Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Source Academic Journals and Preprints
These search engines retrieve open source academic journals.
arXiv This link opens in a new window Math and science preprints.
BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine This link opens in a new window BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 90 million documents from more than 4,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
Bentham Open Access This link opens in a new window 230 open access journals, primarily in engineering and the hard sciences, open to all.
Finding Reliable Websites
When deciding if a webpage is reliable, you should ask yourself the following questions.
||Only cite authors who have some credentials that qualify them to talk about the subject.
||Identify the type of research you need--most online forums, blogs, or presentations are not peer reviewed.
||Use research from websites that regularly maintained to insure that the information isn't outdated.
||Material should be available on academic websites--pay attention to the quality of the website. Avoid .coms and .nets.
||Know why you need the information, and also why the information was published. Avoid biased websites.
Webpages should cite their information so you know how the information was gathered.
Library Homepage Library Databases Library Search
Reliable Websites for Management
Business Reference and Services Section-RUSA BRASS
From ALA's Reference and User Services Association, selected free and fee-based resources highly relevant to information professionals providing business reference services. The guides are created and maintained by the members of the BRASS Education Committee.
Business Researcher's Interests
Knowledge Management and Business Technology Management are the primary focuses for this site. Free registration is required to participate in forums and threaded discussions.
Academic and Scholarly Organizations
Ideas Worth Teaching | The Aspen Institute
deas Worth Teaching is a tightly curated, weekly email for business school faculty to prompt new conversations in the classroom about the relationships between corporations, capital markets, and the public good. Its intent is to provide “drag and drop” functionality – allowing faculty to easily use the articles, cases and other teaching materials that we will be sharing in their class discussions. Replaces CasePlace.org
Society for Business Ethics
An international organization of scholars and others interested in business ethics, The Society provides a forum for those interested in research, teaching, or the practical application of ethical principles and concepts to the management of businesses. The Society also publishes the scholarly journal Business Ethics Quarterly and provides lists of experts and job openings.
A guide to writing business plans from the Small Business Administration.
Human Resource Management
Center for Advanced Human Resources Studies
From Cornell University, this website contains mostly free access to the institute's working paper series.
Human Resources Research: Knowledge@Wharton
Created by the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania. This site is organized at four levels: the top provides brief summaries on current news; the second level offers short articles written by professional business journalists; the third consists of academic papers; and the last links to related websites.
Institute for Research on Labor and Employment
University of California at Berkeley's interdisciplinary research institute which connects to its four different working papers series.
Human Resource Portals
Extensive list of well-organized links to internet based resources for HR professionals and students.
Human Resource Executive
This website includes articles on different HR topics, including benefits and wellness, technology, employment law, and learning opportunities.
Institute for Research on Labor and Employment (IRLE)
IRLE brings together faculty from several academic departments and supports multidisciplinary research about labor and employment relations. IRLE sponsors many faculty-run research centers; links to all of the centers may be found on the Programs page.
O*Net Occupational Information Network Resources Center
The nation's primary source of occupational information. Use this site to download the O*NET database, career exploration tools, job analysis questionnaires, employer guides, and technical reports.
U. S. Government Resources
Small Business Administration
The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) was created in 1953 as an independent agency of the federal government to aid, counsel, assist and protect the interests of small business concerns, to preserve free competitive enterprise and to maintain and strengthen the overall economy of our nation.
U. S. Equal Opportunity Commission
The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) is responsible for enforcing federal laws that make it illegal to discriminate against a job applicant or an employee because of the person's race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy), national origin, age (40 or older), disability or genetic information. It is also illegal to discriminate against a person because the person complained about discrimination, filed a charge of discrimination, or participated in an employment discrimination investigation or lawsuit.
Employment and Benefits Law
Links to many resources on such topics as employment law, labor-management relations, labor standards, employee rights and responsibilities.
Employment Law Information Network
Provides a wealth of information on employment law including policies and forms, articles on national and state laws, access to court cases, and federal laws and regulations.
FindLaw Employment Rights Center
Information on the legal rights of workers in all phases of employment, from hiring to termination, and other common employment law issues.
Business Ethics and Corporate Social Responsibility
Ethics Resource Center (ERC)
A nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to independent research that advances high ethical standards and practices in public and private institutions. ERC is the home of the biennial National Business Ethics Survey, the most exacting longitudinal research effort examining organizational ethics from the employee perspective.
Business for Social Responsibility (BSR)
BSR is an international organiztion which works with the global network of more than 250 member companies to develop sustainable business strategies and solutions through consulting, research, and cross-sector collaboration.
International Business Ethics Institute (IBEI)
The Institute promotes business ethics an corporate responsibility through educational resources and activities such as Roundtable Discussion Series and the International Business Ethics Review.
, Educational Leadership
, Elementary Education
, Language and Literature
, Psychology and Counseling
, Secondary Education
, Texas History
, United States History