Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Articles in Online Databases
Search in library databases to find scholarly journal articles. These are often subject specific.
Keywords: The right search term is important. Think about the words an expert might use to describe the concepts for which you are looking.
Peer Reviewed: Look for search options that let you limit your search to articles that have been reviewed by experts.
Recent: Try to choose articles written in the last ten years to ensure that you aren't retrieving outdated research.
Off Campus? Students login with MyCT (everything before @my.tamuct.edu). Faculty and staff use the same username and password as your email, not including "@tamuct.edu."
Library Homepage Library Databases Library Search
Recommended Databases for Exercise Physiology and Human Performance
Academic Search Complete Indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Academic Video Online Videos across many subject areas, to include plays, psychology experiments, historical news reels, silent films, musical performances, conference presentations, and documentaries.
Health and Medical Collection This database offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
Healthcare Administration Database This database is a collection of reliable and relevant resources in the field of health administration, including journals and dissertations. Includes subject coverage: Health administration, Health professions, Hospitals, Insurance, Law, Statistics, Business, Management, Personnel, Ethics, Economics, Public health
Health and Medicine Created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals, Health Reference Center Academic is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. With more than 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, Health Reference Center Academic ensures that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions.
Health Source: Consumer Edition Use the consumer health database to find a remedy for sunburn, discover healthy nutritional guidelines, or search for the latest treatments for cancer. Health topics include the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides over 520 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 560 journals.
JSTOR JSTOR is a shared digital library created in 1995 to help university and college libraries to free space on their shelves, save costs, and provide greater levels of access to more content than ever before.
MEDLINE Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses (MeSH) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from over 4,000 current biomedical journals.
Natural & Alternative Treatments Contains detailed information on more than 180 different conditions and the conventional and natural treatments used to treat them, over 200 herbs and supplements, plus drug-herb and drug-supplement interactions for more than 75 drug categories.
Nursing and Allied Health Database This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
PubMed.gov The National Library of Medicine's preferred web-based search engine to access the 9 million citations in MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating online journals), and other related databases. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Science and Technology Collection Over 800 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science.
ScienceDirect Full-text or abstracts coverage of more than 1,000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Includes a wide spectrum of disciplines including Chemistry, Materials science, Engineering & technology, Environmental science, Economics, Business & management, Neuroscience, Pharmacology & toxicology, Physics, Mathematics & computer science, Earth sciences, Social sciences, Biochemistry, Microbiology & immunology, Biological sciences, and Clinical medicine.
Science Database With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1,145 titleswith more than 965 available in full text. In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and technical literature.
These journals cover hundreds of topics relating to all major fields of study, including:
Web of Science Access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. Indexes included are: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Alt HealthWatch Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries a resource of full-text articles from more than 170 international, and often peer-reviewed, reports, proceedings, association and consumer newsletters. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
CINAHL Complete A broad based and in depth research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. With CINAHL Complete, users get fast and easy full-text access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and more. Indexing for over 5,400 journals of which 1,400 or more full text. Content runs from 1937 to present.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Use the consumer health database to find a remedy for sunburn, discover healthy nutritional guidelines, or search for the latest treatments for cancer. Health topics include the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides over 520 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 560 journals.
, Kinesiology, Sports, and Leisure Studies
, Library Science
, Texas History
, United States History
, World History