above.)
Want examples? Stop by the library, use our virtual chat, or schedule an appointment with a librarian for personalized research help.
Recent, relevant, and reliable databases, books, journals, and internet tools are important to academic research.
Books: Starting with a few good books about your topic will help you. Books contain bibliographies you can use to identify key scholarship. Find books through WarriorCat.
Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles: Journal articles are the primary method of sharing new research in education. Peer-review is the process of maintaing reliability by asking specialists to review articles before they are published.
Internet Resources: Reliable online tools can be very helpful, such as specialized searches like Google Scholar. Make sure you consider whether or not you can trust resources before you use them.
Our Criminal Justice LibGuide will give you some more research clues.
How to Research With Online Library Tools
Need more help with using our library resources online? Check out our Research Online with Library Tools Tutorial
What is a literature review?
A literature review is a comprehensive overview of research regarding a specific topic. It shows the reader what is known about a topic and what is still unknown prompting the need for study.
Denney, A. S., & Tewksbury, R. (2013). How to Write a Literature Review. Journal of Criminal Justice Education, 24(2), 218–234. https://doi.org/10.1080/10511253.2012.730617
The following databases are useful for researching Criminal Justice:
Gale In Context: College offers interdisciplinary content that reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation. Learners can access news content including full-text newspapers and periodicals like The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, Smithsonian, and more. Empower learning with hundreds of thousands of images, videos, and audio selections that include archival film clips, broadcast video, BBC News, New York Times video, and NPR.
Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice informs the research process for researchers who are studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism, training for paralegal service, preparing for a career in homeland security, delving into forensic science, investigating crime scenes, developing policy, going to court, writing sociological reports, and much more.
Criminal Justice Abstracts contains enteries from newspapers, periodicals, and academic journals on criminal justice. This includes corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, criminal law, family law, and many other topics.
National Criminal Justice Reference is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
Serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
JSTOR is a digital library with a vast collection of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It's heavily focused on providing access to archival materials. Journals are available in more than 75 disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences and mathematics.
Create a free account to manage your citations. RefWorks is a web-based reference management software to help users organize citations and build bibliography and reference pages.
SAGE publishes more than 560 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
Full-text or abstracts coverage of more than 1,000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Includes a wide spectrum of disciplines including Chemistry, Materials science, Engineering & technology, Environmental science, Economics, Business & management, Neuroscience, Pharmacology & toxicology, Physics, Mathematics & computer science, Earth sciences, Social sciences, Biochemistry, Microbiology & immunology, Biological sciences, and Clinical medicine.
This database offers extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.
SocIDEX provides 242 core journals and 72 priority journals. Covers all subdisciplines of sociology.
A collection of links to help you with APA.
A collection of links to help you with composing your writing.