Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Textbooks for this Course
Introduction to Scholarship in Modern Languages and Literatures by
Call Number: Reserves Textbooks - Circulation Desk PB 29 .I58 2007
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
The third edition of the MLA's widely used Introduction to Scholarship in Modern Languages and Literatures features sixteen completely new essays by leading scholars. Designed to highlight relations among languages and forms of discourse, the volume is organized into three sections. "Understanding Language" provides a broad overview of the field of linguistics, with special attention to language acquisition and the social life of languages. "Forming Texts" offers tools for understanding how speakers and writers shape language; it examines scholarship in the distinct but interrelated fields of rhetoric, composition, and poetics. "Reading Literature and Culture" continues the work of the first two sections by introducing major areas of critical study. The nine essays in this section cover textual and historical scholarship; interpretation; comparative, cultural, and translation studies; and the interdisciplinary topics of gender, sexuality, race, and migrations (among others).
MLA Handbook by
Call Number: LB 2369 .M52 2021
Publication Date: 2021-04-06
Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements--facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date--that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more.
A collection of links to help you with MLA.
MLA Games and Tests
A collection of games and tests online to help you assess your knowledge of citing and plagiarism.
Methods of Bibliographic and Research Analysis
This guide will help you find resources to research in a variety of English and humanities disiplines.
Search in library databases to find scholarly journal articles on your research topic.
Keywords: The right search term is important. Think about the words an expert might use to describe the concepts you are looking for.
Peer Reviewed: Look for search options that let you limit your search to articles that have been reviewed by experts.
Recent: Try to choose articles written in the last ten years to insure that your aren't retrieving outdated research.
Hover over the "i" icon to find out more about each database.
Use the Google Scholar link on the left-hand of this page to see how many times an article has been cited. Google Scholar indexes both traditional library databases as well as Open Access scholarly content.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window Videos across many subject areas, to include plays, psychology experiments, historical news reels, silent films, musical performances, conference presentations, and documentaries.
Archival Films & Newsreels Collection - FMG This link opens in a new window This collection is a treasure trove of archival and historical films from multiple sources, including The Prelinger Archives – a collection of films relating to U.S. cultural and social history and the evolution of everyday life in America; The WPA Film Library – more than 2,800 clips and newsreels from the late 1800s onward; The United Newsreel collection – the series of newsreels produced by the U.S. Office of War Information during World War II; The Universal Newsreel collection – a series of seven- to 10-minute newsreels produced by Universal Studios that were released twice per week between 1929 and 1967; Recordings from the National Archives and Records Administration of historic speeches and events.
Asian Film Online This link opens in a new window Asian Film Online is a comprehensive repository of documentaries, feature films and shorts that provides a first-hand perspective into contemporary Asian issues through the voices of Asian filmmakers and content producers. These hard-to-find films are brought together for the first time in a streaming online platform.
Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window Web access to the Dissertation Abstracts database, the single, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The full-text of over 100,000 dissertations published from 1997 forward, as well as, citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward with 350-word abstracts written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.
Filmakers Library Online This link opens in a new window Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window Humanities Full Text™ includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
Topics covered include classical studies, literary & social criticism, philosophy, religion & theology, literature, art, dance, film, folklore, music, performing arts, area studies, communications, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, archaeology, and much more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a shared digital library created in 1995 to help university and college libraries to free space on their shelves, save costs, and provide greater levels of access to more content than ever before.
Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window A comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. It has been specifically designed for public libraries, secondary schools, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research.
MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 3,500 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Coverage is international. The MLA Directory of Periodicals contains all information available on the journals and series on the bibliography's Master List of Periodicals.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 3,500 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Coverage is international. The MLA Directory of Periodicals contains all information available on the journals and series on the bibliography's Master List of Periodicals.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window Search interface to locate over 40 years worth the Sage Publishing titles. Browse SAGE Articles by Topic or Browse SAGE Journals by Title. SAGE publishes more than 560 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window SAGE Research Methods is the essential online resource for anyone doing research or learning how to do research. With more than 800 books, reference works, journal articles, and videos from SAGEs world-renowned research methods list, SAGE Research Methods provides information on writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting and analyzing data, and writing up the findings. SAGE Research Methods coverage spans the full range of research methods used in the social and behavioral sciences, plus a wide range of methods commonly used in science, technology, medicine, and the humanities.
Silent Film Online This link opens in a new window Silent Film Online brings together films which represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. Carefully curated with ASPs Video Advisory Board, the database covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s.
SpringerLINK This link opens in a new window Provides online, full-text access to Springer's journal and e-book titles, as well as titles from other publishers. Subjects include: life sciences, chemical sciences, environmental sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering and economics.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window The specialist publications of Taylor & Francis, Routledge, Psychology Press and Informa Healthcare are now available in one dedicated journals database.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Dynamic online content service from John Wiley & Sons, Inc., delivering the full-text of over 300 leading scientific, technical, medical, and professional journals, plus major reference works and the full-text of select Wiley print books online.
Use Full Text Finder to find a journal in our library databases:
- Go the the library homepage.
- Click on Journal Title Search under "Library Information".
- Type in the name of the journal (not the title of the article).
- Click "search" or hit "enter."
- In the result list, click on "Full Text Access."
- Click on the link with the best date ranges for your needs.
- If the journal is not available in full text, request it through interlibrary loan.
To check if a journal is peer reviewed, use the submission guidelines on the journal's webpage.
Or click on the journal titles:
Reliable Websites for Literature
Eighteenth-Century Scholarship Online, this is a free collection of peer-reviewed digital-objects from across the internet.
A free online archive of video, audio, text, and web documents. Includes the Wayback Machine, an archive of websites over time.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Digitized materials from collections at the Library of Congress.
Making of America
Primary sources from American social history.
Nineteenth-Century Scholarship Online, this is a free collection of peer-reviewed digital-objects from across the internet.
, Business and Economics
, Chemistry and Chemical Engineering
, Criminal Justice
, Film Studies
, Foreign Language Studies
, Language and Literature
A collection of links to help you with composing your writing.
A collection of links to help you with grammar.
Purdue OWL Grammar
More than just citing help--Purdue OWL also provides a usage guide.
A collection of short explanations and tutorials about grammar and writing style.
A resource from the University of Northern Illinois.
Open Source Academic Journals and Preprints
These search engines retrieve open source academic journals.
arXiv This link opens in a new window Math and science preprints.
BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine This link opens in a new window BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 90 million documents from more than 4,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
Bentham Open Access This link opens in a new window 230 open access journals, primarily in engineering and the hard sciences, open to all.