Thesis Office: Books and Reference Works

Book with a Single Author

Notes: 

Author’s Full Name, Title of Book (City of Publication: Publisher Name, Year of Publication), page number(s).

Subsequent Note(s): 

Author’s Last Name, Shortened Title (do not include articles such as “A” or “The”), page number(s).

Bibliography Entry: 

Author Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. City: Publisher Name, Year of Publication.

Example (Notes)	1. Lois Lowry, The Giver (New York: Houghton Mifflin Books for Children, 1993), 125.
Example (Subsequent Notes)	2. Lowry, Giver, 125.
Example (Bibliography)	Lowry, Lois. The Giver. New York: Houghton Mifflin Books for Children, 1993.

Book with Two to Three Authors

Notes:

1. First Author’s Full Name and Second Author’s Full Name, Title of Book (City: Publisher Name, Year of Publication), page number(s).

2. First Author’s Full Name, Second Author’s Full Name, and Third Author’s Full Name, Title of Book (City: Publisher Name, Year of Publication), page number(s).

Subsequent Note(s):

3. First Author’s Last Name and Second Author’s Last Name, Shortened Title, page number(s).

4. First Author’s Last Name, Second Author’s Last Name, and Third Author’s Last Name, Shortened Title, page number(s).

Bibliography entry:

First Author’s Last Name, First Name, and Second Author’s Full Name. Title of Book. City: Publisher Name, Year of Publication.

First Author’s Last Name, First Name, Second Author’s Full Name, and Third Author's Full Name. Title of Book. City: Publisher Name, Year of Publication.

Example (Notes)	1. Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman, Good Omens (New York: Workman, 1990), 129-130. 2. Bruce K. Alexander, Amanda Lee, and Charlotte Campbell, The World We Live In (Chicago:    Wilkins, 2003), 1-3.
Example (Subsequent Notes)	3. Pratchett and Gaiman, Good Omens, 129-130. 4. Alexander, Lee, and Campbell, World, 1-3.
Example (Bibliography)	Pratchett, Terry, and Neil Gaiman. Good Omens. New York: Workman, 1990. Alexander, Bruce K., Amanda Lee, and Charlotte Campbell. The World We Live In. Chicago: Wilkins, 2003.

 

Book with Four or More Authors

Notes:

1. First Author’s Full Name et al., Title of Book (City: Publisher Name, Year of Publication), page number(s).

Subsequent Note(s):

1. First Author’s Last Name et al., Shortened Title, page number(s).

Bibliography Entry (list the full name of all authors in the bibliography only):

First Author’s Last Name, First Name, Second Author’s Full Name, Third Author’s Full Name, Fourth Author’s Full Name, and Fifth Author’s Full Name. Title of Book. City: Publisher Name, Year of Publication.

Example (Notes)	1. Kate Quinn et al., Ribbons of Scarlet: A Novel of the French Revolution’s Women (New York: William Morrow, 2019), 1-12.
Example (Subsequent Notes)	2. Quinn et al., Ribbons of Scarlet, 1.
Example (Bibliography)	Quinn, Kate, Stephanie Dray, Laura Croghan, Sophie Perinot, and Heather Webb. Ribbons of Scarlet: A Novel of the French Revolution’s Women. New York: William Morrow, 2019.

Books with an Editor

Books with an editor or editors (or compilers or translators) listed instead of an author or authors, follow the same general rules of books and eBooks with the added abbreviation following the name to indicate the role of the individual(s). These will be ed. or eds., comp. or comps., or trans.

Notes:

1. Editor’s Full Name, ed., Title of Book (City: Publisher Name, Year of Publication), page number(s).

Bibliography Entry:

Editor's Last Name, First Name, ed. Title of Book. City: Publisher name, year of Publication.

Example (Notes)	1. Mark Meuwese and Jeffrey Fortin, eds., Atlantic Biographies: Individuals and Peoples in the Atlantic World (Brill, 2013), chap. 1, https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=cat08151a&AN=tlc.b2314159&site=eds-live.
Example (Subsequent Notes)	2. Meuwese and Fortin, Atlantic Biographies, 57
Example (Bibliography)	Meuwese, Mark, and Jeffrey Fortin, eds. Atlantic Biographies: Individuals and Peoples in the Atlantic World. Brill, 2013.

 

Books with both an Author and Editor Credited on the Cover

Notes:

1. Author’s Full Name, Title of Book, ed. Editor’s Full Name (City: Publisher Name, Year of Publication), page number(s).

Subsequent Note(s): 

2. Author's Last Name, Shortened Title of Book, page number(s)

Bibliography Entry:

Author’s Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Edited by Editor’s Full Name. City: Publisher Name, Year of Publication.

Example (Notes)	1. Will Smith, Will, ed. Mark Manson (New York: Penguin Publishing Group, 2021), 13.
Example (Subsequent Notes)	2. Smith, Will, 13.
Example (Bibliography)	Smith, Will. Will. Edited by Mark Manson. New York: Penguin Publishing Group, 2021.

 

Authored Chapter from an Edited Work or Compilation with Various Authors

Notes:

1. Author’s Full Name, “Title of the Chapter/Contribution,” in Title of Book, ed. Editor’s Full Name (City: Publisher Name, Year of Publication), page number(s).

Bibliography Entry:

Author’s Last Name, First Name. “Title of Chapter/Contribution.” In Title of Book, edited by Editor’s Full Name, page numbers for entry. City: Publisher Name, Year of Publication.

Example (Notes)	1. Connell B. Gallagher, “A Repository Archivist on Capitol Hill,” in An American Political Archives Reader, eds. Glenn Gray, Rebecca Johnson, and Karen D. Paul (Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2009), 27.
Example (Subsequent Notes)	2. Gallagher, “A Repository Archivist,” 29.
Example (Bibliography)	Gallagher, Connell B. “A Repository Archivist on Capitol Hill.” In An American Political Archives Reader, edited by Glenn Gray, Rebecca Johnson, and Karen D. Paul, 27-38. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2009.

 

Introduction, Preface, or Afterword in a Book

Notes:

1. Author’s Full Name, introduction to Title of Book, ed. Editor’s Full Name (City: Publisher’s Name, Year of Publication), page number(s).

Bibliographic Entry:

Author’s Last Name, First Name. Introduction to Title of Book, page numbers for entry. Edited by Editor’s Full Name. City: Publisher Name, Year of Publication, 2020.

Example (Notes)	1. Grechen H. Gerzina, introduction to Britain’s Black Past, ed. by Gretchen H. Gerzina (Oxford: Liverpool University Press, 2020), 1.
Example (Subsequent Notes)	2. Gerzina, Introduction, 3.
Example (Bibliography)	Gerzina, Gretchen H. Introduction to Britain’s Black Past, 1-6. Edited by Gretchen H. Gerzina. Oxford: Liverpool University Press, 2020.

 

eBook

Notes:

Author’s Full Name, Title of Book (City: Publisher Name, Year of Publication), chapter number or location number (which includes specific location number and the total number of locations). Application or Device.

Subsequent Note(s): 

Author's last name, Shortened Title (do not include articles such as "A" or "The"), page number(s).

Bibliography entry: 

Author’s Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. City: Publisher Name, Year of Publication. Application or Device.

Example (Notes)	1. Volker Ullrich, Eight Days in May: The Final Collapse of the Third Reich (New York: Liveright, 2021), chap. 3. Kindle. 2. Allen H. Redmon, Constructing the Coens: From Blood Simple to Inside Llewyn Davis (New York: Rowman & Littlefield, 2015), location 325 of 2010. Kindle.
Example (Subsequent Notes)	3. Ullrich, Eight Days in May, chap. 3. 4. Redmon, Constructing the Coens, location 325 of 2010.
Example (Bibliography)	Ulrich, Volker. Eight Days in May: The Final Collapse of the Third Reich. New York: Liveright, 2021. Kindle. Redmon, Allen H. Constructing the Coens: From Blood Simple to Inside Llewyn Davis. New York: Liveright, 2010. Kindle.

 

Book Consulted Online

Books consulted online will follow the same criteria as the print or eBook version, but include the URL or DOI as part of the citation.

Example (Notes)	1. Larry Blomstadt, Truman, Congress, and Korea: The Politics of America’s First Undeclared War (Lexington: University Press of Kentucky, 2016), chap. 2, https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tamuct/detail.action?docID=4388858.
Example (Subsequent Notes)	2. Blomstadt, Truman, chap. 3.
Example (Bibliography)	Blomstadt, Larry. Truman, Congress, and Korea: The Politics of America’s First Undeclared War. Lexington: University of Kentucky, 2016. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/tamuct/detail.action?docID=4388858.

 

When citing a particular volume of a multi-volume work, the volume number and the individual volume title, if there is one, are given in addition to the general title. If volumes have been published in different years, only the date of the cited volume is given.

Notes:

1. Author's Full Name, Title of Book, Volume number, Volume name (if there is one) (City: Publication, Publication Date), page number(s).

Subsequent Note(s):

1. Author's Last Name, Shortened Title of Book, volume number:page number.

Bibliography:

Author's Last Name, First Name. Title of Book, Volume number, Volume name (if there is one) (City: Publication, Publication Date).

Example (Notes)	1. Lewis Sorely, ed., Press On! Selected Works of General Donn A. Starry, Vol. 2 (Fort Leavenworth: Combat Studies Institute Press, 2009), 195-197.
Example (Subsequent Notes)	2. Sorely, Press On!, 2:198.
Example (Bibliography)	Sorely, Lewis, ed. Press On! Selected Works of General Donn A. Starry, Vol. 2. Fort Leavenworth: Combat Studies Institute Press, 2009.

 

Major dictionaries and encyclopedias are normally cited in notes rather than in bibliographies. They are also more likely to be consulted online. If a physical edition is cited, the edition number (if not the first edition) and the date the volume or set was issued must be specified. References to an alphabetically arranged work cite the item, preceded by s.v. (sub verbo, "under the word"). 

Physical Dictionary, Thesaurus, or Encyclopedia

Notes: 

Title of Reference Work, Edition number (date the volume was issued), s.v. "topic/word".

Example: 1. Merriam-Webster Dictionary, New ed. (Springfield, MA: Merriam-Webster, 2016), s.v. "monarchy."

Dictionary, Thesaurus, or Encyclopedia Consulted Online

Notes: 

Name of Reference Work/Publication, s.v. "topic/word," when the article was last accessed or modified, Webpage URL/DOI.

Example: 1. Encyclopedia Britannica Online, Academic ed., s.v. "Arturo Toscanini," accessed April 6, 2016, http://academic.eb.com/EBchecked/topic/600338/Arturo-Toscanini.

NOTE: Only italicize the name of the online reference work if it is originally a printed work. For example, you would italicize Encyclopedia Britannica Online, because Encyclopedia Britannica is originally a printed work, but you would not italicize Wikipedia, since it is only a website. 

Also, if a posted publication or revision date is not available for the cited entry, you can use the date you accessed it instead. If it is a continuously updated entry, like a Wikipedia article, then you would use the date that the article was last modified on. 

Work with a Credited Author

Notes: 

Author's Full Name, "Title of Essay," in Title of Anthology, ed. Editor's Full Name (City: Publication, Year), page number(s).

Bibliography:

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Essay." In Title of Anthology, edited by Editor's Full Name, page number(s). City: Publication, Year. 

Example (Notes)	1. Sara Farizan, "Why I Learned to Cook," in Fresh Ink, ed. Lamar Giles (New York: Random House Children's Books, 2019), 30-32.
Example (Subsequent Notes)	2. Farizan, “Why I Learned to Cook,” 31.
Example (Bibliography)	Farizan, Sara. "Why I Learned to Cook." In Fresh Ink, edited by Lamar Giles, page ranges. New York: Random House Children's Books, 2019.

Citing Religious Work

Citing religious work is similar to citing other books. Usually, you will cite the verse from the religious work in your paper (as shown below), and then cite the book itself in the bibliography.

Bible Chapter and Verse

CMOS uses two lists of abbreviations for books of the Bible - one is a traditional abbreviation list, and one is a shorter abbreviation list. You can use either, but be consistent throughout your work.

Notes: Book in the Religious Work (usually abbreviated), chapter, and verse.

Example (Notes)	1. 1 Thess. 4:11, 5:2-5, 5:14 (King James Version).  OR  1. 1 Thes 4:11, 5:2-5. 5:14 (King James Version).
Example (Subsequent Notes)	1. 1 Thess. 4:11, 5:2-5, 5:14 (KJV). OR  1. 1 Thes 4:11, 5:2-5. 5:14 (KJV).
Example (Bibliography)	The Holy Bible, King James Version. Abbotsford: Zeiset, 2020.