Research Guides: BUSI 3344 Introduction to the Global Business Environment: Websites and Journals

Open Source Academic Journals and Preprints

These search engines retrieve open source academic journals.

arXiv Math and science preprints.
BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 90 million documents from more than 4,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
Bentham Open Access 230 open access journals, primarily in engineering and the hard sciences, open to all.

DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books Academic books available to all.
OAIster: Find the Pearls
A free catalog that contains digital resources from open archive collections
Represents multidisciplinary resources from more than 1,100 contributors worldwide. Records contain a digital object link allowing users access to the object in a single click. Subjects included: Digitized books and articles, Born-digital texts, Audio files, Images, Movies, Datasets, Theses, Technical reports, Research papers, Image collections.
OpenDOAR: Directory of Open Access Repositories
A vetted directory of open access repositories.
Registry of Open Access Repositories
A registry that lists all of the digital repositories online with open access content policies.

When deciding if a webpage is reliable, you should ask yourself the following questions.

Question	Reasoning
Who?	Only cite authors who have some credentials that qualify them to talk about the subject.
What?	Identify the type of research you need--most online forums, blogs, or presentations are not peer reviewed.
When?	Use research from websites that regularly maintained to insure that the information isn't outdated.
Where?	Material should be available on academic websites--pay attention to the quality of the website. Avoid .coms and .nets.
Why?	Know why you need the information, and also why the information was published. Avoid biased websites.
How?	Webpages should cite their information so you know how the information was gathered.

Doing Business
Reports on business regulations and ease of doing business in different countries worldwide. This website in maintained by the International Finance Corporation (IFC).
GlobalEdge
Designed for business students by Michigan State University. Aggregates country information from all over the web.
International Data
From the US Census Bureau which includes major demographics, labor force, migration, vital statistics.
International Monetary Fund
The IMF's website offers the texts of all their complementary publications, as well as news releases, country publications, fund reates, standards and codes.
The Library of Congress Country Guides
These guides contain the best history and culture of various countries.
NationMaster
Aggregates statistics from many web sources.
UNData
Aggredated search for all UN databases, includes a country search

Board of Governors, Federal Reserve System
Provides general information, press releases, testimony and speeches, monetary policy, research and data, related to the Central Bank of the United States.
Center for Financial Institutions
New York University School of Law's Center for Financial Institutions is responsible for this metasite. Coverage includes Central bank statutes; basic banking laws; political constitutions; unpublished working papers and related materials; conference papers from the Center; published works; and annual reports.
Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC)
Official documents from the FDIC including current CRA information, laws and regulations applicable to financial institutions, consumer news, and a statistical database on banks and the banking industry.
Forbes.com
Forbes is a leading source for reliable business news and financial information.
Inc.com
The place where entrepreneurs and business owners can find useful information, advice, insights, resources and inspiration for running and growing their businesses.
National Information Center
The NIC provides comprehensive information on banks and other institutions for which the Federal Reserve has supervisory, regulatory or research interests.
USA Today.com/Money
The latest breaking financial news on the US and world economy.

Use Full Text Finder to find a journal in our library databases:

Go the the library homepage.
Click on Journals.
Type in the name of the journal (not the title of the article).
Click "search" or hit "enter."
In the result list, click on "Full Text Access."
Click on the link with the best date ranges for your needs.
If the journal is not available in full text, request it through interlibrary loan.

To check if a journal is peer reviewed, use Ulrich's or the submission guidelines on the journal's webpage.

Journal of International Business Studies
Scholarly papers on aspects of the multinational business enterprise and comparative (cross-cultural) research for professionals in academe, business and government organizations concerned with international business education.
Journal of International Management
Devoted to advancing an understanding of issues in the management of global enterprises, global management theory, & practice; & providing theoretical & managerial implications useful for the further development of research.
Journal of World Business
Authoritative studies & opinions on international business from the economics & finance, political science & management viewpoint.

European Business Directory
A multilingual directory site of companies in 30 European countries searchable by product or services, company name or business sector. Results can include company catalogs, with links to business services such as phone directories, package tracking, converters, bank holidays, calendar, newspapers, and online translators.
International Society for Small and Medium Enterprises
Site includes the World SME Directory, intended to promote international cooperation between small and medium enterprise development organizations.

Email Me

Contact:

Co-Head of Public Services and Outreach
Library Administrative Offices, Warrior Hall 205J

254-519-5740

Subjects: Accounting, Anthropology, Auditing, Banking, Biology, Business and Economics, Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, Communications/Journalism, Criminal Justice, Film Studies, Finance, Foreign Language Studies, Language and Literature, Linguistics, Sociology, Taxation