Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Textbooks for this Course
Research Methods in Family Therapy, Second Edition by In this widely adopted text and professional reference, leading contributors provide the knowledge needed to design strong qualitative, quantitative, and mixed-method studies; analyze the resulting data; and translate findings into improved practices and programs. Following a consistent format, user-friendly chapters thoroughly describe the various methodologies and illustrate their applications with helpful concrete examples.
Call Number: Click on the book title to connect to the e-book
Publication Date: 2005-06-01
Clinician's Guide to Research Methods in Family Therapy by A research methods text with a unique focus on evidence-based practice with couples and families, this book bridges the divide between research and clinical work. The text offers comprehensive, user-friendly coverage of measurement and design issues and basic qualitative and quantitative methods. Illustrating research concepts with clinically relevant examples and sample studies, it teaches clear steps for evaluating different types of studies and identifying common threats to validity. Of special value to therapists, it provides a systematic framework for using research to guide the selection and evaluation of interventions that meet the needs of particular clients. Pedagogical features: *End-of-chapter "Applications" sections showing how to evaluate specific methods. *Appendices with quick-reference guides and recommended resources. *Instructive glossary. See also the authors' Essential Skills in Family Therapy, Third Edition: From the First Interview to Termination, which addresses all aspects of real-world clinical practice, and Essential Assessment Skills for Couple and Family Therapists, which shows how to weave assessment into all phases of therapy.
Call Number: Click on the book title to connect to the e-book
Publication Date: 2018-03-21
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Call Number: BF 76.7 .P83 2020
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Marriage and Family Therapy Journals
Recommended Databases for Marriage and Family Therapy
The following databases are useful for researching Marriage and Family Therapy.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Education Source This link opens in a new window A collection of full text education journals. It is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals, as well as full text for more than 750 journals. This database also includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a shared digital library created in 1995 to help university and college libraries to free space on their shelves, save costs, and provide greater levels of access to more content than ever before.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window From the American Psychological Association (APA), with full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains approximately 180,000 articles from over 100 journals.
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window Offers complete information from nearly 300 psychology and related publications from the U.S., Canada, and the United Kingdom.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window A comprehensive database with more than 470 full-text titles. This database covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Covers more than 1,700 leading psychological, psychiatric, and related publications. This database combines abstracts and indexing with links to full-text and full-image journals. The database covers a wide range of topics, including psychology, psychiatry, and related information from the fields of education, business, medicine, nursing, law, and social work.
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window Professionally indexed, the PsycTESTS database is an extensive collection of items associated with psychological measures, scales, surveys, and other instruments essential to the research needs of professionals, students, and educators across the behavioral and social sciences.
Other Marriage and Family Therapy Resources
The Science of Couples and Family Therapy by Bringing an evidence base to classic writings that opened psychotherapy up to more than one person at a time--the couple. World renowned for their work on divorce prediction, here John M. and Julie Schwartz Gottman examine a couples therapy classic: Ludwig von Bertalanffy's 1968 collection General System Theory. This book transformed therapy, but until now there hasn't been a researched-based demonstration that these ideas work. Using the latest research tools, the Gottmans complete the promise of this early work.
Call Number: RC 488.5 .G684 2018
Publication Date: 2018-01-02
Diversity in Couple and Family Therapy: Ethnicities, Sexualities, and Socioeconomics by This unprecedented volume provides a primer on diverse couples and families--one of the most numerous and fastest-growing populations in the United States--illustrating the unique challenges they face to thrive in various cultural and social surroundings. In Diversity in Couple and Family Therapy: Ethnicities, Sexualities, and Socioeconomics, a clinical psychologist and couples and family therapist with nearly two decades' experience leads a team of experts in addressing contemporary elements of diversity as they relate to the American family and covering key topics that all Americans face when establishing their identities, including racial and ethnic identity, gender and sexual orientation identity, religious and spiritual identity, and identity intersections and alternatives. Moreover, it includes chapters on cross-cultural assessment of health and pathology and tailoring treatment to diversity. Every chapter includes vignettes that serve to illustrate the nuances of and solutions to the concerns and issues, as well as the strengths and resilience often inherent in diverse couples or families. Effective methods of coping with stereotypes, intergenerational trauma, discrimination, and social and structural disparities are presented, as are ways to assess and empower couples and families. This text includes experiences and traditions of subgroups that typically receive little attention from being seen as too common, such as white and Christian families, or from being seen as too uncommon, such as couples and families from specific Native American tribes and multiracial couples and families. Thus, it addresses the curricular changes needed to master the diversity found in contemporary American couples and families. The text offers a holistic perspective on diverse couples and families that is consistent with the increasing prominence of models that transcend individual diagnoses and biology to include social factors and context. Theory, policy, prevention, assessment, treatment, and research considerations are included in each chapter. Topics include African American, Asian American, Latino, Native American, white, biracial/multiracial, intercultural, LGBT, Christian, Jewish, and Muslim couples and families as well as diverse family structures. The depth of every chapter includes attention to subgroups within each category, such as African American and Caribbean couples and families, as well as those who represent the intersection between varying oppressed identities, such as an intercultural gay family, or a poor, homeless interracial couple. Additionally, each chapter provides a review section with condensed and easy-to-understand summaries of the key take-away lessons. Offers an examination of a broader-than-typical array of diverse families and the challenges they face Includes case vignettes of couples and families of varying racial/ethnic, socioeconomic, religious/spiritual, and sexual orientations, the subgroups among them, and their intersections Examines issues including social disparities, stereotyping and discrimination, identity development, and the roles of neighborhoods and communities Written to allow easy incorporation as a textbook or supplemental text Includes highlighted "Myths and Realities" with each chapter as well as a list of additional resources and cultural competence take-aways after each section
Call Number: Click on the book title to connect to the e-book
Publication Date: 2016-12-12
Researching Marriage and Family Therapy
Recent, relevant, and reliable databases, books, journals, and internet tools are important to academic research.
Books: Starting with a few good books about your topic will help you. Books contain bibliographies you can use to identify key scholarship. Find books through WarriorCat.
Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles: Journal articles are the primary method of sharing new research in education. Peer-review is the process of maintaing reliability by asking specialists to review articles before they are published.
Internet Resources: Reliable online tools can be very helpful, such as specialized searches like Google Scholar. Make sure you consider whether or not you can trust resources before you use them.
Our Psychology & Counseling LibGuide will give you some more research clues.
Library Homepage Library Databases Library Catalog
How to Search Our Website
A collection of links to help you with APA.
, Educational Leadership
, Elementary Education
, Language and Literature
, Psychology and Counseling
, Secondary Education
, Texas History
, United States History
A collection of links to help you with composing your writing.
A collection of links to help you with grammar.
Purdue OWL Grammar
More than just citing help--Purdue OWL also provides a usage guide.
A collection of short explanations and tutorials about grammar and writing style.
A resource from the University of Northern Illinois.