Research Guides: Primary Sources: News Sources

State and Local Newspapers

Austin American-Statesman: Historical (1871-1980)
AS THE LEADING newspaper in the capital of Texas, the historical Austin American Statesman provides researchers with unique insights into the political, economic, cultural, and social life of this important state, as well as the southwest U.S. from the late 19th through the 20th century. The paper has strong central Texas coverage, especially for political reporting.
El Paso Times (1881-2009) and El Paso Herald Post (1896-1996)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Also includes subscription content from 2010-present

Killeen Daily Herald
Local newspaper for Killeen Metro area.
Temple Daily Telegram
Waco Tribune-Herald

National Newspapers and News Sites

New York Times Historical
If you are looking for a New York Times article published from Sept. 1851 to Dec. 1980, search Article Archive: 1851-1980. Articles in the Public Domain (1851-1922) are free.

New York Times (Campuswide subscription)
Visit this canvas page to help you create or access The New York Times.

Reuters
Reuters, the news and media division of Thomson Reuters, is the world’s largest multimedia news provider, reaching billions of people worldwide every day.
USA Today
USA Today Network is the largest local-to-national digital media organization in the country.

Wall Street Journal: Present
The Wall Street Journal (1984-present) is an American English-language international daily newspaper with a special emphasis on business and economic news.

International Newspapers

Le Monde
A French-language newspaper published in Montreal and distributed in Quebec and the rest of Canada.

Times Digital Archive
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.

Spiegel International (Der Spiegel)
Largest German news website.
Toronto Star
Canada's longest running daily newspaper.
The Globe and Mail
Canada's most widely read newspaper.
Evening Standard
All the latest news in London, around the UK and the world from the London Evening Standard.

Student Papers and Journals

The Armadillo Journal
The alumni journal for students of American Technological University (ATU) and the University of Central Texas (UCT).
Washington Square News
Published by NYU students, the Washington Square News has been in consistent publication since the year 1973 and now boasts a circulation of 10,000 along with a readership of 40,000 online.
The Daily Mississippian
The Daily Mississippian has a massive circulation of 13,500. It has regularly been published since 1911.
The Daily Gamecock
The Daily Gamecock is the college newspaper that serves the University of South Carolina and has been in operation since 1905. It is an independent daily student news organization that primarily serves the main campus of the University of South Carolina System which is located in Columbia, South Carolina.
The Chronicle
The Chronicle is just as highly regarded as the university it serves, which is Duke University. Circulation of this paper is 30,000, and there is an online readership of 70,000. This is one of the most widely read and highly respected college papers across America.
The Johns Hopkins News-Letter
The Johns Hopkins News-Letter is the college newspaper that serves Johns Hopkins University. It features the sections News, Opinion, Voices, Arts, SciTech, Sports, Your Weekend, and Multimedia.
The Red and the Black
The Red and Black is an independent student newspaper operated by students of the University of Georgia. It currently publishes once per week and updates online every day; it has a circulation of 10,000. The first issue was published in 1893.
The Daily Tar Hell
The Daily Tar Heel was founded in 1893 which, of course, makes it one of the oldest college papers in America. The primary focus of the paper is university news and sports, but the DTH also covers the surrounding areas of Chapel Hill, Carrboro, Chatham, and Durham.

News Databases Available through TAMUCT

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
US Newsstream
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.
International Newsstream
Provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format.
New York Times: Historical
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events from 1851-1993.
American Newsreels in Video
American Newsreels in Video is comprised of news footage covering the years leading up to and during the Second World War. During this time, newsreels had an unparalleled political and social impact. All feature films worldwide began with a newsreel in the audience's native language and topical coverage was broad. United Newsreel provides more than 35 hours of the American weekly newsreel produced by the U.S. Office of War Information from 1942 to 1946, complete with transcripts, while the Universal Newsreel provides more than 200 hours of content with full transcripts from Universal Studios’ biweekly series that ran from 1929 to 1946.
Archival Films & Newsreels Collection - FMG
This collection is a treasure trove of archival and historical films from multiple sources, including The Prelinger Archives – a collection of films relating to U.S. cultural and social history and the evolution of everyday life in America; The WPA Film Library – more than 2,800 clips and newsreels from the late 1800s onward; The United Newsreel collection – the series of newsreels produced by the U.S. Office of War Information during World War II; The Universal Newsreel collection – a series of seven- to 10-minute newsreels produced by Universal Studios that were released twice per week between 1929 and 1967; Recordings from the National Archives and Records Administration of historic speeches and events.
Dutch Newsreels in Video
French Newsreels in Video
French Newsreels in Video contains four French newsreels spanning the period of the Second World War, from 1940 to 1946. During this time, newsreels had an unparalleled political and social impact. All feature films worldwide began with a newsreel in the audience's native language. Topical coverage was broad, including health, scientific and industrial progress, religion, sports, fashion, politics, meteorology, agriculture, and disasters. This set of French newsreels provides distinct perspectives and varying levels of propaganda set in the context of World War II. The collection provides 75 hours of fully translated and transcribed news items during this crucial period in history.
Japanese Newsreels in Video
Japanese Newsreels in Video is comprised of broadcasts from Nippon News, Japan’s only newsreel during WWII which was driven by close collaboration between the government and the media. During this period of history, newsreels had an unparalleled political and social impact. All feature films worldwide began with a newsreel in the audience's native language. Topical coverage was broad, including health, scientific and industrial progress, religion, sports, fashion, politics, meteorology, agriculture, and disasters. Nippon News provides 36 hours of original Japanese newsreels from 1940 to 1948 with English transcripts.
Canadian Newsstream
Canadian Newsstream provides users access to current Canadian news content with archives as far back as the 1970s, from over 360 news sources. Newspapers include The Globe and Mail and Toronto Star along with newswires and broadcast transcripts in full-text format. Canadian Newsstream content is updated daily.

Magazines

Life Magazine Archive, 1936-2000
Life Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the famed photojournalism magazine, spanning its very first issue in November 1936 through December 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format.
National Geographic Magazine Archives, 1888-2020
National Geographic Magazine is the official journal of the National Geographic Society (NGS). As one of the world’s largest nonprofit educational and scientific organizations, NGS is renowned for producing superior photojournalism and cartography. Its iconic, award-winning magazine provides unparalleled in-depth coverage of global cultures, nature, science, technology, and the environment.
Newsweek Magazine Archives, 1933-2012
An archive of Newsweek magazine, one of the premier US weeklies of the 20th -21st centuries. With coverage from 1933 through 2012, it comprises 80 years of news reporting and commentary, charting the key US and global events during this period. Its diverse content beyond news and politics (in areas including business, science/technology, arts, travel, and family life) is such that there is valuable material for researchers in many fields, from history and political science through to economics, women's studies, and media history.
Time Magazine Archive, 1923-2000
The Time Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the prominent weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format.

Internet Databases

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Early Eighteenth-Century Newspaper Reports
A sourcebook composed by Rictor Norton.
Newspaper Archives, Indexes & Morgues
List of periodicals maintained by the Library of Congress.
Texas Digital Newspaper Program
Special project run by UNT as part of their Portal to Texas History.