The AMA Handbook of Business Documents: Guidelines and Sample Documents that Make Business Writing Easy by
Need to put it in writing? Don't type a word without this crucial resource! Learn how to write: Abstracts -- Acceptance letter -- Acknowledgment letter -- Adjustment letter -- Announcement letter -- Annual report -- Application letter -- Brochures -- Business letter -- Business letter writing style -- Business letter format -- Business plan -- Collection letter -- Commendation letter -- Complaint letter -- Cover letters -- Directives -- Email -- Endorsement letter -- Forms -- Fund-raising letter -- Grant proposals -- Instructions -- Introductions -- Inquiry letter -- Job descriptions -- Job offer letter -- Meeting agenda -- Meeting minutes -- Corporate minutes -- Corporate resolutions -- Memorandum -- Mission statements -- Newsletters -- Newsletter articles -- Notices -- Permission letter -- Policies, rules, or guidelines -- Powerpoint presentations -- Planning a presentation -- Press releases -- Procedures -- Progress reports -- Proposals -- Questionnaires and surveys -- Reference letters -- Refusal letter -- Reports -- Memorandum report -- Letter report -- Short report -- Formal report -- Request letters -- Research report -- Resignation letter -- Resumes -- Sales letters -- Seasonal correspondence -- Specifications -- Speeches and oral presentations -- Summaries -- Termination of employment letter -- Training manual -- Trip report -- User guide -- Warning letter -- Web sites -- White papers.
10 Steps to Successful Business Writing, 2nd Edition by
In Today's Business World, You Are What You Write Good writing can launch a career. It has the power to break through clutter and capture readers' imaginations. And good writing is not just a skill that marketers must master. Most workplace communication takes written form, and with the rising number of communication channels--social media, instant messaging, blogs--we're writing more and faster than ever. With new chapters on electronic communication, 10 Steps to Successful Business Writing is your guide to capturing readers' attention and imagination. Writing instructor and coach, Jack Appleman uses examples and exercises to help you write with clarity and confidence. This updated edition covers the essentials of how to organize your text to hold your readers' attention; edit yourself for grammar, tone, and excess words; and master the documents for any workplace situation. It doesn't matter if you're drafting a business plan, an email, or a Facebook post. Forget the shorthand, drop the exclamation points, and ditch the emojis. Learn to create concise, persuasive, and powerful text with 10 Steps to Successful Business Writing.
Writing on the Job: Best Practices for Communicating in the Digital Age by
A practical and compact guide to writing for professionals Writing is an essential skill in today's workplace. From messaging platforms and social media to traditional forms of communication like memos and reports, we rely on words more than ever. Given how much reading we do on mobile devices, being able to write succinctly is critical to success. Writing on the Job is an incisive guide to clear and effective writing for professionals. Martha Coven begins with the basics, explaining how to develop a professional style, get started on a piece of writing, create a first draft, and edit it into a strong final product. She then offers practical advice on more than a dozen forms of writing, from emails and slide decks to proposals and cover letters. Along the way, Coven provides a wealth of concrete examples and simple templates that make the concepts easy to understand and apply. Based on Coven's popular writing classes and workshops at Princeton University as well as her decades of experience in the public and private sectors, Writing on the Job addresses the real challenges professionals face in today's digital age, and shares essential practices that can improve the performance of any organization.
Writing for the Workplace by
Employers consider communication one of the most critical skills for workers today. Writing for the Workplace: Business Communication for Professionals is an easy- to-follow guide that provides strategies for effective professional communication. Written to address the needs of both students entering the workforce and business professionals looking to improve their written communication, the book offers guides to compose typical workplace documents, from effective e-mails and convincing reports to winning presentations and engaging resumes. This concise book offers busy readers concrete strategies to improve their workplace writing.
Business Writing for Dummies by
Learn how to write for the results you want every time, in every medium! Do you wish you could write better? In today's business world, good writing is key to success in just about every endeavor. Writing is how you connect with colleagues, supervisors, clients, partners, employees, and people you've never met. No wonder strong writers win the jobs, promotions and contracts. Business Writing For Dummies shows you, from the ground up, how to create persuasive messages with the right content and language every time--messages your readers will understand and act on. This friendly guide equips you with a step-by-step method for planning what to say and how to say it in writing. This sytem empowers you to handle every writing challenge with confidence, from emails to proposals, reports to resumes, presentations to video scripts, blogs to social posts, websites to books. Discover down-to-earth techniques for sharpening your language and correcting your own writing problems. Learn how to adapt content, tone and style for each medium and audience. And learn to use every message you write to build better relationships and solve problems, while getting to the "yes" you want. Whether you're aiming to land your first job or are an experienced specialist in your field, Business Writing For Dummies helps you build your communication confidence and stand out. Present yourself with authority and credibility Understand and use the tools of persuasion Communicate as a remote worker, freelancer, consultant or entrepreneur Strategize your online presence to support your goals Bring out the best in people and foster team spirit as a leader Prepare to ace interviews, pitches and confrontations Good communication skills, particularly writing, are in high demand across all industries. Use this book to gain the edge you need to promote your own success, now and down the line as your career goals evolve.
The following databases are useful for researching Business Communications:
In our databases, try a search like this:
(global OR international OR world) AND business AND communication
You can always include the specific name of a country to narrow the results. (Example: add AND Japan to the search above.)
Want examples? Stop by the library, use our virtual chat, or schedule an appointment with a librarian for personalized research help.
See the links below for related videos:
Recent, relevant, and reliable databases, books, journals, and internet tools are important to academic research.
Books: Starting with a few good books about your topic will help you. Books contain bibliographies you can use to identify key scholarship. Find books through WarriorCat.
Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles: Journal articles are the primary method of sharing new research in education. Peer-review is the process of maintaing reliability by asking specialists to review articles before they are published.
Internet Resources: Reliable online tools can be very helpful, such as specialized searches like Google Scholar. Make sure you consider whether or not you can trust resources before you use them.
Our Management LibGuide will give you some more research clues.
Herritty, Jennifer. 2024. How to Write SMART Goals. Indeed.com. Retrieved from https://www.indeed.com/career-advice/career-development/how-to-write-smart-goals
A collection of links to help you with APA.
A collection of links to help you with composing your writing.
