Research Guides: BUSI 4334 Employment Law: Home

Textbooks for this Course

Employment and Labor Law by Patrick J. Cihon; James Ottavio Castagnera
Call Number: KF 3319 .C54 2017
ISBN: 1133586600
A comprehensive introduction to employment and labor relations law, EMPLOYMENT AND LABOR LAW is ideal for non-legal students and professionals. Excerpts from real case law throughout the book illustrate how employment-related disputes arise and get resolved in the courts. And, eye-opening chapter features like The Working Law and Ethical Dilemma demonstrate how emplyment legislation and ethical decision-making can impact companies today. Complete with the most up-to-date information on Title VII, ERISA Amendments under the Obama Administration's 2009 economic stimulus plan, the Lilly Ledbetter Fair Pay Act, and much more, no other book combines such balanced coverage with an accessible, reader-friendly approach.

Browse Laws by Subject

Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (ECFR) The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the official legal print publication containing the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. The Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (eCFR) is a continuously updated online version of the CFR. It is not an official legal edition of the CFR.
FindLaw

Popular Names of Acts in the US Code
A free version of the U.S. Code's Table of Popular Names from Cornell's Legal Information Institute Web site.
Topical Index: State Statutes
Website from Cornell University Legal Information Institute, dedicated to ensuring state statutes are open on the internet.

APA Resources

A collection of links to help you with APA.

Purdue OWL APA Style Guide
Purdue OWL guide to APA style.
APA Style Blog
A blog where questions about APA style are answered definitely by experts.
Purdue OWL YouTube Tutorials
A website with video tutorials for citing, formating, and writing.
Purdue OWL Citation Style Comparison Chart
A chart that outlines the similarities and differences between APA, MLA, and CML.

Welcome to Employment Law Research!

This subject guide contains information about researching Employment Law by using databases, books, journals, and the internet.

If you would like immediate research help, please proceed to our webchat or call the library's main desk (254-519-5798).

Library Homepage Library Databases Library Search

Recommended Databases for Employment Law

Search in library databases to find scholarly journal articles. These are often subject specific.

Keywords: The right search term is important. Think about the words an expert might use to describe the concepts you are looking for.

Peer Reviewed: Look for search options that let you limit your search to articles that have been reviewed by experts.

Recent: Try to choose articles written in the last ten years to insure that your aren't retrieving outdated research.

Off Campus? Some of these resources are password protected, to ensure that only TAMUCT students, faculty, and staff can access them, in compliance with license agreements. Access to the databases is authenticated through your single sign on--the same way you log into email, Canvas, Warrior Web, etc. You will use your full email and password when prompted. Faculty and staff use the same username and password as your email, not including "@tamuct.edu"

For more information about each database, click on the "i" icon next to each one.

ABI/INFORM Collection
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Asian and European Business Collection
ProQuest Asian Business and Reference offers detailed information on companies, economies, markets, and overall business conditions throughout the Eastern Hemisphere. A great deal of information on international trade is available as well.
Business Source Complete
Scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. Indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. Business Source Complete a superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. The Business Searching Interface (BSI) provides an easy way to both browse and search for country economic data, company profiles.
Hoover's Company Profiles This database contains proprietary information about more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. Hoover's, widely recognized as a leader in company data, delivers in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers and more.
LexisNexis Academic
Please see Nexis Uni.
Mergent Online
Offers electronic access to Mergent's (formerly Moody's Manuals) These include Mergent Banking and Finance Manual, Mergent International Manual, Mergent Public Utilities Manual, Mergent Transportation Manual, Mergent OTC Manual and all the News Reports that go with each of these products. Information includes corporate history, Business Properties and subsidiaries, Officers and directors, Long-term debt, Income statement, Balance sheets, and more.
Nexis Uni Authoritative legal, news, public records and business information; including tax and regulatory publications. You can quickly and easily retrieve documents that meet your specific reference or research needs.
ProQuest Central
Serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Sage Journals Search interface to locate over 40 years worth the Sage Publishing titles. Browse SAGE Articles by Topic or Browse SAGE Journals by Title. SAGE publishes more than 560 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
Snapshots This database offers top-line international market research overviews focusing on 40+ industries in more than 40 countries worldwide, including regional summaries. It provides market size, share, forecasts and segments.
SpringerLINK Provides online, full-text access to Springer's journal and e-book titles, as well as titles from other publishers. Subjects include: life sciences, chemical sciences, environmental sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering and economics.
US Newsstream This database's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue of each newspaper is indexed thoroughly, so researchers have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the papers. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.
Wall Street Journal: Present
The Wall Street Journal (1984-present) is an American English-language international daily newspaper with a special emphasis on business and economic news.
Westlaw Access to federal and state case law, the United States Code Annotated (USCA), the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), the Federal Register, state statutes and administrative codes, American Jurisprudence 2d (law encyclopedia), American Law Reports (ALR) 2nd-5th and federal series, and more than 900 law journals and reviews. It also includes guides to various areas of law, the text of the U.S. Constitution and state constitutions, and information for pre-law students.
Wiley Online Library Dynamic online content service from John Wiley & Sons, Inc., delivering the full-text of over 300 leading scientific, technical, medical, and professional journals, plus major reference works and the full-text of select Wiley print books online.

Journals

Use Full Text Finder to find a journal in our library databases:

Go the the library homepage.
Click on Journals.
Type in the name of the journal (not the title of the article).
Click "search" or hit "enter."
In the result list, click on "Full Text Access."
Click on the link with the best date ranges for your needs.
If the journal is not available in full text, request it through interlibrary loan.

To check if a journal is peer reviewed, use Ulrich's or the submission guidelines on the journal's webpage.

Employment & Labor Relations Law Provides a resource for litigators whose practice involves employment and traditional labor litigation, including litigation in the courts, administrative agencies and arbitrations.
Harvard Business Review Harvard Business Review aims to provide professionals around the world with rigorous insights and best practices to help lead themselves and their organizations more effectively and to make a positive impact.
Harvard Law Review. Journal of legal scholarship publishes articles by professors, judges, and practitioners and solicits reviews of important recent books from recognized experts..
HR Specialist: Employment Law. Newsletter from Business Management Daily

Internet Resources for Employment Law and Business

American Bar Association-Labor and Employment Law Discussions of current developments in labor and employment law to meet the practical needs of attorneys, judges, administrators, and the public.
Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Data and analysis on employment, unemployment, spending, time use, productivity, benefits, pay and workplace injuries.
FindLaw Employment Rights Center Information on the legal rights of workers in all phases of employment, from hiring to termination, and other common employment law issues -- including job benefits, fair pay, Family and Medical Leave rights, workplace safety, and protection from on-the-job discrimination and harassment.
IMF eLibrary Statistics International Monetary Fund
Texas Legislature Online
United States Department of Labor To foster, promote, and develop the welfare of the wage earners, job seekers, and retirees of the United States; improve working conditions; advance opportunities for profitable employment; and assure work-related benefits and rights.

Reference Librarian

Margaret Dawson

Email Me

Contact:

Co-Head of Public Services and Outreach
Library Administrative Offices, Warrior Hall 205J

254-519-5740

Subjects: Accounting, Anthropology, Auditing, Banking, Biology, Business and Economics, Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, Communications/Journalism, Criminal Justice, Film Studies, Finance, Foreign Language Studies, Language and Literature, Linguistics, Sociology, Taxation

Live Research Help

Composition

A collection of links to help you with composing your writing.

Purdue OWL Writing
Writing help from OWL at Purdue.
Elements of Style by Strunk and White
The original version of this classic writing guide.
Texas A&M University Writing Lab in College Station
The writing lab at TAMU in College Station.
Central Texas University Writing Center
For writers of all ability levels and all stages of the writing process! Thanks for choosing the University Writing Center (UWC) for help with your overall writing process and various writing assignments/tasks!

Grammar

A collection of links to help you with grammar.

Purdue OWL Grammar
More than just citing help--Purdue OWL also provides a usage guide.
Grammar Girl
A collection of short explanations and tutorials about grammar and writing style.
Dr. Grammar
A resource from the University of Northern Illinois.