Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Schedule Your One on One Appointment HERE!
Textbooks for this Course
American Social Welfare Policy by
Call Number: HV 95 .K354 2018 Print
Publication Date: 2018-07-24
For courses in Social Welfare Policy. American Social Welfare Policy, 8th Edition cultivates an understanding of both national and international social welfare policy. Using a policy analysis framework, the authors give students the background needed to grasp the social, political, and economic forces that shape social welfare policy, analyse the major programs that make up the U.S. welfare state, and discuss basic social welfare concepts. Updated throughout, the Eighth Edition examines the dramatic domestic and international events occurring since the previous edition that have impacted social welfare policy worldwide.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
Call Number: BF 76.7 P83 2019 Print
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style.
Browse Laws by Subject
Electronic Code of Federal Regulations The Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (e-CFR) is a web version of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) that we update daily to better reflect its current status. The e-CFR is an editorial compilation of CFR material and amendments published in the daily Federal Register.
Social Welfare Policy Journals
A collection of links to help you with APA.
Researching Social Welfare Policy
Recent, relevant, and reliable databases, books, journals, and internet tools are important to academic research.
Books: Starting with a few good books about your topic will help you enter into the conversation. Books also contain bibliographies you can use to identify key scholarship. Find books through WarriorCat.
Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles: Journal articles from law reviews and other sources will be very useful. Legal articles can be found in Lexis-Nexis Academic or Westlaw, and articles about the history of the policies are often in JSTOR. SocIndex will have articles about the social context of your policies.
Internet Resources: Reliable online tools can be very helpful, such as website from the federal government for policies enforced federally. Make sure you consider whether or not you can trust resources before you use them.
Our Social Work LibGuide will give you some more research clues.
Library Homepage Library Databases Library Catalog
Recommended Databases for Social Work
The following databases are useful for researching social work:
Congress.gov Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.
Congressional Publications ProQuest Congressional is the only site anywhere that offers a comprehensive collection of congressional documents from 1789 to the present. This primary source collection offers students an unparalleled opportunity to understand the present by comparing todays events and opinions with trends and patterns throughout our nations history. A key resource contained within the database are earlier federal legislative histories.
Healthcare Administration Database This database is a collection of reliable and relevant resources in the field of health administration, including journals and dissertations. Includes subject coverage: Health administration, Health professions, Hospitals, Insurance, Law, Statistics, Business, Management, Personnel, Ethics, Economics, Public health
JSTOR JSTOR is a shared digital library created in 1995 to help university and college libraries to free space on their shelves, save costs, and provide greater levels of access to more content than ever before.
Please see Nexis Uni.
Nexis Uni Authoritative legal, news, public records and business information; including tax and regulatory publications. You can quickly and easily retrieve documents that meet your specific reference or research needs.
ProQuest Central Serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
PsycARTICLES From the American Psychological Association (APA), with full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains approximately 180,000 articles from over 100 journals.
PsycINFO Covers more than 1,700 leading psychological, psychiatric, and related publications. This database combines abstracts and indexing with links to full-text and full-image journals. The database covers a wide range of topics, including psychology, psychiatry, and related information from the fields of education, business, medicine, nursing, law, and social work.
Social Science Database This database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.
SocINDEX with Full Text Full text for 242 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 547 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers. Covers all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.
Texas Legislature Online Search the official website of the Texas Legislature and get the latest information from the House and Senate of the state.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994 Search or browse the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes. It includes all the Reports, Documents and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, and constitutes a rich collection of primary source material on all aspects of American history.
U.S. Congressional Serials Set, Maps With more than 74,000 maps, this database provides a foundational resource for American history, society and politics. Features include: search and browse capabilities designed for maps; ability to search specifically by dates related to the maps rather than the dates assigned to Serial Set publications; indexing of subject and geographic locations specific to the maps; citation records providing map title, Serial Set publication, map date, issuing body, cartographer or author, coordinates, scale, content notes and geographic location and subject indexing; linking of related maps within a publication or multi-page maps to enable easy navigation; a process based on physical review of original publications to ensure that a high-resolution image and citation record is created for every map; citation records that can be emailed with a click; provision of suggested related search terms based on the acclaimed Readex Congressional Thesaurus.
USA.gov Search the U.S. Government Printing Office. Contains full-text of the Congressional Record, Congressional Bills, Public Laws, Federal Register, GAO Reports, and the United States Code.
Westlaw Access to federal and state case law, the United States Code Annotated (USCA), the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), the Federal Register, state statutes and administrative codes, American Jurisprudence 2d (law encyclopedia), American Law Reports (ALR) 2nd-5th and federal series, and more than 900 law journals and reviews. It also includes guides to various areas of law, the text of the U.S. Constitution and state constitutions, and information for pre-law students.
Books for Social Welfare Policy
Director of the University Library
A collection of links to help you with composing your writing.
A collection of links to help you with grammar.
Purdue OWL Grammar
More than just citing help--Purdue OWL also provides a usage guide.
A collection of short explanations and tutorials about grammar and writing style.
A resource from the University of Northern Illinois.