Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Source Academic Journals and Preprints
These search engines retrieve open source academic journals.
arXiv This link opens in a new window Math and science preprints.
BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine This link opens in a new window BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 90 million documents from more than 4,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
Bentham Open Access This link opens in a new window 230 open access journals, primarily in engineering and the hard sciences, open to all.
Finding Reliable Websites
When deciding if a webpage is reliable, you should ask yourself the following questions.
||Only cite authors who have some credentials that qualify them to talk about the subject.
||Identify the type of research you need--most online forums, blogs, or presentations are not peer reviewed.
||Use research from websites that regularly maintained to insure that the information isn't outdated.
||Material should be available on academic websites--pay attention to the quality of the website. Avoid .coms and .nets.
||Know why you need the information, and also why the information was published. Avoid biased websites.
Webpages should cite their information so you know how the information was gathered.
Library Homepage Library Databases Library Search
Reliable Websites for History
American Memory--Library of Congress
The Library of Congress has compiled digital online collections in multiple topics from its vast holdings. This site links directly to online collections on African Americans, the Civil War, environmentalism, baseball, presidential politics, New Deal programs, national lawmaking, women's suffrage, and more.
Avalon Project Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
This site offers a comprehensive collection of 17th-20th century full-text resources on law, politics, and foreign relations of the western world. A limited number of nonwestern documents are included, as well.
Best of History Websites
Best of History Web Sites, created by EdTechTeacher, is an award-winning portal that contains annotated links to over 1200 history web sites and activities.
Freedmen's Bureau Online
This genealogical site offers numerous records, such as indentures, labor contracts, marriage records, and reports of outrages and arrests, (organized by state) from the Freedmen's Bureau papers.
Internet Women's History Sourcebook
This formidable site includes documents pertaining to women's history in a global context developed by Fordham University.
NARA National Archives and Records Adminstration
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever.
Salem Witch Trials Documentary Archive
The Salem Witch Trials Documentary Archive and Transcription Project consists of an electronic collection of primary source materials relating to the Salem witch trials of 1692 and a new transcription of the court records. This project was created under the supervision of Professor Benjamin C. Ray at the University of Virginia.
This site contains historical documents and literary texts by African-American authors. The materials offered here will complement any American history course. The site, maintained by Keele University, serves as an essential resource for courses on African-American history or African-American studies