Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Textbooks for this Course
International Business by
Call Number: HD 62.4 .W586 2014 Textbook Reserve
Publication Date: 2013-01-02
Directed primarily toward undergraduate International Business majors, this text also provides practical content for future industry professionals. A readable, concise, and innovative tour through international business,this textpresents the subject matter in a comprehensive - yet succinct - framework. Real-world examples and engaging features bring concepts to life and make international business accessible to all.
A collection of links to help you with APA.
Research in Global Business
Recommended Databases for Global Business
Search in library databases to find scholarly journal articles. These are often subject specific.
Keywords: The right search term is important. Think about the words an expert might use to describe the concepts you are looking for.
Peer Reviewed: Look for search options that let you limit your search to articles that have been reviewed by experts.
Recent: Try to choose articles written in the last few years to insure that your are not retrieving outdated research.
Hover over the "i" icon for more information about each database.
ABI/INFORM Collection The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Asian and European Business Collection ProQuest Asian Business and Reference offers detailed information on companies, economies, markets, and overall business conditions throughout the Eastern Hemisphere. A great deal of information on international trade is available as well.
Business Abstracts with Full Text (H.W. Wilson) Business Abstracts with Full Text contains full-text articles from hundreds of key publications, and provides access to product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports from associations, societies, trade shows, conferences and more.
Business Source Complete Scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. Indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. Business Source Complete a superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. The Business Searching Interface (BSI) provides an easy way to both browse and search for country economic data, company profiles.
Hoover's Company Profiles This database contains proprietary information about more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. Hoover's, widely recognized as a leader in company data, delivers in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers and more.
Please see Nexis Uni.
Mergent Online Offers electronic access to Mergent's (formerly Moody's Manuals) These include Mergent Banking and Finance Manual, Mergent International Manual, Mergent Public Utilities Manual, Mergent Transportation Manual, Mergent OTC Manual and all the News Reports that go with each of these products. Information includes corporate history, Business Properties and subsidiaries, Officers and directors, Long-term debt, Income statement, Balance sheets, and more.
Nexis Uni Authoritative legal, news, public records and business information; including tax and regulatory publications. You can quickly and easily retrieve documents that meet your specific reference or research needs.
ProQuest Central Serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Regional Business News This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and news wires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Offers a collection of full-text news wires that incorporates news information from all over the world. Information provided by these sources covers business, political, economic and other diverse, international news events. Several hundred articles are added to this database each day.
US Newsstream This database's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue of each newspaper is indexed thoroughly, so researchers have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the papers. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.
Wall Street Journal: Present The Wall Street Journal (1984-present) is an American English-language international daily newspaper with a special emphasis on business and economic news.
Here are some websites to help you get started on researching global business.
Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) World Factbook
Provides basic information about most countries, including geography, the people, government, economic conditions, transportation and communication data, and the military.
Economic Freedom Network
Economic freedom has been shown in numerous peer-reviewed studies to promote prosperity and other positive outcomes. It is a necessary condition for democratic development.
International Trade Center
Access to trade and market intelligence is critical to international business success. The provision of innovative, cutting-edge market information to enable improved business decision-making has been at the heart of ITC’s mandate since its foundation in 1964.
Trade Information Center
The Trade Information Center (TIC) is the first stop for companies seeking export assistance from the U.S. Government.
U.S. International Trade Commission (ITC) Trade Database
Covers 1989 to two months from the present. This database provides specific U.S. export and import information on commodities throughout the world.
UN Trade Statistics
Free access to detailed global trade data. UN Comtrade is a repository of official trade statistics and relevant analytical tables. It contains annual trade statistics starting from 1962 and monthly trade statistics since 2010
The World Bank-Business Environment Snapshots
Business environment indicators, laws, and World Bank Group project information for 183 countries.
The World Bank-Data
The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. We are not a bank in the ordinary sense but a unique partnership to reduce poverty and support development.
World Bank-Law Library
The Doing Business law library is the largest free online collection of business laws and regulations.
, Business and Economics
, Chemistry and Chemical Engineering
, Criminal Justice
, Film Studies
, Foreign Language Studies
, Language and Literature
A collection of links to help you with composing your writing.
A collection of links to help you with grammar.
Purdue OWL Grammar
More than just citing help--Purdue OWL also provides a usage guide.
A collection of short explanations and tutorials about grammar and writing style.
A resource from the University of Northern Illinois.