Research Guides: A-Z Resource List: S

Journals by Title

Find a Journal at TAMUCT

Search the library's full-text journals, magazines, and ebook holdings by title.

S

Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.
Sage Journals
SAGE publishes more than 560 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
Sage Research Methods SAGE Research Methods supports beginning and advanced researchers in every step of a research project, from writing a research question, choosing a method, gathering and analyzing data, to writing up and publishing the findings. With information on the full range of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods for the social and behavioral sciences, as well as many methods commonly used in the hard sciences, the book, reference, and journal content in SAGE Research Methods—from SAGE’s renowned methods publishing program— and advanced features help researchers of all levels conduct their research.
Science Science Magazine is a database providing access to the full content of the premier science journal Science. Together with peer-reviewed primary research articles, this journal includes science news, opinion pieces, and reviews of books, web sites, and scientific instruments. While much of the content of this database is oriented toward senior or higher level researchers, the news and editorial items are generally accessible to upper level secondary school and lower level undergraduates.
Science Database
These journals cover hundreds of topics relating to all major fields of study, including: Physics, Engineering, Astronomy, Biology, Earth Science, Chemistry and more.
ScienceDirect
Full-text or abstracts coverage of more than 1,000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Includes a wide spectrum of disciplines including Chemistry, Materials science, Engineering & technology, Environmental science, Economics, Business & management, Neuroscience, Pharmacology & toxicology, Physics, Mathematics & computer science, Earth sciences, Social sciences, Biochemistry, Microbiology & immunology, Biological sciences, and Clinical medicine.
Gale in Context: Science Science In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
SciTech Premium Collection The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Agriculture & Environment, Bio-Science, Earth, Atmospheric & Aqua, Advanced Technology & Aerospace, Material Science & Engineering, and Military Databases, and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more. For researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
Gale Literature: Scribner Writer Series
View a biography of an author's life and works. Design your own search, using words or phrases, or customize a search by genre, gender, ethnicity/nationality, time period, and language. And view topics with a highly selective, curriculum-related list of writers to use as research starting points.
SDGO Online A curated ebook library to support the United Nations' call to action to end poverty, fight inequality & injustice and protect the planet.
Silent Film Online
Silent Film Online brings together films which represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. Carefully curated with ASPs Video Advisory Board, the database covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s.
60 Minutes: 1997-2014 60 Minutes, the news show on topics of politics, lifestyle, pop culture, business, health, and science, has over 3,000 videos from 1997 to 2014 brought to you by Alexander Street
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive The largest and most ambitious project of its kind, this collection is devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective. An unprecedented collection developed under the guidance of a board of scholars, it offers never before available research opportunities and endless teaching possibilities.
Snapshots
This database offers top-line international market research overviews focusing on 40+ industries in more than 40 countries worldwide, including regional summaries. It provides market size, share, forecasts and segments.
Social Science Database
This database offers extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.
Social Work Abstracts Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), this comprehensive collection provides indexing and abstracts for journals dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocIDEX provides 242 core journals and 72 priority journals. Covers all subdisciplines of sociology.
Sociology Database
This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.
Springer Nature Link
SpringerLINK provides full text access to journal and e-books on the subjects of life scinences, chemical sciences, environmental sciences, geosceinces, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physicis & astronomy, engineering, and economics.
SSRN Open source access to working papers and unpublished research in the social sciences. Recently ranked one of the top open-access repositories in the world.
Statistics of Income (SOI) Bulletin (IRS Publication)
A resource with information and statistics from the IRS.
Swank Digital Campus This platform contains streaming videos in the genres of comedy, drama, romance, mystery, thriller, western, and crime.

Research Help

Get help with research!

Search the Library: Search WarriorQuest to find most resources through the library.
Student Usernames and Passwords: Use your MyCT login.
Faculty and Staff Usernames and Passwords: Use the first part of your email address, not including "@tamuct.edu."
Find a Research Guide: Find a Research Guide about your subject of interest.
Chat with a Librarian: Chat with a librarian 24/7.
Drop by the Library: Stop by to get some help during our regular hours.
Schedule an Appointment: Send a request to meet with a librarian one-on-one, in-person at either location, or using Skype.
Call the Library: Get help over the telephone during the library's regular hours.
Interlibrary Loan: Use Interlibrary Loan to request items you can't access.

Live Research Help

eBook Collections

Ebook Central
A database containing over 80,000 full-text e-books in multiple subject areas.
EBSCO eBooks
A database containing over 100,000 full-text e-books in multiple subject areas.

A-Z Resource List: S

Research Guides by Subject

Journals by Title

S

Research Help

Live Research Help

eBook Collections