Research Guides: Educational Leadership: Websites

Open Source Academic Journals and Preprints

These search engines retrieve open source academic journals.

arXiv Math and science preprints.
BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 90 million documents from more than 4,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
Bentham Open Access 230 open access journals, primarily in engineering and the hard sciences, open to all.

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals

DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books Academic books available to all.
OAIster: Find the Pearls
A free catalog that contains digital resources from open archive collections
Represents multidisciplinary resources from more than 1,100 contributors worldwide. Records contain a digital object link allowing users access to the object in a single click. Subjects included: Digitized books and articles, Born-digital texts, Audio files, Images, Movies, Datasets, Theses, Technical reports, Research papers, Image collections.
OpenDOAR: Directory of Open Access Repositories
A vetted directory of open access repositories.
Registry of Open Access Repositories
A registry that lists all of the digital repositories online with open access content policies.

Google Scholar

Finding Reliable Websites

When deciding if a webpage is reliable, you should ask yourself the following questions.

Question	Reasoning
Who?	Only cite authors who have some credentials that qualify them to talk about the subject.
What?	Identify the type of research you need--most online forums, blogs, or presentations are not peer reviewed.
When?	Use research from websites that regularly maintained to insure that the information isn't outdated.
Where?	Material should be available on academic websites--pay attention to the quality of the website. Avoid .coms and .nets.
Why?	Know why you need the information, and also why the information was published. Avoid biased websites.
How?	Webpages should cite their information so you know how the information was gathered.

Library Homepage Library Databases Library Search

Reliable Websites for Educational Leadership

21 Things for the 21st Century Administrator
This site provides " for K-12 administrators based on the National Educational Technology Standards for Administrators (NETS-A). "
Education World
This website is an extension of Education World magazine with pages on Professional Development, Technology, Administrators, Lesson Plans and more.
Institute for Educational Leadership
"IEL's mission is to build the capacity of individuals, organizations, systems and communities to work together to prepare all children and youth for post-secondary education, careers, and citizenship.."
McREL (Mid-continent Regional Educational Laboratory)
"Mid-continent Regional Educational Laboratory was founded to turn knowledge about what works in education into practical guidance for educators"
NASSP- Principal Recovery Network
"[T]he NASSP Principal Recovery Network (PRN) is a national network of current and former school leaders who have experienced gun violence tragedies in their buildings. Together, the PRN seeks to assist principals in the immediate aftermath of a crisis and well beyond."
SEDL
"SEDL’s mission is to strengthen the connections among research, policy, and practice in order to improve outcomes for all learners."
SOL, Society for Organizational Learning
"The purpose of sol is to discover, integrate and implement theories and practices for the interdependent development of people and their institutions."
Tech4Learning/Creative Educator
This website provides a variety of resources to create innovative classroom instruction with technology. Ideas and Lessons for teachers and administrators.
The Wallace Foundation
"The Wallace Foundation is a national philanthropy that seeks to improve education and enrichment for disadvantaged children."
Waters Foundation
"Our mission is to increase the capacity of educators to deliver student academic and lifetime benefits through the effective application of systems thinking strategies in classroom instruction and school improvement."
WestEd
"WestEd, a research, development, and service agency, works with education and other communities to promote excellence, achieve equity, and improve learning for children, youth, and adults."

Reference Librarian

Michelle Shea

Email Me

Contact:

Warrior Hall, Administrative Offices, 205H

254-519-5481

Subjects: Business and Economics, Education, Educational Leadership, Elementary Education, Finance, General, Government, Humanities, Language and Literature, Management, Marketing, Psychology and Counseling, Secondary Education, Texas History, United States History

Educational Leadership: Websites

Open Source Academic Journals and Preprints

Google Scholar

Finding Reliable Websites

Reliable Websites for Educational Leadership

Reference Librarian

Live Research Help