Writing with Power
by
A classic handbook for anyone who needs to write, Writing With Power speaks to everyone who has wrestled with words while seeking to gain power with them. Here, Peter Elbow emphasizes that the essential activities underlying good writing and the essential exercises promoting it are really not difficult at all. Employing a cookbook approach, Elbow provides the reader (and writer) with various recipes: for getting words down on paper, for revising, for dealing with an audience, for getting feedback on a piece of writing, and still other recipes for approaching the mystery of power in writing. In a new introduction, he offers his reflections on the original edition, discusses the responses from people who have followed his techniques, how his methods may differ from other processes, and how his original topics are still pertinent to today's writer. By taking risks and embracing mistakes, Elbow hopes the writer may somehow find a hold on the creative process and be able to heighten two mentalities--the production of writing and the revision of it. From students and teachers to novelists and poets, Writing with Power reminds us that we can celebrate the uses of mystery, chaos, nonplanning, and magic, while achieving analysis, conscious control, explicitness, and care in whatever it is we set down on paper.
Write to the Top!
by
This is a pithy, no-nonsense, no-excuses guide to maximizing the quality and quantity of your scholarly products. Write to the Top! offers an accessible overview of the art of writing efficiently and effectively; it is the first book that explicitly summarizes the key elements to prolific productivity in academic settings.
The New Academic
by
What does it mean to be an academic in today's rapidly changing world? As a new academic, you must be outstanding in your chosen field, able to write knock-out articles, speak with flair and wit, and share it all with your huge social media following. But how do you do all that? In The New Academic, Simon Clews offers a wealth of practical advice on how to write and speak in an entertaining, informative and, above all, accessible way. He will also help you take care of the practicalities, the business if you like, of being a writer and communicator. Aimed at researchers at all levels of experience, this book will set you up with the basics of writing and speaking, then look at how to develop a public profile and gain traction online. It will show experts how to be front and centre in the public debate allowing the rest of us to benefit from their knowledge and make informed decisions about the things that matter. Funny, lively and constructive, this is your hands-on guidebook to taking your amazing research and sharing it with the outside world. 'You're a scientist who's perfectly capable of talking to your fellow scientists; but how do you communicate to the outside world? How do you lose the jargon and the technical language, but keep the ideas, and your passion and enthusiasm? This book lays it on the line in a way that is accessible, understandable and, importantly, enjoyable to read. It should be required reading for any academic hoping to engage with audiences beyond the academy.' - Peter Doherty 'I laughed...then I cried and wished I had this book sooner. Simon Clews understands the dilemmas of academics who are tasked with creating "impact" and then don't really know what to do. This book has solid advice and great ideas for action. If you only do some of this, you will be able to tick that "impact" box with ease. I owe Simon big time for giving me some of this advice when I started The Thesis Whisperer blog ten years ago but now I know how much he was holding out on me! I recommend this book for anyone starting out as an academic, and for old hands like myself. Automatic buy.' - Inger Mewburn
College Writing for Dummies
by
Transform your next college essay into an A+ masterpiece Taking a 100-level English composition course? Just doing your best to get ready for the rigors of college-level writing? Then it's probably time you picked up College Writing For Dummies, the single greatest roadmap to writing high-quality essays, reports, and more! This book is the ideal companion for any introductory college writing course and tracks the curriculum of a typical English Composition, College Writing, English 101, or Writing & Rhetoric course. You'll learn composition techniques, style, language, and grammar tips, and discover how to plan, write, and revise your material. You'll also get: Ten can't-miss resources for improving your college writing Strategies for revising and repairing inadequate essays on your own Techniques to help non-native English speakers master the challenging world of English essay writing Full of real-world examples, lessons in essay structure, grammar, and everything in between, this book is a must-read for every incoming college freshman looking for a head start in one of the most important skills you'll need over the next few years. Grab a copy of College Writing For Dummies today.
In our databases, try a search like this:
(Hemmingway OR Faulkner OR Steinbeck) AND literature AND criticism
You can always include the specific name of a country to narrow the results. (Example: add AND American to the search above.)
Want examples? Stop by the library, use our virtual chat, or schedule an appointment with a librarian for personalized research help.
A collection of links to help you with grammar.
Recent, relevant, and reliable databases, books, journals, and internet tools are important to academic research.
Books: Starting with a few good books about your topic will help you. Books contain bibliographies you can use to identify key scholarship. Find books through WarriorCat.
Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles: Journal articles are the primary method of sharing new research in education. Peer-review is the process of maintaing reliability by asking specialists to review articles before they are published.
Internet Resources: Reliable online tools can be very helpful, such as specialized searches like Google Scholar. Make sure you consider whether or not you can trust resources before you use them.
Our Literature LibGuide will give you some more research clues.
How to Research With Online Library Tools
Need more help with using our library resources online? Check out our Research Online with Library Tools Tutorial
What is an Annotated Bibliography?
An annotated bibliography is a way to provide citation as well as provide a brief account of research done on the topic. It typically contains a brief summary of the resources as well as some form of assessment of its quality. For further explanation check out the resources below!
Specific Articles on Annotated Bibliographies
Need More Help?
Check out our library tutorial on annotated bibliographies!
Annotated Bibliography: MLA Format Tutorial
The following databases are useful for researching Literacy Criticism:
Arts & Humanities Database provides online access to 400 contemporary specialist arts titles combined with journals from related fields including ethnic studies, womens studies, sociology, cultural studies, and more. Arts & Humanities Database titles include scholarly peer-reviewed journals, selected trade, and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies.
Serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
View a biography of an author's life and works. Design your own search, using words or phrases, or customize a search by genre, gender, ethnicity/nationality, time period, and language. And view topics with a highly selective, curriculum-related list of writers to use as research starting points.
View full text discussions of an author's works and a chronology of the author's life, design your own search, using words or phrases, or customize a search by genre, gender, nationality, and time period, and view topics with a highly selective, curriculum-related list of writers to use as research starting points.
Gale Literature is an integrated (cross-search)research experience that brings together Gale’s premier literary databases. The cross-search allows researchers of all levels to find a starting point, search across a wide array of materials and points in time, and discover new ways to analyze information. Currently, users can cross-search these collections with Gale Literature:
Gale Literature Criticism – one of the largest, most extensive compilations of literary commentary available
Gale Literature Resource Center – up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world
LitFinder – a wealth of literary works, including over 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000 poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays
Subcollections of eBook titles – including Scribner Writers and Twayne's Authors
Dictionary of Literary Biography – signed scholarly essays that provide essential context to understand the careers and writings of more than 12,000 authors from all time periods and all parts of the world
Something About the Author – engaging biographies of classic, contemporary, and emerging authors and illustrators of children's and young adult literature
Contemporary Authors – current biographical and bibliographical data on more than 120,000 modern authors
Gale Literature: LitFinder provides access to a wealth of literary works and secondary-source materials covering world literature and authors throughout history, including full-text poems and poetry citations, short stories, inaugural presidential speeches, and plays. LitFinder also contains biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary. Researchers can quickly search for a particular author or identify authors linked by qualities such as gender, nationality, century, and genre using person search. Works search functions similarly, giving users the ability to browse works by thousands of subjects, themes, genres, and literary movements.
JSTOR is a digital library with a vast collection of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It's heavily focused on providing access to archival materials. Journals are available in more than 75 disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences and mathematics.
Create a free account to manage your citations. RefWorks is a web-based reference management software to help users organize citations and build bibliography and reference pages.
A collection of links to help you with MLA.
A collection of links to help you with composing your writing.