Research Guides: READ 3311- Literacy Instruction I: Home

Textbooks for this Course

Multisensory Teaching of Basic Language Skills by Judith R. Birsh; Suzanne Carreker
Call Number: Click blue book title to read
ISBN: 9781681252261
Publication Date: 2018-09-01
Teaching Reading Sourcebook by Bill Honig; Linda Diamond; Linda Gutlohn; et al.
Call Number: LB 1573 .H4624 2018
ISBN: 9781634022354
Publication Date: 2018-09-01

Literacy Development Journals

Journal of Literacy Research
Interdisciplinary journal publishing research related to literacy, language and schooling from Preschool to adulthood; original research, critical reviews of research, conceptual analysis and theoretical essays.
Journal of Early Childhood Literacy
Concerned with issues related to the nature, function and use of literacy in early childhood.
Literacy Research and Instruction
Publishes articles dealing with research and instruction in reading education and allied literacy fields.
Perspectives on Language and Literacy
Published by the International Dyslexia Association
Reading Research Quarterly
For ongoing development of literacy research, provides a forum for research, investigation & viewpoints of literacy practices & policies.
More Journal Links

Recommended Databases for Early Literacy

The following databases are useful for researching Reading Education:

Education Database
Education Database gives users access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education. Many titles are indexed in the ERIC database. Coverage: 1988 current.
Education Resources Information Center (ERIC through EBSCO)
Provides full-text for more than 500 journals indexed in ERIC and more than 2,200 digests from RIE, along with references for additional information, citations, and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education related journals.
Education Source
A collection of full text education journals. It is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals, as well as full text for more than 750 journals. This database also includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a shared digital library created in 1995 to help university and college libraries to free space on their shelves, save costs, and provide greater levels of access to more content than ever before.
ProQuest Central
Serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Web of Science
Access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. Indexes included are: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

Researching Literacy Instruction

Recent, relevant, and reliable databases, books, journals, and internet tools are important to academic research.

Books: Starting with a few good books about your topic will help you. Books contain bibliographies you can use to identify key scholarship. Find books through WarriorCat.

Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles: Journal articles are the primary method of sharing new research in education. Peer-review is the process of maintaining reliability by asking specialists to review articles before they are published.

Internet Resources: Reliable online tools can be very helpful, such as specialized searches like Google Scholar. Make sure you consider whether or not you can trust resources before you use them.

Our Elementary Education, Secondary Education, or Children's and Young Adult Literature LibGuides will give you some more research clues.

Library Homepage Library Databases Library Search

Decodable Books

BOB Books, Beginning Readers (Set 1) Mat -- Sam -- Dot -- Mac -- Dot and Mit -- Dot and the dog -- Jig and Mag -- Muff and Ruff -- 10 cut-ups -- Peg and Ted -- Lad and the fat cat -- The vet
BOB Books: Advancing Beginners (Set 2) Fun in the sun -- Up, pup -- Pip and pog -- Bow-wow! -- Big hat -- Sox the fox -- OK, kids -- Rub-a-dub -- Go, bus -- Red hen -- Sad cat -- 0 to 10.
BOB Books: Word Families (Set 3) Floppy Mop -- Lolly-Pops -- Frogs -- The red car-- Summer -- Kittens -- Funny bunny --Bed bugs -- Activities for books 1-4 --Activities for books 5-8.
Flyleaf Reading Series 2 Frank the fish gets his wish -- Marvin's trip to Mars -- Mr. Sanchez and the kick ball champ -- The twins this and that -- A sled dog morning -- Mister Mole's stove -- My summertime camping trip -- The case of Jake's escape -- Queen Bee needs to be free -- The king of spring -- Phil can read -- Interesting elephants -- Summer fun at Duke Park -- Amazing snakes -- Luna moth -- Good bats! -- Dog agility -- Fir tree circus -- Pearl learns a lesson.
Flyleaf Reading Series 3 Lin-Lin and the seagulls -- Shep the sheep of Caladeen -- Tracking with Uncle Joe -- Plates, quakes, and flowing magma -- Snail hits the trail -- Keeping track of snail facts -- Oh my! It must be the sky! -- Butterfly life cycle -- The splendid pool -- Flapjacks from Paul Bunyan's kitchen -- Which is bluest? -- True bugs -- Sonoran Desert seasons -- What is it? Take a look! -- Bon-Bon the downtown cow -- Margaret Strong, toy collector -- Planets, asteroids, and our solar system -- Poetry anthology 1 -- Poetry anthology 2.
Sound Out Chapter Books (A-3) Jen sets out -- Mack, the cab dog -- Road race -- Gas hog -- The black jeep -- The hot van
Sound Out Chapter Books (B-3) On the ice -- Lost in the dunes -- Reef dive -- Tree walk -- Up on the peaks -- Chase the wind

Beginning Reader Books

Emergent Literacy ERC Items

Education Librarian

Michelle Shea

Email Me

Contact:

Warrior Hall, Administrative Offices, 205H

254-519-5481

Subjects: Education, Educational Leadership, Elementary Education, General, Government, Humanities, Language and Literature, Management, Marketing, Psychology and Counseling, Secondary Education, Texas History, United States History

Live Research Help

APA Resources

A collection of links to help you with APA.

Purdue OWL APA Style Guide
Purdue OWL guide to APA style.
KnightCite
A citation maker where you enter the information.
APA Style Blog
A blog where questions about APA style are answered definitely by experts.
APA Style - Citing Legal Materials
APA help for citing legal documents and other types of government reports.
Purdue OWL YouTube Tutorials
A website with video tutorials for citing, formating, and writing.
Purdue OWL Citation Style Comparison Chart
A chart that outlines the similarities and differences between APA, MLA, and CML.
CSS Citation Help for APA, 7th Edition
Help with common issues and questions with APA 7th ed. citation style, created by The College of St. Scholastica.

Composition

A collection of links to help you with composing your writing.

Purdue OWL Writing
Writing help from OWL at Purdue.
Elements of Style by Strunk and White
The original version of this classic writing guide.
Texas A&M University Writing Lab in College Station
The writing lab at TAMU in College Station.
Central Texas University Writing Center
For writers of all ability levels and all stages of the writing process! Thanks for choosing the University Writing Center (UWC) for help with your overall writing process and various writing assignments/tasks!

Grammar

A collection of links to help you with grammar.

Purdue OWL Grammar
More than just citing help--Purdue OWL also provides a usage guide.
Grammar Girl
A collection of short explanations and tutorials about grammar and writing style.
Dr. Grammar
A resource from the University of Northern Illinois.

Fluency Materials

The Next Step Forward in Running Records by Jan Richardson; Maryann McBride
Call Number: LB 1573 .B38 2021
ISBN: 9781338732856
Publication Date: 2021-02-03
The Twentieth Mental Measurements Yearbook by Buros Buros Center; Janet F. Carlson (Editor); Kurt F. Geisinger (Editor); Jessica L. Jonson (Editor)
Call Number: Z 5814 .P8 B932 2017
ISBN: 9780910674669
Publication Date: 2017-07-15
Teaching Our Children to Read by Bill Honig
Call Number: LB 1050 .H64 2014
ISBN: 9781628736502
Publication Date: 2014-05-06
Teaching Word Recognition by Rollanda E. O'Connor
Call Number: LB 1050.45 O26 2007
ISBN: 9781593853655
Publication Date: 2006-11-16