Recent, relevant, and reliable databases, books, journals, and internet tools are important to academic research.
Books: Starting with a few good books about your topic will help you. Books contain bibliographies you can use to identify key scholarship. Find books through WarriorCat.
Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles: Journal articles are the primary method of sharing new research in education. Peer-review is the process of maintaining reliability by asking specialists to review articles before they are published.
Internet Resources: Reliable online tools can be very helpful, such as specialized searches like Google Scholar. Make sure you consider whether or not you can trust resources before you use them.
Our Social Work LibGuide will give you some more research clues.
The following databases are useful for researching social work:
Alexander Street's Behavioral and Mental Health Online provides a comprehensive, rich, and diverse collection of video and text for anyone studying or teaching in the area of mental health. Programs in counseling, social work, nursing, psychology and behavioral health will all benefit from the wide variety of content in this collection, which includes clinical mental health demonstrations, actual therapy sessions, compelling documentaries on the human condition, psychotherapy transcripts, as well client narratives and reference works.
Gale OneFile: Contemporary Women’s Issues offers comprehensive coverage of issues that influence women’s lives across the globe with access to current full-text and pertinent backfile content. The database covers topics including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.
Criminal Justice Abstracts contains enteries from newspapers, periodicals, and academic journals on criminal justice. This includes corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, criminal law, family law, and many other topics.
Criminal Justice Database supports research on crime, it's causes and impacts, legal and social implication, as well as litigation and crime trends.
This database includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects.
Docuseek2 is the source for essential social issue and documentary film for education, with over 2300 titles in all major disciplines.
The Films on Demand database is a large collection of videos covering a wide range of academic topics.
Easy access to all Gale databases available to TAMUCT students.
Gale OneFile: Gender Studies provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Health Reference Center Academic provides up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. This database offers more than 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.
This database is a collection of reliable and relevant resources in the field of health administration, including journals and dissertations.
The Health Research Premium Collection is uniquely suited for libraries whose users require content for learning and researching medicine and related subject areas.
JSTOR is a digital library with a vast collection of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It's heavily focused on providing access to archival materials. Journals are available in more than 75 disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences and mathematics.
Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. All MMY entries contain descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited review(s) written by leading content area experts.
Nexis Uni offers authoritative legal, news, public records, and business information; including tax and regulatory publications.
This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
Gale OneFile: Popular Magazines provides access to the most searched magazines across the OneFile products. All of the titles are selected based on actual publication searches performed by library patrons and the database includes many titles recommended by Bowker's "Magazines for Libraries."
Cross-search content from select Gale products, including Gale's OneFile periodicals, In Context products, and/or eBooks.
Serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
ProQuest One Psychology combines APA PsycINFO, APA PsycARTICLES, and ProQuest's Psychology Database. Content is organized to align with how psychology faculty and students approach common assignments, research questions, and methodologies. It includes diverse content types such as journals, therapy videos, counseling transcript, news, dissertations, and more. APA products are integrated into ProQuest One Psychology. APA results are clearly marked in search results and will be incorporated into topic pages. Access to APA Thesaurus and advanced search functionality.
PsycArticles (by the American Psychological Association) provides full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, and anthropology, and observational, and experimental methods.
Offers complete information from nearly 300 psychology and related publications from the U.S., Canada, and the United Kingdom.
Gale OneFile: Psychology provides access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.
Covers more than 1,700 leading psychological, psychiatric, and related publications. The database covers a wide range of topics, including psychology, psychiatry, and related information.
Professionally indexed, the PsycTESTS database is an extensive collection of items associated with psychological measures, scales, surveys, and other essential instruments.
The National Library of Medicine's preferred web-based search engine to access the 9 million citations in MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating online journals), and other related databases. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
This database offers extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.
SocIDEX provides 242 core journals and 72 priority journals. Covers all subdisciplines of sociology.
Access to federal and state case law, the United States Code Annotated (USCA), the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), the Federal Register, state statutes and administrative codes, American Jurisprudence 2d (law encyclopedia), American Law Reports (ALR) 2nd-5th and federal series, and more than 900 law journals and reviews. It also includes guides to various areas of law, the text of the U.S. Constitution and state constitutions, and information for pre-law students.
The following journals are core resources for social work:
A collection of links to help you with composing your writing.
A collection of links to help you with grammar.
A collection of links to help you with APA.
