Research Guides: Primary Sources: Databases

Available through the TAMUCT Library

A-Z Databases: Primary Source, Archives, or Genealogy
The Library provides access to 40 primary source databases. The A-Z Database list allows you to view them all in one list.

Available on the Internet

Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America empowers people to learn, grow, and contribute to a diverse and better-functioning society by maximizing access to our shared history, culture, and knowledge.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Founded in 2008, HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection. HathiTrust members steward the collection — the largest set of digitized books managed by academic and research libraries — under the aims of scholarly, not corporate, interests.
Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Milestone Documents
The primary source documents on this page highlight pivotal moments in the course of American history or government. They are some of the most-viewed and sought-out documents in the holdings of the National Archives.
NINES (Networked Infrastructure for Nineteenth-Century Electronic Scholarship)
A scholarly organization devoted to forging links between the material archive of the nineteenth century and the digital research environment of the twenty-first. Our activities are driven by three primary goals: to serve as a peer-reviewing body for digital work in the long 19th-century (1770-1920), British and American; to support scholars’ priorities and best practices in the creation of digital research materials; to develop software tools for new and traditional forms of research and critical analysis.
Perseus Digital Library
The mission of Perseus is to make the full record for humanity as intellectually accessible as possible to every human being, providing information adapted to as many linguistic and cultural backgrounds as possible. Their flagship collection covers the history, literature, and culture of the Greco-Roman world.
Project Gutenberg
The first online provider for a wide selection of free eBooks, currently offering access to over 75,000 titles.

Highlighted Databases Available through TAMUCT Library

American History, 1493-1945
Digitized images from the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, New York.
Archives Unbound Collections
Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Collections are chosen for Archives Unbound based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.
Our Collections include:
*Allied Propaganda in World War II and the British Political Warfare Executive
*FBI File: American POWs/MIAs in Southeast Asia
*Indochina, France, and the Viet Minh War, 1945-1954: Records of the U.S. State Department, Part 1: 1945-1949
*Intelligence Reports from the National Security Council's Vietnam Information Group, 1967-1975
*Psychological Warfare and Propaganda in World War II: Air Dropped and Shelled Leaflets and Periodicals
*U.S. Civilian Advisory Effort in Vietnam: U.S. Operations Mission, 1950-1954
Digital National Security Archive
Includes more than 63,000 of the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions.
Fold3 Library Edition by Ancestry
Fold3 provides access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served from the Revolutionary War onward.
• Revolutionary War
• Civil War
• War of 1812
• Mexican American and Early Indian Wars
• World Wars I and II
• Korean and Vietnam Conflicts
• Recent Wars
• International Records
• And more
Fold3 Library Edition also encompasses the
following special collections:
• African American Archives
• American Revolution Archives
• Native American Archives
• FBI Case File Archives
• World War II Archives
• Holocaust Archives
Gale Primary Sources
Gale Primary Sources is an integrated research environment that allows users to search across all of their Gale primary source collections. Gale Primary Sources takes users beyond a simple search and retrieve workflow, allowing them to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools. Through intuitive subject-indexing users will discover new material even in the most familiar of content sets.
Includes: Archives Unbound; Eighteenth Century Collections Online; NewsVault; Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers; Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500-1926; Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive; The Times Digital Archive; U.S. Declassified Documents Online.
HeritageQuest Online
Search US census records, City directories, 1850-1860 slave schedules, US Indian census rolls, mortality schedules, agricultural and industrial schedules, and 1890 veterans schedule. Search books, census, revolutionary war, and Freedman's bank.
Disclaimer: Texas A&M University-Central Texas provides external links for their potential educational value, but the university is not responsible for the contents of linked sites or any external links contained within those sites. Inclusion of any link does not imply A&M-Central Texas endorsement of its content, and A&M-Central Texas assumes no legal liability relevant to its usage.
Periodicals Archive Online
Provides an electronic index to millions of articles published in over 4,078 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. By combining a broad subject base with deep chronological coverage going back over 200 years, it includes approximately 13 million articles dating from as early as the eighteenth century up to 1995.
Readex
Discover and explore centuries of primary sources: books, pamphlets, newspapers, government documents, and more.: Includes America's Historical Imprints; American State Papers; U.S. Congressional Serial Set
U.S. Declassified Documents Online
U.S. Declassified Documents Online provides immediate access to a broad range of previously classified federal records spanning the twentieth and twenty first centuries. The collection brings together the most sensitive documents from all the presidential libraries and numerous executive agencies in a single, easily searchable database.