University Archives: Home

Funding has been provided to the A&M-Central Texas University Archives by Humanities Texas and the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) as part of the American Rescue Plan (ARP) Act of 2021. All opinions, findings, conclusions, or recommendations expressed on this website do not necessarily represent those of the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Established in 2009, the University Archives serves as the official repository for records of Texas A&M University-Central Texas (A&M-Central Texas) and the gateway to its past. Dedicated to preserving the history of our institution and its surrounding communities, the mission of the archives is to identify, acquire, manage, and preserve records of enduring value and make them available for public use.

Physical Archives

Some of the main areas of materials represented in the archives include:

• The A&M-Central Texas Collection – the permanent public records of the university.
• The American Technological University, the University of Central Texas, and the Tarleton State University-Central Texas Collections – documents and other materials relating to the history of the development of A&M-Central Texas.
• The General Robert M. Shoemaker Papers – a collection of the general’s personal papers and mementos.
• The Senator William “Bill” Moore Collection – nicknamed the “Bull of the Brazos,” the collection consists of documents and other memorabilia relating to the senator’s more than 30 year career in the Texas State Senate.
• The archives also includes materials relating to the history of Central Texas, its people, and its communities.

Also included in the archives are materials from the Central Texas Historical Archive (CTHA), managed by the College of Arts and Sciences and the History program of A&M-Central Texas. Dedicated to preserving the political, foreign policy, and military history of the Cold War Era at home and abroad, the extensive collections are of both regional and national interest. Some materials from the CTHA collections are available online through the Digital Archives.

Digital Archives

The A&M-Central Texas Digital Archives is an ongoing project to digitize materials from our permanent collections to enhance access for researchers both on and off campus.

Use of Materials

Items in the archives are not available for checkout but can be viewed in the archives' reading room, located in the Beck Family Heritage Hall, Room 211. Access is currently available by appointment only, Monday-Friday from 8am to 4pm. The archives does not currently offer scanning or photocopying services for researchers off site.

The University Archives is available
by appointment only.
For further information, or to schedule an appointment, please email:
archives@tamuct.edu

For more information concerning the Central Texas Historical Archives, please contact:

D. Jerry Jones

Professor of History

Phone: (254) 519-5446

Email: jerry.jones@tamuct.edu