Making Sense of History by The following databases are useful for researching Social Studies Education:
Education Database gives users access to top educational publications, most in full text. Coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education as well as special education, home schooling, and adult education.
Education Resources Information Center provides full text articles to many educational journals and digests.
Education Source is a collection of full text education journals covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
JSTOR is a shared digital library for universities and colleges.
Serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Social Studies for Young Children by
Social studies is at the heart of content in education and takes on society's best hopes for helping children become good citizens and winners in the global economy. In its comprehensive scope, Social Studies for Young Children: Preschool and Primary Curriculum Anchor fulfills the promise of social studies as an integrator of the knowledge and experiences of young children. Filled with strategies, activities and resources, this book helps teachers develop a holistic, culturally relevant approach to social studies and social learning. It surveys the relevant state and national standards and offers essential guidance on how to integrate them into the curriculum -- while at the same time looking beyond the tests to foster young social scientists' development into critical thinkers and lifelong learners. Special features include: -Children's literature to foster social studies understanding -Digital media for teaching and learning -Emphasis on cross-disciplinary synthesis
Social Studies for the Elementary and Middle Grades by
Building on the success of previous editions, Social Studies for the Elementary and Middle Grades discusses flexible strategies for teaching today's diverse learner, the structure of the knowledge to be learned, how to help students reconstruct present ideas, and how to translate theory and recent research into lesson plans and units. Packed with activities, up-to-date technology, teaching strategies, and a constructivist approach, this text demonstrates how to use developmentally appropriate strategies to help students construct important social studies ideas and skills.
A History of Elementary Social Studies by
Elementary social studies, which seeks to instill in children the principles of democratic citizenship and the core values of social responsibility, has an important responsibility in U.S. classrooms. Yet, to achieve these goals, elementary social studies must overcome a number of challenges. Social studies lessons are marginalized in the school day, and critics complain these lessons lack disciplinary rigor and focus. In addition, scholarship in the field is under-funded and under-researched. A History of Elementary Social Studies: Romance and Reality recounts the history of elementary social studies in the United States, beginning with its mid-nineteenth century antecedents. The book reflects on the global and national issues that influenced the origins and development of elementary social studies. This history identifies the sources of many problems in contemporary social studies education. It explains why one particular approach, the expanding communities, has thrived in elementary social studies. It also highlights imaginative, rigorous alternative pedagogical approaches that may offer direction for reformers of social studies education. The volume can be used in courses in the history of education, curriculum studies and curriculum theory, and elementary social studies methods.
Recent, relevant, and reliable databases, books, journals, and internet tools are important to academic research.
Books: Starting with a few good books about your topic will help you. Books contain bibliographies you can use to identify key scholarship. Find books through WarriorCat.
Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles: Journal articles are the primary method of sharing new research in education. Peer-review is the process of maintaing reliability by asking specialists to review articles before they are published.
Internet Resources: Reliable online tools can be very helpful, such as specialized searches like Google Scholar. Make sure you consider whether or not you can trust resources before you use them.
Our Elementary Education, Secondary Education, or Children's and Young Adult Literature LibGuides will give you some more research clues.
Bard of Avon: the Story of William Shakespeare by
Celebrate 400 years of Shakespeare's legacy with this repackage of award-winning author Diane Stanley's tribute to the world-famous playwright William Shakespeare. This nonfiction picture book is an excellent choice to share during homeschooling, in particular for children ages 4 to 6. It's a fun way to learn to read and as a supplement for activity books for children. Nobody knows exactly when or why William Shakespeare left his boyhood home of Stratford-on-Avon for the great city of London, but it didn't take long for him to make a name for himself. His plays are now performed almost every day in just about every part of the world; even people who've never seen them use words and phrases he introduced into the English language. How did a man from an unremarkable family create a legacy that the world, even 400 years after his death, has never forgotten? There will always be unsolved mysteries about Shakespeare, but what we do know of his life, his times, and his theater makes for a very dramatic story.
The History of Counting by
Drawing on years of research, a renowned archaeologist traces the evolution of counting. She shows how the concept of numbers came about, how various societies answered the question "How many?," and how our modern-day decimal system was developed. Engrossing and enlightening, this fascinating book introduces children to one of our most important inventions. 00-01 Utah Book Award (Informational Books) Notable Children's Trade Books in the Field of Social Studies 2000, National Council for SS & Child. Book Council
Sybil Ludington's Midnight Ride by
On a dark, cold, and rainy night in April 1777, Sybil Ludington sets out on a journey to warn American soldiers that danger is headed their way. The British are coming! They have already attacked a nearby town, and it is up to sixteen-year-old Sybil to make sure that she reaches the American soldiers before the British do. With only a large stick to defend herself, and her horse, Star, for company, Sybil rides off into the perilous night and changes the course of the American Revolution. The true story of Sybil's bravery and perseverance are faithfully related by Marsha Amstel's appealing text and Ellen Beier's finely crafted illustrations.
Hurry Freedom by
Here for the first time in a book for young readers is the story of the African American forty-niners who went west to seek fortunes and freedom in the California Gold Rush. Among the thousands drawn west by the California Gold Rush were many African Americans. Some were free men and women in search of opportunity; others were slaves brought from the slave states of the South. Some found freedom and wealth in the gold fields and growing cities of California, but all faced the deeply entrenched prejudices of the era. To tell this story Hurry Freedom! focuses on the life of Mifflin Gibbs, who arrived in San Francisco in 1850 and established a successful boot and shoe business. But Gibbs's story is more than one of business and personal success: With other African American San Franciscans, he led a campaign to obtain equal legal and civil rights for Blacks in California.
Give Me Liberty! by
Celebrated children's historian Russell Freedman explores the tensions in colonial America that led to the creation of the Declaration of Independence and the birth of a nation. This engaging account delves into the deep-rooted conflicts between the American colonies and the British crown, presenting the Revolution not as a sudden break between distant governments but an inevitable result of building pressure, spurred on by events and guided by the distinct personalities that would become the Founding Fathers. With a strong focus on cause and effect and the actions of important individuals, Give Me Liberty! traces the tensions that built up in the 1770s, including the Stamp Act, the Boston Tea Party, and the early battles of the Revolutionary War, culminating in the signing of the Declaration in 1776, and its spread through the new American nation. Illustrated with historical paintings, prints, and document reproductions, Freedman weaves primary sources and contemporaneous accounts into his narrative, making it an immersive and eye-catching resource. Perfect for students of American history, this introduction to the American Revolution also includes a final chapter on how the ideals expressed in the Declaration of Independence have persisted and evolved through the years, inspiring later generations to seek rights for more and more Americans. Detailed backmatter includes a printed image and full text of the Declaration, a timeline of events, selected bibliography, and index.
Shutting Out the Sky by
In a stunning nonfiction debut, award-winning author Deborah Hopkinson focuses on five immigrants' stories to reveal the triumphs and hardships of early 1900s immigrant life in New York.Acclaimed author Hopkinson recounts the lives of five immigrants to New York's Lower East Side through oral histories and engaging narrative. We hear Romanian-born Marcus Ravage's disappointment when his aunt pushes him outside to peddle chocolates on the street. And about the pickle cart lady who stored her pickles in a rat-infested basement. We read Rose Cohen's terrifying account of living through the Triangle Shirtwaist fire, and of Pauline Newman's struggles to learn English. But through it all, each one of these kids keeps working, keeps hoping, to achieve their own American dream.
With Courage and Cloth by
An award-winning author chronicles the story of the women's suffrage movement in America, using compelling period photographs--including some never before published--to illustrate the vivid narrative.
Ida B. Wells by
The acclaimed civil rights leader Ida B. Wells (1862-1931) is brought vividly to life in this accessible and well-researched biography. Wells was a founder of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP), and she helped black women win the right to vote. But what she is most remembered for is the success of her lifelong crusade against the practice of lynching--called by some "our nation's crime"--in the American South. She fought her battle by writing and publishing countless newspaper articles and by speaking around the world. Her outspokenness put her in grave danger many times over, but she would not be silenced, and today she is credited with ending lynching in the United States. Her story is one of courage and determination in the face of intolerance and injustice. AFTERWORD, BIBLIOGRAPHY, INDEX.
Jefferson's Children by
From the sixth great-grandson of Thomas Jefferson and his African-American slave Sally Hemmings comes an anthology of Jefferson's living descendants. Perfect for fans of Unbroken and The Boys in the Boat. Told in the style of a family photo album--with a combination of photographs and interviews--Jefferson's Children is the riveting story of Thomas Jefferson and Sally Hemming's sixth great-grandson, Shannon Lanier's, travels across the country to meet his relatives from both sides of the family. The profiles contained chart the multiple perspectives of Jefferson's and Hemming's descendants, from those who embrace their heritage to those who want nothing to do with Jefferson's legacy. A fascinating picture soon emerges, one that begins with a pairing of two individuals with vastly disparate levels of power--on the one side, the third president of the United States and the author of the Declaration of Independence; on the other, the woman who was his property--and that ultimately represents America's complicated history with issues of diversity and race and the unusual ways in which we define family. "The portraits that emerge are as generous and jumbled as America itself." --The New York Times "A book about American history, racial identity and the bonds of family that will help young people navigate these difficult areas." --Black Issues Book Review
Children of the Dust Bowl: the True Story of the School at Weedpatch Camp by
Illus. with photographs from the Dust Bowl era. This true story took place at the emergency farm-labor camp immortalized in Steinbeck's The Grapes of Wrath. Ostracized as "dumb Okies," the children of Dust Bowl migrant laborers went without school--until Superintendent Leo Hart and 50 Okie kids built their own school in a nearby field.
We Were There, Too! by
"This may be the most exhilarating and revelatory history of our country. It is must reading for today's youth-as well as their elders." --Studs Terkel From the boys who sailed with Columbus to today's young activists, this unique book brings to life the contributions of young people throughout American history. Based on primary sources and including 160 authentic images, this handsome oversized volume highlights the fascinating stories of more than 70 young people from diverse cultures. Young readers will be hooked into history as they meet individuals their own age who were caught up in our country's most dramatic moments-Olaudah Equiano,kidnapped from his village in western Africa and forced into slavery, Anyokah, who helped her father create a written Cherokee language, Johnny Clem, the nine-year-old drummer boy who became a Civil War hero, and Jessica Govea, a teenager who risked joining Cesar Chavez's fight for a better life for farmworkers. Throughout, Philip Hoose's own lively, knowledgeable voice provides a rich historical context-making this not only a great reference-but a great read. The first U.S. history book of this scope to focus on the role young people have played in the making of our country, its compelling stories combine to tell our larger national story, one that prompts Howard Zinn, author ofA People's History of the United States, to comment, "This is an extraordinary book-wonderfully readable, inspiring to young and old alike, and unique." We Were There, Too! is a 2001 National Book Award Finalist for Young People's Literature.
Voices of Ancient Egypt by
Beautiful full-color illustrations and poems tell the stories of different occupations in ancient Egypt, from the farmer to the pyramid builder, from the goldsmith to the embalmer. Based on the latest historical research, Voices of Ancient Egypt conveys a dramatic sense of everyday life in this multicultural civilization.
Voices of the Alamo by
Through poetry and art, this picture book captures the many voices--Spanish, Tejano, Texan, Mexican, and American--of the people who lived on the land that is now Texas.
Bound for the North Star by
The stories of slaves who fled the South in search of freedom are some of the most riveting in American history. The fugitives usually left at night, with little or no food or money and only the light of the North Star to guide them. Gathered here are twelve stirring stories of escape, including those of Henry "Box" Brown, Ellen and William Craft, and Harriet Tubman, along with less well known but equally compelling accounts of Mary Prince, Eliza Harris, Margaret Garner, John Anderson, Solomon Northrup, and others. Accompanied by striking archival prints and photographs, these thought-provoking narratives vividly depict the horrors of slavery and the high value of freedom, and are a testimony to the tenacity of the human spirit. Bibliography, index.
Let It Shine by
2001 Coretta Scott King Honor Book Rosa Parks refused to give up her seat on a bus and sparked a boycott that changed America. Harriet Tubman helped more than three hundred slaves escape the South on the Underground Railroad. Shirley Chisholm became the first black woman elected to the U.S. House of Representatives. The lives these women led are part of an incredible story about courage in the face of oppression; about the challenges and triumphs of the battle for civil rights; and about speaking out for what you believe in--even when it feels like no one is listening. Andrea Davis Pinkney's moving text and Stephen Alcorn's glorious portraits celebrate the lives of ten bold women who lit the path to freedom for generations. Includes biographies of Sojournor Truth, Biddy Mason, Harriet Tubman,Ida B.Wells-Barnett, Mary McLeod Bethune, Ella Josephine Baker, Dorothy Irene Height, Rosa Parks, Fannie Lou Hamer, and Shirley Chisholm.
The Voice That Challenged a Nation by
2005 Sibert Medal Winner A 2005 Newbery Honor Book "A voice like yours," celebrated conductor Arturo Toscanini told contralto Marian Anderson, "is heard once in a hundred years." This insightful account of the great African American vocalist considers her life and musical career in the context of the history of civil rights in this country. Drawing on Anderson's own writings and other contemporary accounts, Russell Freedman shows readers a singer pursuing her art despite the social constraints that limited the careers of black performers in the 1920s and 1930s. Though not a crusader or a spokesperson by nature, Marian Anderson came to stand for all black artists -- and for all Americans of color -- when, with the help of such prominent figures as Eleanor Roosevelt, she gave her landmark 1939 performance on the steps of the Lincoln Memorial, which signaled the end of segregation in the arts. Carefully researched, expertly told, and profusely illustrated with contemporary photographs, this Newbery Honor and Sibert Medal-winning book is a moving account of the life of a talented and determined artist who left her mark on musical and social history. Through her story, Newbery Medal-winning author Russell Freedman, one of today's leading authors of nonfiction for young readers, illuminates the social and political climate of the day and an important chapter in American history. Notes, bibliography, discography, index.
Children of the Wild West by
Historical photographs show what life was like for pioneer and Indian children growing up in the American West during the late nineteenth century.
A collection of links to help you with APA.
A collection of links to help you with composing your writing.
A collection of links to help you with grammar.
