Research Guides: ACCT 5303 Accounting for Management: Home

Textbooks for this Course

Cornerstones of Managerial Accounting
Call Number: HF 5657.4 M69 2014 Print
ISBN: 9781133943983
Publication Date: 2013-01-01

Accounting Journals

APA Resources

A collection of links to help you with APA.

Purdue OWL APA Style Guide
Purdue OWL guide to APA style.
KnightCite
A citation maker where you enter the information.
APA Style Blog
A blog where questions about APA style are answered definitely by experts.
APA Style - Citing Legal Materials
APA help for citing legal documents and other types of government reports.
Purdue OWL YouTube Tutorials
A website with video tutorials for citing, formating, and writing.
Purdue OWL Citation Style Comparison Chart
A chart that outlines the similarities and differences between APA, MLA, and CML.
CSS Citation Help for APA, 7th Edition
Help with common issues and questions with APA 7th ed. citation style, created by The College of St. Scholastica.

Researching Accounting for Management

Recent, relevant, and reliable databases, books, journals, and internet tools are important to academic research.

Books: Starting with a few good books about your topic will help you enter into the conversation. Books also contain bibliographies you can use to identify key scholarship. Find books through WarriorCat.

Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles: Journal articles are the primary method of diseminating new research in accounting. Peer-review is the process of maintaing reliability by asking specialists to review articles before they are published.

Accounting Standards: Checkpoint includes access to accounting guidelines and legal interpretation.

Our Accounting LibGuide will give you some more research clues.

Library Homepage Library Databases Library Search

American Accounting Journals held at A&M-Central Texas

Journal Title	Found in this Database
Accounting Horizons	Business Source Complete
Accounting Review	Business Source Complete
Auditing: A Journal of Practice & Theory	Business Source Complete
Behavioral Research in Accounting	Business Source Complete
Journal of Accountancy	Business Source Complete
Journal of Accounting, Auditing & Finance	Business Source Complete
Journal of the American Taxation Association	Business Source Complete
Journal of Management Accounting Research	Business Source Complete
National Tax Journal	Business Source Complete
Tax Adviser	Business Source Complete
Tax Law Review	Accounting & Tax Database

Additionally, students can use the public version of Ulrich’s to determine the nationality of other journals. http://ulrichsweb.serialssolutions.com/ Students can search a specific title or they can choose a particular subject (such as management) and limit by country of publication to find a list of journals.

ABI/INFORM also lists publication city.

Recommended Databases for Accounting

The following databases are useful for researching accounting:

ABI/INFORM Collection
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Accounting, Tax, and Banking Collection
ProQuest Accounting & Tax brings together highly ranked global and scholarly journals with key resources for locating quick and precise results covering current news and topics, as well as the trends and history influencing important accounting and tax issues of the day.
Asian and European Business Collection
ProQuest Asian Business and Reference offers detailed information on companies, economies, markets, and overall business conditions throughout the Eastern Hemisphere. A great deal of information on international trade is available as well.
Business Source Complete
Scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. Indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. Business Source Complete a superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. The Business Searching Interface (BSI) provides an easy way to both browse and search for country economic data, company profiles.
Checkpoint - Tax and Accounting
Checkpoint blends cutting-edge technology, editorial insight, time-saving productivity tools, online learning and news updates with intelligent linking to related content and software. Thousands of tax and accounting professionals rely on Checkpoint every day to understand complex information, make informed decisions and use knowledge more efficiently.
Hoover's Company Profiles Hoover's Company Profiles - covering 40,000 global public and non-public companies including financials, competitors, officers.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a shared digital library created in 1995 to help university and college libraries to free space on their shelves, save costs, and provide greater levels of access to more content than ever before.
LexisNexis Academic
Please see Nexis Uni.
Mergent Online
Offers electronic access to Mergent's (formerly Moody's Manuals) These include Mergent Banking and Finance Manual, Mergent International Manual, Mergent Public Utilities Manual, Mergent Transportation Manual, Mergent OTC Manual and all the News Reports that go with each of these products. Information includes corporate history, Business Properties and subsidiaries, Officers and directors, Long-term debt, Income statement, Balance sheets, and more.
Nexis Uni Authoritative legal, news, public records and business information; including tax and regulatory publications. You can quickly and easily retrieve documents that meet your specific reference or research needs.
OxResearch
Provides succinct analytical articles covering world and regional economic and political developments of major significance. It evaluates issues and events within a coherent political, social and economic framework. Additionally, it contains objective, multi-disciplinary articles compiled by an extensive international network of over 1,000 faculty members at Oxford and other leading universities around the world, as well as think-tanks and institutes of international standing.
ProQuest Central
Serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Sage Journals
Search interface to locate over 40 years worth the Sage Publishing titles. Browse SAGE Articles by Topic or Browse SAGE Journals by Title. SAGE publishes more than 560 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
ScienceDirect
Full-text or abstracts coverage of more than 1,000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Includes a wide spectrum of disciplines including Chemistry, Materials science, Engineering & technology, Environmental science, Economics, Business & management, Neuroscience, Pharmacology & toxicology, Physics, Mathematics & computer science, Earth sciences, Social sciences, Biochemistry, Microbiology & immunology, Biological sciences, and Clinical medicine.
SpringerLINK
Provides online, full-text access to Springer's journal and e-book titles, as well as titles from other publishers. Subjects include: life sciences, chemical sciences, environmental sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering and economics.
Wall Street Journal: Present
The Wall Street Journal (1984-present) is an American English-language international daily newspaper with a special emphasis on business and economic news.
Wiley Online Library
Dynamic online content service from John Wiley & Sons, Inc., delivering the full-text of over 300 leading scientific, technical, medical, and professional journals, plus major reference works and the full-text of select Wiley print books online.

Books for Accounting for Management

Fundamentals of Cost Accounting by William Lanen; Shannon Anderson; Michael Maher
Call Number: HF 5686 C8 M224 2014 Print
ISBN: 9780078025525
Publication Date: 2013-03-15
International Trends in Financial Reporting under IFRS by Abbas Ali Mirza
Call Number: eBrary eBook
ISBN: 0470178442
Publication Date: 2012-10-23
Financial Accounting by J. David Spiceland; Wayne Thomas; Don Herrmann
Call Number: OVS HF 5636 S772 2013 Print
ISBN: 9780077862268
Publication Date: 2012-01-06
Management Accounting for Decision Makers by Peter Atrill; Eddie McLaney
Call Number: HF 5657.4 A873 2012 Print
ISBN: 9780273762249
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Business Accounting by Jill Collis; Andrew Holt; Roger Hussey
Call Number: HF 5605 C655 2012 Print
ISBN: 9780230276239
Publication Date: 2012-08-07

Dean of the University Library

Bridgit McCafferty

Email Me

Contact:

Warrior Hall, Library Administrative Offices, 205A

bmccaffe@tamuct.edu

Phone: 254-519-5484

Subjects: Ebooks, Film Studies, Language and Literature

Live Research Help

Composition

A collection of links to help you with composing your writing.

Purdue OWL Writing
Writing help from OWL at Purdue.
Elements of Style by Strunk and White
The original version of this classic writing guide.
Texas A&M University Writing Lab in College Station
The writing lab at TAMU in College Station.
Central Texas University Writing Center
For writers of all ability levels and all stages of the writing process! Thanks for choosing the University Writing Center (UWC) for help with your overall writing process and various writing assignments/tasks!

Grammar

A collection of links to help you with grammar.

Purdue OWL Grammar
More than just citing help--Purdue OWL also provides a usage guide.
Grammar Girl
A collection of short explanations and tutorials about grammar and writing style.
Dr. Grammar
A resource from the University of Northern Illinois.