Skip to Main Content

Library Instruction Menu: Home

Instruction Menu (Take Your Pick!)

Classroom Instruction

If you want a librarian to teach your class about research, evaluating sources, or citations, you can request help in one of these ways:

1. Reach out to your librarian liaison to request instruction. You can call, email, or stop by the library. The full list of subject librarians is shown at: https://tamuct.libguides.com/Reference/subject_librarian  

OR 

2. Fill out the library instruction form below. We will review your request and have our instruction librarian reach out to you to confirm presentation needs and good times for scheduling an instruction session.

 

Note: After an instruction session, students can provide feedback to librarians on this digital form: https://tamuct.libwizard.com/f/instr_surv. Printed forms are available in the library.

Embedded Librarian

 

An embedded librarian can assist in these ways:

  • Provide links to the library appointment scheduler or require all students to meet with a librarian at least once during the semester (for research-oriented classes).
  • Coordinate efforts by adding a synchronous library instruction session into the course calendar in Canvas or an asynchronous recording as a required task for students.
  • Add helpful links on citations, searching tips, or tutorials to an FAQ area or in response to students’ discussion board posts.
  • Integrate pre- or post-tests, in collaboration with a faculty member, to measure information literacy learning or skill acquisition from the start of a semester to the end.
  • As requested, help students determine if they have correctly cited materials to avoid plagiarism.

 

Here are steps for department chairs to request an embedded librarian (on behalf of their faculty):

  1. Share the TeamDynamix Portal link with your department chair.
  2. Ask them to Submit a Ticket (or click on the Services tab for the same list of options).
  3.  On the Categories page, they can select the Canvas & Online Learning category.
  4. Scroll down to Services and select the Embedded Librarian/Internal Observer Request option.
  5. Click the red button that says "Request Embedded Librarian or Faculty Observer" and complete the form.

If you need help with the embedding process in Canvas, please reach out to your librarian liaison or contact Michelle Shea at m.shea@tamuct.edu to get suggestions on what to do next. Thank you!

Online Tutorials (Flipped Learning)

  • Looking for a quick and easy tutorial you can add to your course? Check out our library tutorials here: https://tamuct.libguides.com/Tutorials
  • Don't see what you need? Our librarians can create a video or tutorial for your students to watch or complete before an instruction session. Most tutorials should only take 10-15 minutes of students' time.

 

Benefits of Flipped Learning:

  • Our tutorials can help you scaffold learning to reach all students! For example, if you assign our web literacy tutorial, a librarian could make a short visit afterward to showcase examples of quality v. untrustworthy websites for your content area. If you want to prepare students for avoiding plagiarism, have them do our quiz and then have them practice adding in-text citations or references for an annotated bibliography, research paper, etc.
  • Flipped learning helps maximize class instruction time by priming student's knowledge. If you have any questions, please contact our instruction librarian, Kelly Williams, at k.williams@tamuct.edu and she would be very happy to assist! 

 

Pre-Recorded Instruction

  • If you don’t have time for a librarian to make a classroom visit, our instruction librarian can make a 5-to-10-minute video on research, citing, or another topic.
  • You can share a copy of your syllabi, assignment, or learning objectives with us and we can create a video to address what your students need to learn. 
  • Allow at least one to two weeks for any custom video creation. 
  • All recordings will have closed captioning and a transcript can be added by request. If you need any other accommodations for students, please let us know so that we can provide those adjustments as soon as possible.

 

Note: After viewing a library recording, students can provide feedback on this digital form: https://tamuct.libwizard.com/f/instr_surv. Printed forms are available in the library.

Individual Research Meetings

  • Both faculty and students can schedule research meetings with a librarian. Our weekly availability for a semester can be seen here: https://tamuct.libcal.com/appointments
  • When a meeting is requested, the librarian will reach out to the requestor in a timely manner (within 1-2 business days or before the scheduled time).
  • For virtual meetings, we can send a WebEx or Teams link to a school email account. The librarian will sign on at the agreed upon time and sign off as scheduled.
  • For in-person meetings, librarians can meet with students in the library office suite (WH, second floor) or at the back area of the reference desk. Users are also welcome to request walk-up assistance at the reference desk, but questions that might take more than 30 minutes should preferably be scheduled ahead of time to allow for librarian preparation of useful resources.
  • Follow-up meetings can be scheduled as often as needed for research services. If writing assistance is needed (for editing or revising), we recommend that students schedule with a writing tutor as well. That can be done here: https://tamuct.mywconline.com/

 

Note: After meeting with a librarian, students can provide feedback on this digital form: https://tamuct.libwizard.com/f/appt_surv. Printed forms are available in the library.

Tours/ Library Orientation

Faculty can request tours for their classes, accreditation committees, student groups, or K-12 outreach. A librarian can provide highlights of all pertinent resources for a discipline, such as where to find textbooks, call numbers for a major subject, DVDs, subject databases, and other items. If desired, we can pair a tour with a classroom visit or a database tutorial lesson with the library’s desktop computers. Students can also stop by the reference desk anytime for information about our space and services.

 

Research Workshop

If faculty, students, community groups, or others would like to learn about specific databases and basic or advanced searching strategies, the library can offer open workshops (during or outside of class hours). Librarians can sign off on attendance confirmation sheets, but attendees will need to be present for most or all of the entire session to get credit. (Note: Workshops will be scheduled as requested to increase the likelihood of attendance/ engagement with participants.)

Request Library Instruction

Useful Links for Faculty

Copyright and Fair Use

This guide examines fair use in education and research, creating and using instructional materials, and the use of film and video in a classroom.

Information Literacy Matrix

Information Literacy Matrix

All librarian instruction will pair with one or more learning objectives, which are based on the ACRL's standards on information literacy. Many of these objectives can easily align with the teaching, assignments, and activities already being used in the classroom. To ensure high quality instruction, our customizable information literacy lessons can be modified and taught by librarians to suit your course content.

Learning Objective

Beginning

1

Developing

2

Competent

3

Advanced

4
Determine the authority of documents.

Student makes no or little attempt to determine who wrote or published works. Sources are all unscholarly or are not written by trustworthy entities.

Some sources (~50% for total bibliography) that are selected by a student are scholarly or written by trustworthy entities. For outside resources, student can partially explain why materials were chosen, but some items may not be recommended.

Most sources (~75% for total bibliography) that are selected by a student are scholarly or written by trustworthy entities. For resources outside the database, student can justify most outside sources (such as websites, magazines, etc.).

All sources selected by a student are scholarly or written by trustworthy entities. If questioned, the student can explain how and why they selected certain materials for their paper, project, or other assignment.

Search more efficiently with keywords, limiters, and other strategies.

Student is completely unaware of how to locate or search library electronic resources (such as databases or catalogs). They do not utilize keywords in a search, ignore limiters, and show no evidence of knowing about other methods for finding credible information. Student needs extensive help with locating sources and cannot find items independently.

 Student is aware of basic searching strategies, but they need help with locating more than one or two sources, even after instruction. They understand keyword searching or limiters, but they may not utilize other methods of finding information.

Student is comfortable with basic searching strategies, such as keyword searching and limiters. They can find at least three credible source independently and only seek librarian help for more advanced needs.

Student is highly competent with using both basic and advanced searching strategies. This could include: keyword searching, limiters, database thesaurus usage, subject heading searches, citation pearl searching, or other methods. After initial information literacy instruction, they locate all sources independently and may check in with librarians to confirm the efficacy of what was found.

Create research questions for topics of interest.

The student has not drafted a research question or topic and is unsure of what they are trying to find. They do not exhibit interest in any particular focus and allow the librarian or other faculty to entirely guide their selection.

 The student has a vague idea of what they would like to research, but they are hesitant to pick a topic or narrow down research in a timely manner before an assignment submission is due. They may have difficulty drafting research questions that have a clear audience, focus, or purpose.

The student can verbalize what they want to research and are willing to narrow their focus down to one or two viable topics. They can craft a research question with some assistance and have an interest in or clear purpose for what they are researching.

The student is very clear on what they want to research and can write a complete research question that include factors such as: a specific topic, a methodology group, research methods,  or other particulars. If they do seek help, it is to confirm that their choices are acceptable or are represented by available research.

Determine the value of information for practical use.

The student can not differentiate between information that is or is not useful for their research or assignment. Their chosen sources are erratic, do not support their argument or purpose, or are insufficient to fully answer a question.

 The student is partially successfully in locating practical information, but they need extensive support from faculty or librarians to determine what materials are useful for their needs. While some located sources may not be useful, the student is able to answer part of a question accurately with what is found.

The student is mostly successful in locating practical information, but they may need some support from faculty or librarians (after instruction) to determine what is useful. They can answer most of a question independently by discerning what can be used and are specific in what still needs to be found.

The student can independently choose sources with practical information to fully answer a question. If they seek assistance, it is to confirm their selections or integration of information into a usable product (such as a complete research paper or project for a course).

Evaluate information sources (databases, websites, print materials, etc.).

The student does not utilize evaluative strategies to determine the validity, authority, or credibility of sources. In their references list, they may have mostly inaccurate, questionable, or unsubstantiated resources, located on the web or in print, that are not backed up by information in other places.

The student utilizes at least one evaluative strategy (such as lateral reading, the SIFT method, checking author expertise, or ensuring coverage of multiple viewpoints/ angles). In their references, students will have some accurate or substantiated resources, but they may need direction on re-evaluating other sources that are not as credible.

The student utilizes multiple evaluative strategies (such as lateral reading, the SIFT method, checking author expertise, or ensuring coverage of multiple viewpoints/ angles). The student’s references are accurate and mostly or completely fact-checked, where more than one source can confirm information found in another.

The student uses three or more evaluative strategies (such as lateral reading, the SIFT method, checking author expertise, or ensuring coverage of multiple viewpoints/ angles). All the student’s references are accurate and fact-checked before formal feedback is given from a faculty member or librarian.

Find, organize, and create information products.

Even after instruction, the student cannot locate articles, books, or other materials for assignments. They may struggle to organize citations or information in a logical way. Products created (such as papers or projects) are incomplete or not submitted.

 After instruction, the student can locate at least one of these material types: articles, books, credible websites, or other library resources. The student has  organization (like a title page, outline, reference list, etc.) that aligns with assignment expectations, but one or more required components are missing. Products may need major revisions for clarity.

After instruction, the student can locate two or more material types (article, books, credible websites, or other library resources. The student has good organization (like a title page, outline, reference list, etc.) that aligns with assignment expectations. Products addresses needed components but may benefit from some revision.

After instruction, the student can locate three or more material types (articles, books, credible website, or other resources) for academic purposes. The student has excellent organization (like a title page, outline, reference list, footnotes, etc.) that completely address assignment expectations. Product does not require any major changes.

Know how to cite sources properly for a discipline (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.).

The student does not cite their in-text sources, either through clear paraphrasing or quotes. They may be missing a set of references, or their list is measurably incomplete. Plagiarism may occur based on a lack of citations.

 The student attempts to cite all in-text and reference list sources, but at least 50% or more of the information is not formatted correctly for the citation style. If revisions are advised, student can make citation corrections with ongoing guidance. The student cites at least ~75% of in-text and references in a correct format. If revisions are advised, student can make minimal citation corrections with guidance. The student correctly formats all in-text and reference citations for their required citation style. No corrections are needed.