Research Guides: Political Science: Journals

Core Political Science Journals

American Journal of Political Science
Publishes research in all major areas of political science including American politics, public policy, international relations, comparative politics, political methodology, and political theory. Founded in 1956, the AJPS publishes articles that make outstanding contributions to scholarly knowledge about notable theoretical concerns, puzzles or controversies in any subfield of political science.
American Political Science Review
Political science's premier scholarly research journal, providing peer-reviewed articles and review essays from subfields throughout the discipline. Areas covered include political theory, American politics, public policy, public administration, comparative politics, and international relations. APSR has published continuously since 1906.
International Political Science Review
International Political Science Review is committed to publishing peer-reviewed material that makes a significant contribution to international political science. IPSR seeks to meet the needs of political scientists throughout the world who are interested in studying political phenomena in the contemporary context of increasing international interdependence and global change.
Political Science Quarterly
Broad in its subject matter and dedicated to objective analysis based on evidence, PSQ examines both domestic and international issues. It has no ideological or methodological slant and is edited to be accessible not only to scholars but also to general readers who have a serious interest in public and foreign affairs.

Finding Journals with Full Text Finder

Use Full Text Finder to find a journal in our library databases:

Go the the library homepage.
Click on Journals on the homepage.
Type in the name of the journal (not the title of the article).
Click "search" or hit "enter."
In the result list, click on "Full Text Access."
Click on the link with the best date ranges for your needs.
If the journal is not available in full text, request it through interlibrary loan.

To check if a journal is peer reviewed, use Ulrich's or the submission guidelines on the journal's webpage.

Library Homepage Library Databases Library Search

Click on the arrows at the bottom of the window to move forward and back through the slides. For full screen, click on the box in the lower left hand side of the viewer.

More Core Journals

Journal of Politics
The Journal of Politics, a leading general interest journal in political science, publishes theoretically innovative and methodologically diverse research in all subfields of the discipline including, but not limited to, American politics, comparative politics, formal theory, international relations, methodology, political theory, public administration and public policy. Our conceptions of theory and method are both broad and encompassing, and we welcome contributions from scholars around the world.

Reference Librarian

Victoria Eastes

Email Me

Contact:

Heritage Hall, 211A
Texas A&M University - Central Texas
1001 Leadership Place
Killeen, TX 76549

(254) 519-5499

Subjects: Archives, Copyright Law and Fair Use, Finance, History, Military Studies, Primary Source Resources, United States History, World History

Political Science: Journals

Core Political Science Journals

Finding Journals with Full Text Finder

More Core Journals

Reference Librarian

Live Research Help