Free Speech on Campus by 
Higher Education in America by
A sweeping assessment of the state of higher education today from former Harvard president Derek Bok Higher Education in America is a landmark work--a comprehensive and authoritative analysis of the current condition of our colleges and universities from former Harvard president Derek Bok, one of the nation's most respected education experts. Sweepingly ambitious in scope, this is a deeply informed and balanced assessment of the many strengths as well as the weaknesses of American higher education today. At a time when colleges and universities have never been more important to the lives and opportunities of students or to the progress and prosperity of the nation, Bok provides a thorough examination of the entire system, public and private, from community colleges and small liberal arts colleges to great universities with their research programs and their medical, law, and business schools. Drawing on the most reliable studies and data, he determines which criticisms of higher education are unfounded or exaggerated, which are issues of genuine concern, and what can be done to improve matters. Some of the subjects considered are long-standing, such as debates over the undergraduate curriculum and concerns over rising college costs. Others are more recent, such as the rise of for-profit institutions and massive open online courses (MOOCs). Additional topics include the quality of undergraduate education, the stagnating levels of college graduation, the problems of university governance, the strengths and weaknesses of graduate and professional education, the environment for research, and the benefits and drawbacks of the pervasive competition among American colleges and universities. Offering a rare survey and evaluation of American higher education as a whole, this book provides a solid basis for a fresh public discussion about what the system is doing right, what it needs to do better, and how the next quarter century could be made a period of progress rather than decline.
The Law of Higher Education by
A single-volume text that distills information for students Based on the sixth edition of Kaplin and Lee's indispensable guide to the law that bears on the conduct of higher education, The Law of Higher Education, Sixth Edition: Student Version provides an up-to-date reference and guide for coursework in higher education law and programs preparing law students and higher education administrators for leadership roles. This student edition discusses the most significant areas of the law for college and university attorneys and administrators. Each chapter is introduced by a discussion of key terms and topics the students will encounter, and the book includes materials from the full sixth edition that are most relevant to student interests and classroom instruction. It also contains a "crosswalk" that keys sections of the Student Edition to counterpart sections of the two-volume treatise. Complements the full version Includes a glossary of legal terms and an appendix on how to read legal material for students without legal training Discusses key terms in each chapter Concentrates on key topics students will need to know This is fundamental reading for law students preparing for careers in higher education law and for graduate students in higher education administration programs.
Reexamining the Federal Role in Higher Education by
2024 Society of Professors of Education Outstanding Book Award 2022 American Educational Studies Association Critics' Choice Book Award 2022 Royal Dragonfly Book Award for Politics and Education This book provides a comprehensive description of the federal government's relationship with higher education and how that relationship became so expansive and indispensable over time. Drawing from constitutional law, social science research, federal policy documents, and original interviews with key policy insiders, the author explores the U.S. government's role in regulating, financing, and otherwise influencing higher education. Natow analyzes how the government's role has evolved over time, the activities of specific governmental branches and agencies that affect higher education, the nature of the government's influence today, and prospects for the future of federal involvement in higher education. Chapters examine the politics and practices that shape policies affecting nondiscrimination and civil rights, student financial aid, educational quality and student success, campus crime, research and development, intellectual property, student privacy, and more. Book Features: Provides a contemporary and thorough understanding of how federal higher education policies are created, implemented, and influenced by federal and nonfederal policy actors. Situates higher education policy within the constitutional, political, and historical contexts of the federal government. Offers nuanced perspectives informed by insider information about what occurs behind the scenes in the federal higher education policy arena. Includes case studies illustrating the profound effects federal policy processes have on the everyday lives of college students, their families, institutions, and other higher education stakeholders.
All the Campus Lawyers by
How colleges and universities can respond to legal pressures while remaining true to their educational missions. Not so long ago, colleges and universities had little interaction with the law. In the 1970s, only a few well-heeled universities even employed in-house legal counsel. But now we live in the age of tenure-denial lawsuits, free speech battles, and campus sexual assault investigations. Even athletics rules violations have become a serious legal matter. The pressures of regulation, litigation, and legislation, Louis Guard and Joyce Jacobsen write, have fostered a new era in higher education, and institutions must know how to respond. For many higher education observers and participants, including most administrators and faculty, the maze of legal mandates and potential risks can seem bewildering. Guard, a general counsel with years of higher education law experience, and Jacobsen, a former college president, map this unfamiliar terrain. All the Campus Lawyers provides a vital, up-to-date assessment of the impact of legal concerns on higher education and helps readers make sense of the most pressing trends and issues, including civil rights; free speech and expression; student life and wellness; admissions, advancement, and community relations; governance and oversight; the higher education business model; and on-campus crises, from cyberattacks to pandemics. As well as informing about the latest legal and regulatory developments affecting higher education, Guard and Jacobsen offer practical guidance to those in positions of campus authority. There has never been a more crucial time for college and university boards, presidents, inside and outside counsel, and other higher education leaders to know the law and prepare for legal challenges.
Handbook of Comparative Higher Education Law by
The Handbook of Comparative Higher Education Law addresses legal issues from institutions of higher learning in seventeen countries on all six inhabited continents in a reader friendly manner. All chapters follow the same outline on institutional issues, faculty rights, student rights, and emerging issues so that similarities and differences can be compared. An introductory chapter provides an overview on the legal status of higher education as selected in various international covenants. In addition, a concluding chapter draws the themes addressed throughout the book together and centers on the concept of best practice management. This book serves as valuable resource for educational practitioners in higher education insofar as it provides them with an enhanced awareness of strategies that are being used to manage problems commonly faced in multiple educational settings.
A collection of links to help you with APA.
Recent, relevant, and reliable databases, books, journals, and internet tools are important to academic research.
Books: Starting with a few good books about your topic will help you. Books contain bibliographies you can use to identify key scholarship. Find books through WarriorCat.
Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles: Journal articles are the primary method of sharing new research in education. Peer-review is the process of maintaing reliability by asking specialists to review articles before they are published.
Internet Resources: Reliable online tools can be very helpful, such as specialized searches like Google Scholar. Make sure you consider whether or not you can trust resources before you use them.
Our Higher Education LibGuide will give you some more research clues.
In this class, you will be asked to write or analyze legal briefs. The links shown were curated from universities and databases and can be consulted for examples.
More examples of legal writing can be found in the free Open Textbook called "Legal Writing I and II". This includes descriptions and samples for case briefs, the IRAC process, and other legal formats.
For this course, you need to understand the IRAC organizational structure.
The Bluebook by
Case Law Citation Example:
The following databases and scholarly publications are useful for researching and understanding Higher Education Law:
The No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
Education Database gives users access to top educational publications, most in full text. Coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education as well as special education, home schooling, and adult education.
Education Resources Information Center provides full text articles to many educational journals and digests.
Education Source is a collection of full text education journals covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Nexis Uni offers authoritative legal, news, public records, and business information; including tax and regulatory publications.
Access to federal and state case law, the United States Code Annotated (USCA), the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), the Federal Register, state statutes and administrative codes, American Jurisprudence 2d (law encyclopedia), American Law Reports (ALR) 2nd-5th and federal series, and more than 900 law journals and reviews. It also includes guides to various areas of law, the text of the U.S. Constitution and state constitutions, and information for pre-law students.
A collection of links to help you with composing your writing.
A collection of links to help you with grammar.
