Research Guides: Library Tutorials for Students and Faculty: Best Practices for Searching Everything (WarriorQuest)

New Databases!

The Library & Archives has added some new databases this year - be sure to give them a try!

Austin American-Statesman: Historical (1871-1980)
AS THE LEADING newspaper in the capital of Texas, the historical Austin American Statesman provides researchers with unique insights into the political, economic, cultural, and social life of this important state, as well as the southwest U.S. from the late 19th through the 20th century. The paper has strong central Texas coverage, especially for political reporting.
El Paso Times (1881-2009) and El Paso Herald Post (1896-1996)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Also includes subscription content from 2010-present
Life Magazine Archive, 1936-2000
Life Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the famed photojournalism magazine, spanning its very first issue in November 1936 through December 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format.
National Geographic Magazine Archives, 1888-2020
National Geographic Magazine is the official journal of the National Geographic Society (NGS). As one of the world’s largest nonprofit educational and scientific organizations, NGS is renowned for producing superior photojournalism and cartography. Its iconic, award-winning magazine provides unparalleled in-depth coverage of global cultures, nature, science, technology, and the environment.
Newsweek Magazine Archives, 1933-2012
An archive of Newsweek magazine, one of the premier US weeklies of the 20th -21st centuries. With coverage from 1933 through 2012, it comprises 80 years of news reporting and commentary, charting the key US and global events during this period. Its diverse content beyond news and politics (in areas including business, science/technology, arts, travel, and family life) is such that there is valuable material for researchers in many fields, from history and political science through to economics, women's studies, and media history.
Time Magazine Archive, 1923-2000
The Time Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the prominent weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format.