Notes: Author First Name, Last Name, "Title of Article." Name of Journal volume, no. (year): page number(s). Webpage URL/DOI.
Bibliography: Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Name of Journal volume, no. (year): first page number-last page number. Webpage URL/DOI.
|
Example (Notes) |
1. Firat Oruc, "Petrocolonial Circulations and Cinema's Arrival in the Gulf," Film History 32, no. 3 (2020): 13, https://web.a.ebscohost.com/ehost/detail/detail?vid=2&sid=895abc98-b2df-49ef-bcd8-380635912aab%40sdc-v-sessmgr01&bdata=JnNpdGU9ZWhvc3QtbGl2ZQ%3d%3d#AN=147711011&db=30h |
|
Example (Subsequent Notes) |
2. Oruc, “Petrocolonial Circulations,” 34. |
|
Example (Bibliography) |
Oruc, Firat. "Petrocolonial Circulations and Cinema's Arrival in the Gulf," Film History 32, no. 3 (2020): 10-42, https://web.a.ebscohost.com/ehost/detail/detail?vid=2&sid=895abc98-b2df-49ef-bcd8-380635912aab%40sdc-v-sessmgr01&bdata=JnNpdGU9ZWhvc3QtbGl2ZQ%3d%3d#AN=147711011 &db=30h |
Notes: Author First Name, Last Name, "Title of Article." Name of Journal volume, no. (year): page number(s).
Bibliography: Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Name of Journal volume, no. (year): first page number-last page number.
|
Example (Notes) |
1. Tolga Cenesizoglu, “The Reaction of Stock Returns to News about Fundamentals,” Management Science 61, no. 5 (2015): 1086. |
|
Example (Subsequent Notes) |
2. Cenesizoglu, “The Reaction of Stock Returns to News about Fundamentals,” 1090. |
|
Example (Bibliography) |
Cenesizoglu, Tolga. “The Reaction of Stock Returns to New About Fundamentals.” Management Science 61, no. 5 (2015): 1072-1093. |
Single Author:
Notes: Author First Name, Last Name, "Title of Article." Name of Journal volume, no. (year): page number(s). Webpage URL/DOI.
Bibliography: Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Name of Journal volume, no. (year): first page number-last page number. Webpage URL/DOI.
Multiple Authors:
Notes: Author's First Names, Last Names (in Alphabetical Order of last name), "Title of Article." Name of Journal volume, no. (year): page number(s). Webpage URL/DOI.
Bibliography: First Author's Last Name, First Name, then the others First Name, Last Name (in Alphabetical Order of last name), "Title of Article." Name of Journal volume, no. (year): first page number-last page number. Webpage URL/DOI.
NOTE: When creating a bibliography entry with multiple authors, the first author is entered with their last name preceding their first name, and the subsequent authors are entered with their first name preceding their last name. An example is shown below.
|
Single Author (Note) |
1. Firat Oruc, "Petrocolonial Circulations and Cinema's Arrival in the Gulf," Film History 32, no. 3 (2020): 13, https://web.a.ebscohost.com/ehost/detail/detail?vid=2&sid=895abc98-b2df-49ef-bcd8-380635912aab%40sdc-v-sessmgr01&bdata=JnNpdGU9ZWhvc3QtbGl2ZQ%3d%3d#AN=147711011&db=30h OR 1. Oruc, “Petrocolonial Circulations,” 38. |
|
Multiple Authors (Note) |
2. Leonardo Cerasino and Nico Salmaso , "Co-occurrence of anatoxin-a and microcystins in Lake Garda and other deep perialpine lakes.," Advances in Oceanography & Limnology 11, no. 1 (2020): 16, https://web.a.ebscohost.com/ehost/detail/detail?vid=0&sid=d9c10eca-f6c0-483d-a55a-60135e200ee6%40sdc-v-sessmgr02&bdata=JnNpdGU9ZWhvc3QtbGl2ZQ%3d%3d#AN=146405772&db=a9h OR 2. Cerasino and Salmaso, "Co-occurence of anatoxin-a and microcystins," 20.
|
|
Single Author (Bibliography) |
Oruc, Firat, "Petrocolonial Circulations and Cinema's Arrival in the Gulf," Film History 32, no. 3 (2020): 10-42, https://web.a.ebscohost.com/ehost/detail/detail?vid=2&sid=895abc98-b2df-49ef-bcd8-380635912aab%40sdc-v-sessmgr01&bdata=JnNpdGU9ZWhvc3QtbGl2ZQ%3d%3d#AN=147711011&db=30h |
|
Multiple Authors (Bibliography) |
Cerasino, Leonardo and Nico Salmaso, “Co-Occurrence of anatoxin-a and microcystins in Lake Garda and other deep perialpine lakes.,” Advances in Oceanography and Limnology 11, no.1 (2020): 11-21, https://web.a.ebscohost.com/ehost/detail/detail?vid=0&sid=d9c10eca-f6c0-483d-a55a-60135e200ee6%40sdc-v-sessmgr02&bdata=JnNpdGU9ZWhvc3QtbGl2ZQ%3d%3d#AN=146405772&db=a9h |
Paper Magazines
Notes: Author's First Name, Last Name, "Title of article," Name of Magazine, publication date, page number(s).
Bibliography: Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of article." Name of Magazine, publication date.
|
Example (Notes) |
1. Emily Macel, “Beijing’s Modern Movement,” Dance Magazine, February 2009, 35. |
|
Example (Subsequent Notes) |
2. Macel, “Beijing’s Modern Movement,” 37. |
|
Example (Bibliography) |
Macel, Emily. “Beijing’s Modern Movement.” Dance Magazine, February 2009. |
Online Magazines
Notes: Author's First Name, Last Name, "Title of article," Name of Magazine, publication date, Webpage URL/DOI.
Bibliography: Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of article." Name of Magazine, publication date. Webpage URL/DOI.
NOTE: If no stable URL exists for an online article, then you can substitute it with the name of the database. Also, access dates are not required by Chicago Manual of Style.
|
Example (Notes) |
1. Stephanie Bouchard, "A Tiny Island Off the Coast of Maine Could Be a Renewable Energy Model for the Rest of the World," Smithsonian Magazine, March 16, 2020, https://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/tiny-island-off-coast-maine-could-be-renewable-energy-model-for-rest-world-180974415/. |
|
Example (Subsequent Notes) |
2. Bouchard, “A Tiny Island Off the Coast of Maine.” |
|
Example (Bibliography) |
Bouchard, Stephanie. "A Tiny Island Off the Coast of Maine Could Be a Renewable Energy Model for the Rest of the World." Smithsonian Magazine, March 16, 2020. https://www.smithsonianmag.com/innovation/tiny-island-off-coast-maine-could-be-renewable-energy-model-for-rest-world-180974415/. |
Paper Newspapers
Notes: Author's First Name, Last Name, "Title of Article," Newspaper Name (City Name, State Abbreviation), publication date.
Bibliography: Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Newspaper Name (City Name, State Abbreviation), publication date.
NOTE: You should only include the city name and state abbreviation of the newspaper if the newspaper is not well known. For example, it would not be needed if citing the Texas Tribune, but may be needed for the Killeen Daily Herald.
|
Example (Notes) |
1. Jana Lynn Kilcrease, "Spanish, Tagalog, Korean: KISD has more than 6,900 students who speak foreign language," Killeen Daily Herald (Killeen, TX), October 24, 2023. |
|
Example (Subsequent Notes) |
2. Kilcrease, “Spanish, Tagalog, Korean.” |
|
Example (Bibliography) |
Kilcrease, Jana Lynn. "Spanish, Tagalog, Korean: KISD has more than 6,900 students who speak foreign language." Killeen Daily Herald (Killeen, TX), October 24, 2023. |
Online Newspapers
Notes: Author's First Name, Last Name, "Title of Article," Newspaper Name (City Name, State Abbreviation), publication date, Webpage URL/DOI.
Bibliography: Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Newspaper Name (City Name, State Abbreviation), publication date. Webpage URL/DOI.
|
Example (Notes) |
1. Aneri Pattani, "Texas can't legally secede from the U.S., despite popular myth," Texas Tribune, January 29, 2021, https://www.texastribune.org/2021/01/29/texas-secession/. |
|
Example (Subsequent Notes) |
2. Pattani, “Texas can’t legally secede from the U.S., despite popular myth.” |
|
Example (Bibliography) |
Pattani, Aneri. "Texas can't legally secede from the U.S., despite popular myth." Texas Tribune, January 29, 2021. https://www.texastribune.org/2021/01/29/texas-secession/. |
Notes: First Name, Last Name, "Title of Blog Post," Name of blog (blog), publication date, Webpage URL.
Bibliography: Last Name, First Name. "Title of Blog Post." Name of blog (blog). publication date. Webpage URL.
NOTE: Blogs that are part of a larger publication should include the name of that publication after the name of the blog. (Blog) is only needed after blogs that do not have the word "blog" in the title.
|
Example (Notes) |
1. Kimberly Tyson, "How Schools Can Promote Literacy & Independent Reading," teachthought (blog), October 2, 2020, https://www.teachthought.com/literacy/25-ways-schools-can-promote-literacy-independent-reading/. |
|
Example (Subsequent Notes) |
2. Tyson, “How Schools Can Promote Literacy and Independent Reading.” |
|
Example (Bibliography) |
Tyson, Kimberly, "How Schools Can Promote Literacy & Independent Reading." teachthought (blog). October 2, 2020. https://www.teachthought.com/literacy/25-ways-schools-can-promote-literacy-independent-reading/. |
Notes: Author's First Name, Last Name. "Title of Article." Title of Periodical, Publication date, Webpage URL/DOI.
Bibliography: Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Periodical (Publication City). Publication Date. Webpage URL/DOI.
|
Example (Notes) |
1. "How New York's Vaccine Program Missed Black and Hispanic Residents." The New York Times, February 1, 2021, https://www.nytimes.com/2021/02/01/opinion/new-york-covid-vaccine.html. |
|
Example (Subsequent Notes) |
2. “How New York’s Vaccine Program Missed Black and Hispanic Residents.” |
|
Example (Bibliography) |
"How New York's Vaccine Program Missed Black and Hispanic Residents." The New York Times. February 1, 2021. https://www.nytimes.com/2021/02/01/opinion/new-york-covid-vaccine.html. |